Examining the Haitians experience through D.R eyes.

This isnt even funny,how can you pick and choose where history begins,such is the colonial mindset.

Spain ceded the colony to France in 1795, and Haitian blacks under Toussaint L'Ouverture conquered it in 1801. READ & COMPREHEND BRICK ! FRANCE IS THE COLONIAL MASTER AT THE TIME OF HAITIAN LIBERATION/OCCUPATION !

In 1808, the people revolted and captured Santo Domingo the next year, setting up the first republic. Spain regained title to the colony in 1814. READ AND COMPREHEND BRICK ! SPAIN IS THE COLONIAL MASTER AFTER REVOLT FROM HAITI !

In 1821 Spanish rule was overthrown, but in 1822 the colony was reconquered by the Haitians. In 1844, the Haitians were thrown out and the Dominican Republic was established, headed by Pedro Santana

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

U know that New Seville is older? U know that Spanish Town is the OLDEST continually inhabited (post Columbian) settlement in the New World?

The article above seems to be mixing up Hispanyola, San Domingue, Haiti and the Dom. Rep.

Who overthrew Spanish rule in 1821 and declared DR an independent nation? That is the only thing germane to this argument

You guys are BOTH right.

No need for people to stick to their guns when the facts are clear.

I can understand why the Spanish minded Santo Domingans (the old name for all the island) did not like the French centric Haitians. Physical neighbours ALWAYS have frictions. Jamaica as an island state does not appreciate this.

So what happened initially in 1795 to 1801 ,why are you rushing to 1821 ? you said they were independent at the time of Haitian occupation,history doesnt agree with you, why argue the point ?...Boss yuh caan wrong and strong...yuh a look like fool! and mi know yuh smarter than that.Yuh caan piece meal history.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Unno BOTH correct. Colony the first time, Indep. the 2nd time....

Time to advance the argument now...

Yuh caan piece meal history,it must be told in context.Then it becomes a lie.

Was the DR independent in 1821? The answer is yes...after which they were occupied by Haiti...Haiti get kick out and now yuh vex cause DR nuh like Haitians...that is the crux of this argument...

The second time is all that is relevant...that is when they were independent and not a colony...my point is don't be vex cause the people who you conquered don't like you

Everybody likes to spin their way, but the reality is normally more complex and textured.

Spain hates France, especially after Napolean.

You know what Gabacho means?

X, thanks for posting.