• Keep your rot to yourselves!

THE EDITOR, Sir:
    It seems The Gleaner has made itself the moral compass for the Caribbean, especially Barbados and Trinidad.
    I am a Trinidadian. Those who encourage Jamaicans to boycott Trinidad-made products, do you ask why Jamaicans are not wanted in many countries?
    I fully agree with our minister of national security, Gary Griffith, in taking a stance against lawless Jamaicans. Keep your rot for yourselves! We have Jamaicans for hire in contract killing in our country and many are into the drug trade and other crimes. Is this your precious export?
    It is better for us to do without your trade than to become like Jamaica. You fail to realise that 17,000 Jamaicans are here illegally. If Jamaicans are a people of great pride in their country, why go where you are not wanted? Your pride and social standing do not mesh. Trinidad and Barbados are First-World nations.
    MICHAEL LALLO
    michritalallo@yahoo.comSan Fernando, Trinidad

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...xrgnc.facebook

LOL. Wha the yankee dem say, sh!t just got real?

The real entertainment is in the responses:

First world what? you crazy! I had friends from Trinidad visited Jamaica and the little two bedrooms house in Angels they call it mansion. Norbrook, Cherry Garden and Beverly Hills, they were seeing houses like those for the first time. Them fi go one side.

Violence affects a few but economic disparities affect all(the nation).In that sense Trini displacing our local sector( in our country) is more consequential.

I never see Bugatti Veron & Lambourghini Gallardo in Jamaica yet...

I Cannot Agree!

Violence affects a few but economic disparities affect all(the nation).In that sense Trini displacing our local sector( in our country) is more consequential.
          I cannot agree with you, boss.

Violence can affect much, much more than “a few”! For example, widespread and prolonged violence such as that which besets Jamaica will inevitably result in loss of investor confidence and a drying up of investments, fear among the population resulting in migration of many, weak growth in tourism, etc.

Do not ever underestimate the destructive powers of violence and criminality.

As for Trinidad & Tobago, despite the pathetic excuses offered by some on this forum, the nation of Trinidad & Tobago is NOT the cause of Jamaica’s social and economic problems!

Historian?as it pertains to T&T,where is the evidence that Jamaicans contribute significantly to the crime rate there?
            The Jakans in question there are flying below the radar,hence..
            As to violence being a deterrent to business,Jamaica crime rate has not stopped T&T from investing heavily there.Also,some of the biggest corporations are infamous for introducing violence,I give you Shell.
            Economic disparities touch the lives of all,violence affects far less....
            You are being overly philosophical.

THE EDITOR, Sir:
              We have Jamaicans for hire in contract killing in our country.....
              MICHAEL LALLO
              michritalallo@yahoo.comSan Fernando, Trinidad

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...xrgnc.facebook
              Started under British contract to kill the Spaniards and French for the benefit of others.

With the exception of Barbados, this so called West Indies would not have existed without Jamaica.

Rockman you are being deliberately obtuse. You cannot separate our economic problems from the extremely high crime rate.

T&T has not invested heavily in JA. What they have done is taken over poorly run or nearly insolvent Jamaican companies and brands. What factories have they built? What hotels have they built? What new projects have they broken ground for?

Can't say I blame them either. Jamaica's economic and social problems are by and large the fault of Jamaicans.

Islandman,I am not being obtuse.
                  Look,Jamaica has a trade deficit with Caricom of which T&T is responsible for the bulk...
                  Poorly run companies is a simplistic way looking at things,T&T has oil which lessen significantly cost of production.That was the reason they did away with their agreed commitment to supply Yard with natural gas...
                  It is all relative Islandman,T&T invest heavily in Yard.

Is the anti jamaica sentiments expressed by trinis limited to our people?
                    Jakan manufacturers have a difficult time accessing T&T markets.
                    Are our goods brandishing guns too?
                    This is exactly how they want us to react.

I am less concerned about what Trinis or any other specific group of people think and more concerned about what we have done to ourselves and are blaming on others.

We have put ourselves in a position where we have little leverage with any of our trading partners. That is what decades of mismanagement and poor leadership does. We are consumers, not producers.

We shouldn't have to care who likes or doesn't like us. If we were in a position of strength they would have to respect us and that is what ultimately counts.
                      Last edited by Islandman; December 11, 2013, 07:47 AM.

Summaddy couldn karreck di typo ??

ROTI...

Rath man..

I am less concerned about what Trinis or any other specific group of people think and more concerned about what we have done to ourselves and are blaming on others.

We have put ourselves in a position where we have little leverage with any of our trading partners. That is what decades of mismanagement and poor leadership does. We are consumers, not producers.

We shouldn't have to care who likes or doesn't like us. If we were in a position of strength they would have to respect us and that is what ultimately counts.
                          Well said!

This discussion has morphed into generalization when it is specifically about T&T treating us unfairly.
                            Defending ourselves from such treatment is demanding respect.

And the best defense we have is what, boycotting their products? If that ever gets off the ground it will not last long enough to have any impact other than to make a statement. T&T has some unfair trade advantages and yes we should insist that those be addressed, but that will not solve our fundamental problems.

We should defend ourselves by improving our economic and social condition. If we continue to sink deeper into the abyss then we should expect more of the same treatment.