What is the greatest threat facing Jamaica ?

Leadership can get us out, but the people have also failed. The way how we elect corrupted leaders, even when we know they are corrupted, the way how we fail to stand up for principle. The way we make excuse for lack of growth and development.

We fail to set up civil leadership. There was a time in Jamaica when we had community groups all around and people took care of where they lived. Now if you even try a thing, and the bad man(donman) step in, what everyone either disappear or start to back him. They make the badman leader by default and also sing him praise. Leadership is not in a vacuum. It comes from how we grow our children, how we teach them right from wrong and nurture their talent and give them support.

We have to pay more attention to economy, public policies on community and stop looking for a savior. That has been one of Jamaica's biggest problem and you see it also play out in sports and other areas.

So what happen when we didn[t have the IMF setting polices in the 1990's???

WE can't blame anybody else for our debt and short comings. Manufacturers don't come from the skies. We need to set condition so people can run business effectively. We have too many factors that are not a part of any business operation that causes this. You see the Shrimp farm went ouf of business? Not because of IMF, and not because of interest rate but because of theft and lack of proper policies to govern. These should be eliminated from our society and government have to do a better job of setting a level playing field and creating shocks for businesses instead of doing things for friends.

These are not factors we should even have to consider when we starting a business or it is a no go. My friend wanted to start a chicken farm and an advisor tell him, unless you are here in Jamaica "forget about it".
      Last edited by Assasin; December 8, 2013, 09:58 AM.

Thats hitting the nail on the head .....Leadership can get us out, but the people have also failed. The way how we elect corrupted leaders, even when we know they are corrupted, the way how we fail to stand up for principle.

Isnt that it ? its not in a vacum , its holistic one arm or leg not functioning affects the other,but whats systemic is the disease thats in the blood ,the constitution.

Until we deal with it , by bullet or box ,we will go nowhere , and the only ones to fix it , is we the people, not leaders !How we elect and the avenues to stand up are questionable.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Until we deal with it , by bullet or box ,we will go nowhere , and the only ones to fix it , is we the people, not leaders !How we elect and the avenues to stand up are questionable.
          Really?!? Is not di JFJ fault?!?!

Wooiieee!

The problem as I see it is, corruption and lack of discipline can ruin any system. We ignore the laws, give people a "bligh", agree that a "a suh the thing set" and "them man deh bigger than the law".

for any system to work effectively, we have to show a little more appreciation for law and the process and get involved from primary schools to community councils.

I addressed you already, you are part of the problem your ilk don't speak up,you address the symptoms.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Sass don't let them fool you that's the colonial trick ,the laws were meant to be abused they have no teeth,think ! where is our independent prosecutor?..the one that was set up has fake teeth,even after years of promising prosecutorial powers from different governments..the OCG!

That in itself would send a message...a suh it set...think! who protects the people from laws that have no teeth that are enforced subjectively for an elitist shitstem ! Its the colonil trick,anyone but a JFJ member can see this!

Ignorance is bliss, huh?

You have no idea what the JFJ does and you are happy in your abject dunceness!

Very happy ,its up to your org to enlighten the people and that's where you fail miserably.

But that happen because the ordinary people have no interest in shaping policies so a few people can make it what they want. In some other countries people put pressure on politicians, not just listen to sweet words at election time but demand action.

The only thing we demonstrate or ask for action for is pot holes, water and sometimes police brutality.

Our system might not be the best but we have to demand more of our leaders. We have to realize democracy is more than just elections. Whether we like it or not democracy is about Al Sharpton movement, tea party, JFJ and other groups and communities getting deeply involved.

You think if there is a peaceful demonstration in outside Jamaica house for a week asking for the contractor general act to be change, there will be no action? Say about 5000 people.

Disagree with you,ordinary people want change ,the problem is they know not how,our history of social activism is road blocks when gas prices go up, or when elecftion a run.

I agree the JFJ and other orgs could educate,mobilise that theme in a better way ,than demonstrating for the rights of deceased gunmem by advocating and organizing communities for constitutional demands.

There I think you are wrong. Many ordinary people know our history and community history than we give them credit for. We need to listen to our elders more. It amazed me what many can inform you.

The fact is we choose to ignore it, and many think they are powerless, when they really aren't. should be signed by every candidate and community groups demanding specific action or else before getting any votes.

The people have more power than they know.

I will leave you with this ennis Chung !The real problem with Jamaica is our constitutional political system.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busin...#ixzz2mtVT7AOu

Achieving Vision 2030

By DENNIS CHUNG

Friday, April 29, 2011

"JAMAICA, the place of choice to live, work, raise families and do business" — Vision 2030 National Development Plan. If Jamaica becomes this place then we would have truly transformed from being a third-world country where we kill, cheat, and slander each other, to a truly first-world nation not to be outdone by even the most developed countries.
                            It is this vision I always dream of Jamaica becoming, and what drives me to criticise society's ills and misguided policy actions that have led to our economic stagnation for 35 years. Jamaica has excelled in every area except for politics. There are, of course, a few politicians that one can hold up as having been "a few good men", but overall politics has led this country on a downward spiral of destruction, as the aim of achieving state power always supersedes the good of the country.
                            The question therefore is whether, with 18 years before 2030, we can realistically achieve Vision 2030, as stated in the plan. If in 50 years of independence we have been unable to truly mature into a nation, then can we do so in 18 years and what do the indicators tell us? After 50 years we remain two tribes at war with each other, reminiscent of the African tribes, our forefathers who fought and sold each other to the Europeans as slaves. Isn't the divisiveness we have practised over the past 50 years tantamount to keeping Jamaicans in slavery also? The fact that every year Jamaicans have to await the presentation of the budget to see what new taxes we will be forced to pay is similar to the feudal master extracting money from his subjects for his estate.
                            So here's the real question once again: is there any hope for us and will we see that change occurring by 2030?
                            From my own perspective I think there is a ray of hope, given developments over the past couple of years. Some of these are listed below. I would start out by saying that in order to achieve Vision 2030 we have to recognise that primacy in that Vision must be the respect for our people and justice and the promotion of unity amongst Jamaicans. This is what Vision 2030 is about, and what will make Jamaica the place of choice to live, grow families, and do business. Because today what we have is a country where people will come for sunshine, beach, fun, and jerk chicken, but would rather go back to cold North America to raise their families and work, so as not to be subject to the vagaries of our society.
                            In order to achieve Vision 2030 this attitude must change. And if we do achieve this change, then I guarantee that Jamaica will be one of the most prosperous places on the planet. The only drawback is that our feudal... I mean political masters will see power ceded from them to the people. This is why in my book, I started out analysing economic data and concluded by saying that the real problem with Jamaica is our constitutional political system.
                            I believe, however, there are some things happening that give hope that Jamaica can achieve Vision 2030, but require consistent application in order for it to be achieved. These are:
                            1. Tax reform: the Finance Minister has been at pains to indicate that the tax system is going to be reformed to encourage greater productivity and production. At the time of writing the revenue numbers have not yet been presented, but based on things I have been hearing I am hopeful that the necessary tax reform will come that will provide a boost to the productive sector. I am also confident about the Minister's determination to do so, and commend efforts already in place, like the Tax Administration reform.
                            2. Public Sector Transformation: a lot of work is being done here, and I am hopeful that it will be properly implemented. My own view is that a lot of time has been wasted, however, trying to transform a system that cannot be centrally done (as this was always the problem) and that could easily have been done in a year or two with simpler steps.
                            3. Charter of Rights: after taking almost 20 years to pass this bill, my understanding is that we are still waiting on the Governor General to sign it into law. This should be immediately done, as the people have waited long enough for fundamental rights to be enshrined in the constitution. Jamaica owes a debt of gratitude to Edward Seaga, who piloted the bill, and we must also commend the politicians for recently passing it in both houses. Personally I do not see the merit in the arguments that the government can be sued for not paying for education for the poor, because it is included as a right, and seems to be politicising the charter already. I mean, I have the right to breathe fresh air, so if I choose to live near a dump, do I have the right to sue the government, or can I sue the government for depriving me of sleep because of night noise?
                            4. INDECOM, DPP, OCG, and Public Defender: In spite of the public spats that have occurred between these offices, I think the holders and the way they have approached their work is to be commended. Each office can be cited for their efforts to uphold justice or stamp out corruption in one way or the other, and as a country we are fortunate to have had all these offices seemingly working for justice and ethics. I actually believe the public disputes between the offices are good for our democracy. It happens in the great USA, and is healthy as it shows that each office is prepared to defend what it believes is right against other sections of the justice system, which is good control.
                            5. Police Commissioner: we have a maturing police force under Commissioner Ellington. Over a year ago I indicated that what Ellington does would be what determines the future of this country. I think he has brought a level of discipline and ethical standards to the police force that has been lacking for as far back as I can remember. For the very first time in memory, policemen and women can proudly say they are a part of the JCF. My own view of the police prior to this was a rogue element. In the next survey of trust, we may very well see the police force significantly better than our politicians. Two other officers doing an excellent job are Radcliffe Lewis and Dathan Henry.
                            6. Civil Society: Lastly, but by no means least, I want to mention the role that civil society has played over the past few years. There is no doubt that there has been a very active and determined civil society keeping our politicians pressured to ensure they get back on the right track when they falter, as they so often do. This is good for our democracy and is the reason why Jamaica will not go the path of the Middle East, as some think. I note that the cries for justice have come from individuals who have formed organisations to fight the corrupt system. These include JFJ, FAST, JUSD, environmental organisations, Columnists, and the list goes on. What is evident is that this change has been carried by individuals while the private sector leaders have apparently caught on, which is not unusual.
                            Notice I have not mentioned any growth-inducement strategies or macroeconomic numbers as the means to help us achieve Vision 2030, as these are mere symptoms of the underlying problem. If we have social justice and make Jamaica the choice to live and raise families, businesses will certainly follow and economic growth will result. While the signs for social justice are positive, we must ensure we remain consistent, as like a train progress is easy to derail.
                            Finally I want to add that the biggest failing has been the inability to address our high energy costs. I think there are initiatives that can be taken to ensure a reduction in our energy bill, but until then energy costs are the greatest threat to businesses and disposable incomes today. More on this another time.
                            Dennis Chung is a chartered accountant and the author of "Charting Jamaica's Economic and Social Development - A much needed paradigm shift". His blog is dcjottings.blogspot.com

Email: dra_chung@hotmail.com

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busin...#ixzz2mtUvLNya

Forgive him,the guy is an idiot who cant help himself,he sees the world in Yew, green and orange.
                              LOL!!!

So Yew is a hue ..... Yellow perhaps??
                              Last edited by Don1; December 8, 2013, 12:10 PM.

Why thank Yew kindly Histy