What is the greatest threat facing Jamaica ?

• What is the greatest threat facing Jamaica ?

Leave crime out of it , its a broad term that encompasses alot be specific., and what is it linked to,what emboldens this threat ?

1) Police brutality
    2) Economy
    3) Corruption
    4) Education
    5) Health Care
    etc etc

You pick anyone of these and its linked to our system of governance , which is represented by parlimentarians.Which to me means our system of governance(constitution) has failed us.Proof is our deterioating standard of living and the state sponsored terrorism to maintain the status quo .This system in no way represents the people.While we dont have a dictator , our governance is a dictatorship.....one mans democracy is another mans dictatorship...Papa Doc .

George Ayittey Speaks
    http://www.ted.com/talks/george_ayit...vs_hippos.html

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

All those are symptoms of the problem

The problem is corrupt & inept leadership

Fish rot from the head

No, the problem is the JFJ!

sigh

You pick anyone of these and its linked to our system of governance , which is represented by parlimentarians.Which to me means our system of governance(constitution) has failed us.Proof is our deterioating standard of living and the state sponsored terrorism to maintain the status quo .This system in no way represents the people.While we dont have a dictator , our governance is a dictatorship.....one mans democracy is another mans dictatorship...Papa Doc .
        To me it's not really about the system... it's about the people

Many countries have similar systems to Jamaica's...with much better results. The difference is how the people in charge operate the system

If Jamaica were to change its system to something else but allow the same behaviour from its leadership.... the results would essentially be the same

Civil Society AKA public interest groups have a critical role to play in exposing corruption and helping to keep leadership on the right path... we saw that in the Dudus affair

It is essential therefore to strengthen and support civil society

True,BUT that is a given.We refuse to elect a third party because nobody does that...We no longer dare to defy or set the trend,we merely fall in line.

Leave crime out of it , its a broad term that encompasses alot be specific., and what is it linked to,what emboldens this threat ?

1) Police brutality
            2) Economy
            3) Corruption
            4) Education
            5) Health Care
            etc etc

George Ayittey Speaks
            http://www.ted.com/talks/george_ayit...vs_hippos.html

#1 problem is Debt and the conditions attached to the Debt. IMF sets our interest rates to manufacturers, set our import policy which destroys our local producer with free market good. Both of these reduces our ability to pay off out debts.

#2 is probably corruption. I would not be surprised if 25% of the budget is stolen.

Leadership has a shitstem which it governs .Don , its not in a vaccum, how did Jamaica reach in a position where the masses are dictated by two political party,where anyone with sense can admit ,it doesnt represent the best interests of its people.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I have to disagree we need urgent review of the shitstem to see how we can make it represent its people by our constitutional scholars,then we can proceed , we have 50 years of a good case study to examine our mistakes.

The greatest threat IMO is two fold:

1. Lack of employment

2. An indisciplined society

*Yawn*

What is the cumulative Economic Growth under the PNP since 1972 ?

What is the debt accumalted under the PNP since 1972 ?

You would be suprised (or at least fake suprise) to know the numbers are record setting in ineptitude for a democratic Nation not at War..

That might have something to do with our predicament..

Time unnuh stop trying to be profound...

Mi nuh inna yuh JLPNP Midget Contest.... but yuh cyan gwaan worship dem Political Vampiya

Fiya bun fi unnu

Absolutely Correct!

To me it's not really about the system... it's about the people

Many countries have similar systems to Jamaica's...with much better results. The difference is how the people in charge operate the system

If Jamaica were to change its system to something else but allow the same behaviour from its leadership.... the results would essentially be the same
                        You are absolutely correct here!

For anyone to simply blame “the system” is nothing more than an easy, convenient response and a failure to recognize the immense failures and shortcomings of our leadership over the past half a century. As you rightly stated, “Many countries have similar systems to Jamaica’s….with much better results.”

Good post, sir.

Many countries have our system with said and worse results.Look at Africa ,what is the difference of the westminister system in the west and third world nations ?

Sure you have a few exceptioins with success ,but I am sure if you look at the success ,most of them had heavy influences from Babylon,e.g cayman ,turks and caicos and the Bahamas ,you cant compare that to a nation like Jamaica.

We must examine the psyche from which this system was born out of because each system was born out of a different colonial psyche,you cant compare Canadian,Australian or NZ colonial psyche to the African experience.

It needs to be holisticly exmanied because such psychological damage will take a toll on governance post colonial era and checks should have been put in place to prevent psychotic tendencies to do self harm, as we have done.

Looking for goodmen from that colonial African experience was a pipe dream ,history will show that few were found and we are still looking.Is this just a coincidence,there is a reason why they resist commonsense constitutional reforms in these post colonial psychotic westminister systems.
                          Last edited by Sir X; December 8, 2013, 08:09 AM.

Forgive him,the guy is an idiot who cant help himself,he sees the world in Yew, green and orange.

Whats the root of that ? what system of governance took us to that level,what guides this governance,its too easy for me to say MPs,If I was to blame anyone or thing it would be the people for allowing such ignorance to be ingrained as they say in the streets....a suh it set.