• Mama Africa, here I come, again!

South Africa needs 35,000 skilled foreign workers
    published: Wednesday | May 9, 2007

Janet Silvera, Senior Gleaner Writer
    SUN CITY, South Africa:
    Rapid growth in its construction industry, positioned among the top five tourist destinations in the world, combined with a thriving mining/manufacturing sector, South Africa is now forced to look outside for skilled workers.
    The country, which is still the primary producer of wheat worldwide, needs approximately 35,000 skilled foreign workers, mainly in the field of civil engineering, architecture, boiler makers, fitters and turners (workers who work with metal), mathematics and science teachers, doctors and nurses.
    Last week, the country's Home Affairs Minister, Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula, announced the availability of 34,825 quota work permits in 53 occupations where professionals are greatly needed.
    The accessibility of jobs comes at a time when a large number of hotels are under construction in order to accommodate the huge influx of tourists and while the country builds stadia for the FIFA World Cup 2010.
    Brain drain
    Historically, the country has had a problem with brain drain, which worsened immediately after apartheid ended in the early 1990s, when thousands of workers moved to places such as Australia, New Zealand, Canada and the United Kingdom.
    Some 20 per cent of these workers were reportedly black, the other 80 per cent white.
    The quota work permits allow foreign professionals with the needed qualification and experience to come to South Africa and look for work, without securing employment in advance as is usually the case.
    Under the new regulations, employers are now not required to show that there is no qualified South African available for the job before hiring a foreign national.
    "Every effort has been made to simplify the process so that we can get as many skilled people into the economy as quickly as possible," Mapisa-Nqakula told the South African media.
    The permits are issued according to a yearly quota that identifies occupations where there is a lack of people withthe essential skills.
    Successful applicants under the quota system are required to find a job in their field of expertise within 90 days of being issued with permits to enter South Africa.
    The permits remain valid for as long as the permit holders are employed in their area of expertise, even if they change jobs.
    The move has been welcomed by companies such as South Africa Immigration International (SAII), which facilitates immigration to the country. However, they have criticised the immigration department for what they termed as "flaws" in the system. Migration practitioner, Rod Maxwell of SAII told The Gleaner, that the immigration department is not equipped to handle the influx of foreigners. His comments were corroborated by the research organisation, the Centre for Development and Enterprise, which said that the responsibility for immigration should be taken from the Ministry of Home Affairs.

Re: Mama Africa, here I come, again!

So Mosiah if South Africa, Liberia, Southern Sudan, and Haiti can show growth don't you think we should be like VP records? Miles ahead?

Willi don't be despair as your growth is still possible and not everybody think like those idiots. As you said we need good leadership and results

Which of those countries show > 5% growth?

Read his post again...

"So Mosiah if South Africa, Liberia, Southern Sudan, and Haiti can show growth don't you think we should be like VP records? Miles ahead?"

Yes. What?

He is not saying that they are >5% he is saying that if THEY can show growth, then we should be miles ahead (>5%)

Actually Mo, I think South Africa has been posting close to 5% growth.

Speaking of Africa.

The Azores is applying for EU membership and could get it. The Economy is exploding there.

Jamaica really fool fool.

Di man open up a Tangent now and mi ah try correct di breddah...

"So Mosiah if South Africa, Liberia, Southern Sudan, and Haiti can show growth don't you think we should be like VP records? Miles ahead?"

We have crime like South Africa, but they have a serious abundance of natural resources.

Liberia - this country shows growth?!? I do know that it has the highest unemployment in the world, around 85%. No thanks, even if growth is 10%!

Southern Sudan - I know of no such country.. The republic of Sudan, however, is also rich in natural resources, incl gold and oil!

Haiti's growth is marginally lower than ours. I agree, we should be way ahead of Haiti, but we need to conquer some other problems.

Yuh really going to compare our two countries? Tell mi yuh not serious.

Can't wait for the correction!

Stop trying to be profound..

If Haiti can show 2.5% Growth.. HAITI !!! we have NO EXCUSE !

I agree we need conquer some 'problems'.. but election is this year so we don't have to wait long...you enumerate yet ?

You thought he was claiming those countries had > 5% growth.. I corrected you.

You even miss the correction ???

This is serious...

Do not confuse growth with GDP..

Many countries are growing faster than the United States..