Last week-end i sat at my Uncle's feet...

• Last week-end i sat at my Uncle's feet...

....in Adelphi St. James and learned quite a lot.

He is currently 91...still clear minded and active.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2.../ent/ent6.html

Nice HL! Good read.

Someone in the family should record him telling his stories. I am always fascinated hearing elderly people give first-hand accounts of what life was like in their childhood.

Yep,always good to hear when they talk,nostalgic history.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

You and X may find this article by the great John Maxwell.

[The A.B. Lowe he mentioned is my great grand father.]
        http://blackagendareport.com/content...can-journalism

One of Jamaicas primer journalist.That man can write.Thanx.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

that is what I love about country life in Jamaica. You can sit and reason with the oldsters and learn a lot.

Respect.

Good to hear, soak up as much family history as you can & develop a family tree.

Good read HL. Like read these type of things.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I worked with a Claude Hewan-Lowe when I worked in Mobay back in the 80s. He must be one of your relatives. Do you know him?

Oh yes, I know Claude quite well. We are cousins.

Really? He's such a nice fellow. Are you sure you're related?!?