Editorial Tessanne Chin: What Mr Adam Levine knows that Jama

We have all been waggonists at one point or another.

I never watched 15 minutes of golf on TV until Tiger rose to prominence. Since he has stopped dominating I don't watch it anymore.

Not everybody follows music with a passion. If you want to go mainstream and make a lot of money you have to appeal to casual fans, ie waggonists.

sometimes it is not always about supporting. one a my good friend and mentor's favorite saying was "live and let others live". If people sound different or not "bob" or not going under clothes, then them a idiot or something else negative.
      Last edited by Assasin; December 19, 2013, 03:14 PM.

Well those types of people are everywhere.

I was watching the latest UnSung this week where they featured Arrested Development. They said the Hip Hop community gave them a hard time because they had an alternative sound. One of the commentators put it like this: It was a hard road to hoe if you weren't singing about hoes. LOL

Today Black Eye Peas is a super group doing the same kind of music though.

so let me get this straight, you have never changed your mind about something? or been confronted with additional facts which causes you to re-think a prior position?

No...I mean yes...uhmmm no...I haven't

Did someone say: "there is an abundance of talent"... I hear you Mo, but the thing is that with singers, it's not just about singing but also a presence on stage and a personality that people connect with... Tessanne has qualities like good looks (never mind the thick thighs ), a genuine niceness that shines through, and of course the Americans understand her when she speaks, and of course (unuh don kill me now) the hue of her skin is not as intimidating to those who voted.
              While the latter seems like I want to rain on her parade, TC embodies the ideals that we strive for as a people... I think many Jamaicans of all race and class connect to her on that level as we know that 90% of Jamaicans are genuinely good, hard-working and peace-loving... and so she re-validates and reaffirms many of us in a sense, and the fact that it is on a global stage fills people with genuine pride.

Sadly, the euphoria will wear off as it did with Usain Bolt et al and it will be back to the same old same old. People look to the politicians to do something but, really, we have to look within for any real change to occur.

thank yuh! mi done now!

Adele nuh stap play downtown not too long ago..

Please explain..

I grew up listening to diversity on Jamaican radio. At our age we were not bombarded with foreign music even though we had a diet, but we still had local variety of all kind making the chart and even been number one. Yes even though Arrested Development got fight, they still had a lot of exposure and even today their version of "Everday people" and another song from back in the day still into some radio station rotation.

That is what surprises me about Jamaican radio. For a long time there were 2 AM stations and 2 FM stations. That was it.

Today you have a whole lot more, plus you have cable stations that play music videos. Yet from what I am hearing it is sounding like there is less diversity in the music and artistes being played than before. So dem all playing the same 20 songs?

Sometimes when you listen to the radio, you hear the same riddim for up to 45 minutes straight. Lack of creativity, imagination, and stuck on a handful of artists.

I think a lot of DJs are connected are producer themselves and if you don't have the supervision they are going to do just their thing. Different stations may play different things but them kill the riddim driven thing.

True!

Adele nuh stap play downtown not too long ago..

Please explain..

not too long ago!?

All now Adele cya stap play... or Miley Cyrus... or Selena Gomez...or or or...

I'm missing the point. Are you saying we don't rate Tessanne as much as these foreign artistes?