X and TDowl (In Defense of the JTB)

• X and TDowl (In Defense of the JTB)

I fully understand and share your frustration with the fact that ska is not being promoted in Jamaica by, for example, the Jamaica Tourist Board (JTB).

The problem, however, is that Jamaican musicians and record producers lost all interest in ska from way back in the mid 1960s -- that’s almost 50 years ago! No one forced the musicians of the mid 1960s to slow down the music! Rather, the emergence of rocksteady seemed to have been a spontaneous studio-based development.

Today, aside from festival and anniversary celebrations where Fab 5 Inc. band, or special temporary bands organized by the Ministry of Culture (generally featuring the great Desi Jones on drums) for the purpose of nostalgically taking local audiences down memory lane with a few ska items, ska in Jamaica is dead from a music industry point of view!

The current generation of Jamaican musicians, arrangers and record producers -- and even the older ones -- simply have no interest whatsoever in touching the ska genre. In other words, the entire Jamaican society has seemingly rejected ska! Can you see, for example, the typical dancehall fan embracing ska (lol)?

So, since culture cannot really be legislated, the hands of the JTB and the culture ministry are tied!

Last edited by Historian; December 12, 2013, 04:39 AM.

So, why not promote an international ska festival here in Jamaica and invite the international ska artists? I could see that as tourist attraction. That might even kick start it here in Jamaica. Not only that I know that here are Jamaicans in Jamaica who would turn out to support such a venture.

Thats exactly what i said to the JTB, Gamma,the response was they didnt see the internatonal appeal,ironic when they can see the appeal of Jazz/Blues festival which in reality is a weak R&B concert.

Ska caters to the kind of tourist dollars we need, young hippy middle class youth,and you cant label it as white or black,these youths grow up supporting that genre for life, so it stands to reason if they could link it through some ska festival in Jamaica,it would more than likely grow.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

you can't blame JTB for that. How many shows you see JTB promote??? That is not a part of JTB role. Just like Red Stripe, Grace and other entity they will be sponsors.

Just like how Mr. Rhoden did his classical thing, why can't a few of the Ska people, some who constantly go on tour and who manage them can't put some thing??

Just like Myrna and her husband put the Ochi Jazz festival and get support for doing so.

Just like Tony Rebel did his thing and get support for it.

Don't look for JTB taking on the job of promoter anytime soon.

JTB is only a sponsor for the Jazz and Blue festival. They don't really have much else to do with it but it is done by TurnKey Promotions.

How about promoting Jamaica?!! Are you saying JTB nuh sponsor nutten?

They sponsor but you have to do the initial layout, take on the promotion and they will be the sponsor. Just like Red Stripe or Grace Kennedy do. Somebody else have to take the primary responsibility first then they may/may not support it.

This is what I meant Gamma " why not promote an international ska festival here in Jamaica".