The Archway Effect and Ignorant Delusions of school quality

I'm discussing systemic problems & systemic fixes...not irrelevant personal anecdotes

If yuh waan discuss dat... seek out others who may be interested

Here is a solution. New York City Dept of Education has zoning plus 9 public elitist high schools. An exam is required to get you in an elite high school s and every parent with high academic dreams for their children would like to get the kids into an elite high school..., Wait, backside this sound like the Jamaican GSAT system!!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brookly...al_High_School

Interesting ideas. All me know is we can't sit and do nothing and expect a different result one day.

We not going to have 100 Campions, Glenmuirs , Wolmers and Ardennes anytime soon but you cannot progress with national results like these:

http://commonsenseja.wordpress.com/2...ucate-jamaica/

Yeah but how does this help to solve the poor educational system in New York !?

How many of NY students can qualify to take Math and English in final year ?

Please get back on point...

A solution to what? It is certainly not a solution for failing public schools of which New York has more than its fair share.

It's my attempt at Satire.

OK, my apologies. Keep your day job, LOL.

The methodology used in this study has proved to be flawed and unscientific. The study has been debunked repeatedly and is not taken seriously by people in the know

The MOE studies give much better insights into school performance and positioning http://www.moe.gov.jm/school-inspection-reports-2011

The rankings may be flawed but are the results the ranking is based on not valid? If yes, are the results not pathetic overall? I know there is an issue about the 4th formers passes counting or not counting but at the macro level that should not make a big difference.

Me nuh watch the rankings too tuff but when 100+ schools are "graduating" students with that low level of achievement that is a serious thing. That is not an individual school problem, that is a problem with the system.

From what I understand the results are misleading/incomplete in many cases as kids at some schools sit exams in different years... so that would skew some results. The MOE itself has trashed this study

Clearly JA has an education crisis ...and the absence of credible scientific analysis is a hindrance to finding the fixes we can afford

The MOE should (on an ongoing basis) measure the academic standing of every school's intake cohort and benchmark that against minimum, average and outstanding MOE performance standard

Then the graduating classes should be measured in the same way.

That process will uncover what schools are doing in terms of an "academic conversion quotient". The schools that do well in this conversion should be studied to determine what methods they use to achieve academic upgrades in their students... especially those using moderate resources.

Those schools which have a high academic conversion quotient are the most valuable in the system... and a manual of best practices could be developed to migrate their methods through the system to underperforming schools

It's not difficult since they're all subject to standardized testing which produces a score of some sort

lol ! woiee !

"Academic Conversion Quotient.."

Mi belly..

Man want to study schools with failing cohort to glean the procedures and methodologies that produce mediocrity.. mebbe school like Campion can learn from dem.. dat way parents can stop waste money sending dem picnkey to Campion extra-lessons and instead send dem to.. JC ??

lol ! woieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!! mi cerebrum !

Summaddy point mi tuh di Stargate.. mek mi get back to earth !

Can you read??? No scratch dat...do you comprehend what you read??

Try assimilating a basic statistical model on this problem http://www.wallacefoundation.org/pag...eld-guide.aspx

When yuh flop dat likkle test yuh cyan excuse yuh self wid yuh extra lesson fooliniss

When it comes to development issues you're completely at sea so leave it to practitioners ... leff dis subjek gwaan an look fi yuh logistics yard pon Goat Island an nat inna Old Harbour..
                        Last edited by Don1; December 5, 2013, 05:05 PM.

The rankings may be flawed but are the results the ranking is based on not valid? If yes, are the results not pathetic overall? I know there is an issue about the 4th formers passes counting or not counting but at the macro level that should not make a big difference.

Me nuh watch the rankings too tuff but when 100+ schools are "graduating" students with that low level of achievement that is a serious thing. That is not an individual school problem, that is a problem with the system.
                          Yes!
                          ...and moving to Don1's reply below ---->

From what I understand the results are misleading/incomplete in many cases as kids at some schools sit exams in different years... so that would skew some results. The MOE itself has trashed this study

Clearly JA has an education crisis ...and the absence of credible scientific analysis is a hindrance to finding the fixes we can afford

The MOE should (on an ongoing basis) measure the academic standing of every school's intake cohort and benchmark that against minimum, average and outstanding MOE performance standard

Then the graduating classes should be measured in the same way.

That process will uncover what schools are doing in terms of an "academic conversion quotient". The schools that do well in this conversion should be studied to determine what methods they use to achieve academic upgrades in their students... especially those using moderate resources.

Those schools which have a high academic conversion quotient are the most valuable in the system... and a manual of best practices could be developed to migrate their methods through the system to underperforming schools

It's not difficult since they're all subject to standardized testing which produces a score of some sort
                            ...and following on to Islandman's above my response on yours is also, Yes!

It is matter of looking at the 'total picture'...drawing right conclusions and instituting real problem solving measures.

Practitioners ?

lol !

The last 3 decades has been impressive... dem need more practice..