• Portia's plane needs to make a quick stop

and pick up Netanyahu

Israeli PM to miss Mandela memorial due to travel expenses

09/12/2013 14:09:00

Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu will not attend a memorial service being held tomorrow for Nelson Mandela, because it is too expensive to travel to South Africa, local media in Israel reported. According to media reports, Netanyahu informed South African officials that he would travel to the country but cancelled plans at the last minute due to the costs involved which amount to 7.0 million shekels ($2 million) for his transport and security alone. The Israeli Prime Minister has been under fire recently in the media that taxpayers forked out close to $1 million for the upkeep of three of his residencies.

http://www.og.nr/rbt/19975-israeli-p...-expenses.html

prev next
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

LoL

him never get nuh invite!

Nobody will miss him "persona non grata"

Where is the emoticon to make "money face"?

The CA Charter could pick him up...

[IMG]http://media.trinidadexpress.com/images/320*261/pm+ad+marlene+-+jermiane.JPG[/IMG] Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and Local Government Minister Marlene Coudray at the Piarco International Airport today, shortly before Persad-Bissessar left for South Africa to attend a memorial service for Nelson Mandela. Coudray with act as Prime Minister in the absence of Persad-Bissessar. Photo by Jermaine Cruickshank.

Tools

Gallery

PM heads to Mandela’s funeral; Marlene to act

By Michelle Loubon

Story Created: Dec 8, 2013 at 11:37 PM ECT
        Story Updated: Dec 9, 2013 at 3:31 PM ECT

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar has said Minister of Local Government Marlene Coudray will act as PM while she flies out today to attend the memorial service for the former South African president and freedom fighter Nelson Mandela.

Mandela, 95, who had been ailing for several months, died last Thursday.
        Persad-Bissesar said the national flag will be flown at half mast at all government and school buildings on Tuesday and Wednesday as a sign of respect for Mandela’s passing.

Persad-Bissessar, who heads T&T’s delegation, could not confirm the names of the Caricom leaders who will be leaving today but she said T&T’s delegation will include Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley, Senator Faris Al-Rawi, and chairman of the Emancipation Support Committee Khafra Kambon.

She said they will meet Transport Minister Stephen Cadiz and Tobago East MP Vernella Alleyne-Toppin who are already in South Africa.

Persad-Bissessar spoke during the Prime Minister’s annual Christmas Children’s Treat at Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain, yesterday.
        On Saturday during a toy distribution event at Arima, she also said the government was chartering a Caribbean Airlines jet to attend the celebration of Mandela’s life.

With respect to the flag being flown at half mast, Persad-Bissessar said: “Under the Ministry of National Security (Section 20) of the relevant legislation, we will fly our flag at half mast Tuesday and Wednesday while we are paying tribute by attending the service in South Africa.”

On the topic of the attendance of the Caricom leaders she said: “ We are still finalising it. but I know the Prime Ministers of Bahamas (Perry Christie), Grenada (Keith Mitchell), St Lucia (Kenny Anthony). I believe it will be finalised by later this evening. Then we can send out a press release.”

She added: “Cadiz is in South Africa for a conference and he will join us there. Minister Toppin is there. Khafra Kambon has agreed and the Leader of the Opposition (Rowley).”

But she said the details about who will be attending the memorial service have not yet been worked out since only six people can attend between Tuesday and Wednesday.

She said: “There is a person constraint as to the number of people who have been invited to attend the venues. Tuesday is the memorial service and Wednesday is the viewing of the body. That is the constraint... how many persons we can take from the delegation. We have our ambassador ( Harry Partap) and Permanent Secretary from the Foreign Ministry (Margaret Parillon).

She added: “Only six people can attend between Tuesday and Wednesday. We can share it up.”

Asked about the issuance of visas and yellow fever inoculation, Persad-Bissessar said: “My staff have been working assiduously over the weekend to put everything in place. Most of us had the yellow fever vaccine having travelled to India at some point ago. I think we are pretty okay. Visas, yes.”

Persad-Bissessar said the route will facilitate easier access.

“ If we had passed through the UK, we would have had further constraints. We will fly to Rio De Janeiro (Brazil) to refuel and then pursue over the Atlantic to come back.”

Asked about the cost, she said: “Not at this point in time we are having it worked out. In terms of the commitment, we have to honour the great work of Mandela. The cost will not be exorbitant. I have nothing to hide.

It would have cost more to fly so many of us down to South Africa.”

Is bare profiling a gwaaan!

I wonder if dis aggo bigga dan Bob Marley finnaral?

LoL

rrrrriiiiiiiiiiiiiiiight!!

Israelis dem shame and nuh waan show dem face.

This Israeli abomination of cooperation with South African fascism (with extensive USA support of course) is a secret only to those with their head in their a$$
                Last edited by Don1; December 9, 2013, 06:36 PM.