• Barbados to dismiss 3,000 gov't workers

Wage cuts coming for ministers, legislators, political appointees

Published: Tuesday | December 17, 2013 5 Comments
    Prime Minister of Barbados, Freundel Stuart. - File

The National Union of Public Workers (NUPW), which represents the majority of public servants in Barbados, said it will meet with its membership on Thursday to discuss the recent announcement by the government to dismiss 3,000 workers as the Freundel Stuart administration seeks to revive an ailing economy.

The NUPW has kept a stony silence ever since Finance and Economic Affairs Minister Christopher Sinckler announced last week that the government would trim the public service as well as reduce, by 10 per cent, the salaries of ministers, government legislators, parliamentary secretaries, and those considered to be a "political appointee".
    NUPW General Secretary Dennis Clarke said the union would make a statement after it holds the consultation with its members.
    The government said the first 2,000 job cuts would take place by January 15, followed by others by March 1, 2014.
    Sinckler said the plan to cut public-service jobs would result in the government saving as much as BDS$143 million (One BDS dollar = US$0.50 cents) and that the government had also agreed to institute a "strict programme of attrition" across the central public service, filling posts only where it is absolutely unavoidable, over the next five years, ending 2018-2019.
    "This attrition is expected to reduce central government employment levels from approximately 16,970 to 14,612 jobs - a projected loss of 2,358 posts, and savings of BDS$121 million. Over the current 19-month adjustment period, public sector employment will be reduced by an additional 501 jobs with a projected savings of BDS$26 million," he added.
    Foreign currency needed
    There are approximately 28,000 people employed in the public service and the head of the Barbados Institute of Chartered Accountants, David Simpson, said that apart from the retrenchments the government would still have to outline a plan to stimulate foreign-exchange earnings and improve the economy.
    "I feel this is just the start. I don't know what other successes they will have in significantly cutting expenditure in other areas," he added.
    - CMC
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

the reason for this is to prevent jamaican workers from getting jobs in barbados ... people can't you see it?!!!

you nuh. Them soon say them can't pay Mr.Myrie

Barbadians have political strength to deal with its problems before running to the IMF, I applaud them, like Dennis Chung said we should have went it alone without the IMF.

I suggested Jamaica do what Portia is doing in China, while Bruce was in power.Seek a sugar daddy to pay off or reduce debts and the cavet being our logistical hub,2nd I proposed we decriminalise/legalise ganja and tax the hell out of it.

This is progressive thinking! common sense man.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The decisions that have been taken since 2009 to now should have been taken in the 90s but because nobody want to stop the "good times" and the feeding tree and many of us fail to hold them accountable, that is why we are where we are.

We will always need the IMF, our leaders have no vision and is afraid of the harsh decisions that are NOT popular while the educated class stick to getting pieces instead of using their education and voices to make a difference. The amount of waste, uncollected taxes, off budget expenses which were tallied then and the economy collapse, while government didn't even think about productivity of the civil servant.

We can we blame IMF. You think China a idiot??? China don't play with them money, they also want something in return. Petro Caribe, how have we taken advantage??? We can export up 100 million dollar in goods to Venuzula, how much have we exported??? While our debt with them going through the roof. Same thing with China.

Suh now Bajan a guh start come Trinidad... ahhh bwooyyyyy (an get tun weh) ...

He who laughs last...

gets his Schadenfreude
              Last edited by World Fan; December 17, 2013, 04:17 PM.

LOL, somehow I doubt that.

Sehr gut!

LOL!!! Whooooieeee!!! Pupah Jeeezhas!!

CTO wants Caribbean promoted as a single destination

Tuesday, December 17, 2013 | 6:03 PM

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados (CMC) – The Barbados-based Caribbean Tourism Organization (CTO) will next month celebrate its 25th anniversary amidst a call for the region to be promoted as a single destination.
                    CTO Chairman, Beverly Nicholson Doty, in a Christmas message, said that her wish for the sector in 2014 was that Caribbean countries commit themselves to promoting the region as one destination.
                    Beverly Nicholson Doty

#slideshowtoggler, #slideshowtoggler a, #slideshowtoggler img {filter:none !important;zoom:normal !important}
                    1/1

She said she was also hoping that Caribbean countries would each commit a percentage of their annual tourism budgets towards the marketing of a strong Caribbean brand “so that the Caribbean Tourism Development Company, which we own jointly with the Caribbean Hotel and Tourism Association, can bolster our campaign for the region’s benefit.
                    “There is a major opportunity awaiting us in both traditional and emerging markets. At the recent State of the Industry Conference in Martinique, we learned much of what we need to do to successfully pursue new sources of business while also solidifying our mainstay markets.”
                    She applauded those destinations which have begun to invest in language training and long haul airlift in preparation for new visitors in 2014.
                    Nicholson Doty said that she was also hoping that in 2014, the region would address “the onerous taxes that suffocate our sector.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2nnVRriRt