• Editorial Tessanne Chin: What Mr Adam Levine knows that Jama

Editorial
    Tessanne Chin: What Mr Adam Levine knows that Jamaicans don't

Thursday, December 19, 2013

No one can deny us this extraordinary moment of national self-satisfaction and even back-patting after Ms Tessanne Chin's awesome coronation on NBC's The Voice on Monday night in Los Angeles.
    Yet, while we savour this historic victory, if it is to mean anything more than our well known predilection for slipping right back into complacency after achieving world-beating performances, then it must also mean a call to serious reflection.

TRIUMPHANT TESSANNE

1/1

We must, for example, recognise our profound debt of gratitude to the people of the United States of America for the opportunity they provided to Tessanne. Every sensible Jamaican will acknowledge that if Americans had held steadfast to a spirit of parochialism and voted overwhelmingly for one of their own, Tessanne would not have won.
    Then we must 'big up' in no uncertain way Mr Adam Levine, her coach, who saw something in Tessanne that we fear Jamaicans had missed for many years, much to our chagrin. Mr Levine went out on a limb Monday night to say: "In my heart, I know you have won" after Tessanne's mind-bending performance of Whitney Houston's classic, I have nothing. It was a courageous move on his part, because he still had another competitor, in Mr Will Champlin, who was to perform next.
    But it is clear to us that Mr Levine has discovered what Jamaicans apparently did not. For years Tessanne was "boxing about", in a manner of speaking, with a super talent that was getting her nowhere. Jamaica sat on her talent until, thank God for him too, Mr Shaggy Burrell found the inspiration to introduce her to The Voice. Unlike Mr Levine, we did not believe in our heart that Tessanne was a winner over all those years.
    We share the view of Mr Kingsley Cooper, the head of the Entertainment Advisory Board, who said elsewhere in today's edition, and we commend it to readers, that: "There are a number of Tessanne Chins in Jamaica, many just needing a chance to shine. We have to help provide these opportunities and to create an environment in which our people flourish — both to their individual benefit as well as ours, as a people and country. Once again congratulations to Tessanne and also to Shaggy who, it is reported, helped to facilitate her Voice audition. Otherwise, this wonderful Jamaican triumph might never have occurred."
    We may also need to consider this other Jamaican phenomenon, which is that too often we have to wait until our most talented compatriots are recognised overseas before we recognise them locally. Do we need to mention Mr Bob Marley or any of the many others? When will our prophets have honour in their own country?
    Moreover, we must ask ourselves, where is that latent energy in us that comes out so rarely to galvanise us in the most stupendous way, as demonstrated in the support of Jamaicans from every corner of the world for Tessanne. We last saw this outpouring of national pride during the 2012 Olympics which were lit up by our team led by Mr Usain Bolt and Mrs Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce.
    Is there no way of bringing that out much more often to propel our country forward? Is it not possible, for example, to put this kind of energy behind the Vision 2030 objectives that are meant to make Jamaica the place of choice to live, work, play, and do business?

Good editorial all around , however the last paragraph is the real takeaway. Those questions are as relevant to the Jamaican diaspora as it is to those at home.

If there is a way to transfer the energy and enthusiasm we have for sports and entertainment success to activities that would really change our trajectory, we have not found the formula for it yet. Tessanne is as deserving a person of her newfound success as anyone, but at the end of the day she is one person.

Hope springs eternal that one day we will collectively get it and stop passing off all our failures on "the politicians" and "the oppressors" as if they are some alien tribe that landed amongst the rest of us. They are us, like it or not.

In the meantime its back to the chaos and confusion.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
      Then we must 'big up' in no uncertain way Mr Adam Levine, her coach, who saw something in Tessanne that we fear Jamaicans had missed for many years, much to our chagrin. Mr Levine went out on a limb Monday night to say: "In my heart, I know you have won" after Tessanne's mind-bending performance of Whitney Houston's classic, I have nothing. It was a courageous move on his part, because he still had another competitor, in Mr Will Champlin, who was to perform next.
      But it is clear to us that Mr Levine has discovered what Jamaicans apparently did not. For years Tessanne was "boxing about", in a manner of speaking, with a super talent that was getting her nowhere. Jamaica sat on her talent until, thank God for him too, Mr Shaggy Burrell found the inspiration to introduce her to The Voice. Unlike Mr Levine, we did not believe in our heart that Tessanne was a winner over all those years.
      I disagree with these sentiments! Virulently!!! Jamaicans knew about Tessanne's abilities and loved her music. "Hideaway" was a massive hit in Jamaica. Yes, only about 200 people saw when she performed at MC's fair a few years ago, but with poor advertising and given the location, what could anyone expect. But what can Jamaica do to propel someone into superstardom?! Guess we could say the same about Kartel. He too, unfortunately, is loved by many Jamaicans, but likkle Jamaica alone can't support album sales or sell out tour dates!

Even now, Tessanne will "struggle" in Jamaica when taken in that context. But that does not mean wi nuh rate har!

And please, for those of us thinking it, Shaggy did not discover Tessanne!

Yes, there are other very good singers in Jamaica. Althea "Di Chick" Hewitt is fantastic, for instance!

Absolutely correct

There's lots of yappin' and chest thumpin' and hours spent otherwise glorifying Jamaicans singin', dancin', runnin' and playin'.... but when it comes to more important matters of development there's either apathy or opposition

Twisted priorities is the main reason people remain backward

Even now, Tessanne will "struggle" in Jamaica when taken in that context. But that does not mean wi nuh rate har!
            Jamaicans were making fun of her and Tami...how dem stuck at Red Bones as cabaret act and not touring...let's keep it real

Really? But what else could Jamaicans have done for them?!?! Tour? Like Negril, then Black River then Wait-a-Bit?

produce hit songs maybe?

Play their songs on the radio more?

I mean lets be realistic though, the music that Tessanne, Cherine Anderson and others like that sing is not going to shell down Sting or any major show that the masses attend. It just isn't.

Doesn't mean Jamaicans don't know and like them, just means they were never going to be blocking traffic to see them perform.

well she has blown that one out of the water ... people grow, get better and move on ... should people now NOT support her because they did not before? and what point would they be making?

Fact is these talented people are not featured enough on local stations and too many eventually pack it in, talent and all.

Jamaican radio use to be a catalyst for what make it out of Jamaica into other markets but the DJs are making it less relevant these days.

that is what you call waggonism...an unfortunate Jamaican trait

I think we always find a way to rain on the parade by inserting negative comments about Jamaica.
                          The duty of exposing talent lies solely with her managerial staff,and we saw they were up to task.There are problems with our media but not insomuch that Jamaica distinguished itself from the pack.

in some cases "we" are the oppressors and guess who becomes the politicians? Part of the problem is we have too much divisions in lickkle ole Jamaica. Divisions for no reason and every season.

We don't embrace creative thinking and be more supportive of upcoming talent.

The Reggae Boys did not get many supporters until late into the WCQ back when we qualified for France in 98. However, the waggonists helped to propel the team to qualify. Nothing is wrong with that.
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015