The Archway Effect and Ignorant Delusions of school quality

The system is very unfair but you cannot fix it by zoning students. You must first create very good schools in each community. That requires money, lots of money. How are you going to achieve that?

The article is not about any particular school.... it's about systemic dysfunction..period

It is myopic thinking like yours that reflects and defines the current education dysfunction and prevents workable system-wide solutions from emerging out of the personalized fluff persons like to yap about

Fortunately they're a few adults around with a more evolved perspective on the problem... guh oneside an' mek way yute

Originally posted by Time View Post
        The system is very unfair but you cannot fix it by zoning students. You must first create very good schools in each community. That requires money, lots of money. How are you going to achieve that?
        You have nothing to propose other than finding lots of money??

Try to put your schooling to use please

I agree

Education would actually be the best investment for borrowed money ... unfortunately the corrupt & inept JLPNP leadership doesn't agree

In the immortal words of Busta... Education cyaan Nyam (or win elections)
          Last edited by Don1; December 4, 2013, 02:54 PM.

Really? How are you going to make sure that Camperdown have the same facilities and opportunities as Wolmer's?

You persons keep harping on these silly anecdotes... why do you persons find it necessary to frame a discussion this way???

I'm looking for suggestions to improve disadvantaged schools...short of applying to King Midas

If you don't have any I understand...but just say so
              Last edited by Don1; December 4, 2013, 03:17 PM.

Dean of Discipline on assault charges

http://rjrnewsonline.com/local/dean-...ourt-january-7

Dean of Discipline on assault charges returns to court January 7

6:43 am, Wed December 4, 2013

A 34-year-old high school teacher who reportedly assaulted his 33-year-old wife appeared before the Spanish Town Resident Magistrate's Court in St Catherine on Tuesday.
                The teacher is a Dean of Discipline at a school in the Corporate Area. He is charged with assault occasioning bodily harm and malicious destruction of property.
                Reports are that on November 5, the couple was at home when the man accused his wife of being unfaithful. This led to an argument during which he grabbed her cell phone and used it to hit her, before destroying it.
                She made a report to the police and he was arrested and charged. He is to return to court on January 7.

I point out the flaws in the man argument.. who corn get mash.. ah suh..

Nuh yuh was a bit up North Coast Highway ?

Total failure.. from a cost/benefit analysis.. but then Election gimmicks usually are.. that was the mother of all election gimmicks..

I would start by increasing Tax Revenue.. that involves growing the Economy and increasing the Tax Base...

But hold on.. Jamaica is PNP country...

Oh well so much for that..

Next universe cycle maybe..

keep hope alive

I would start by increasing Tax Revenue.. that involves growing the Economy and increasing the Tax Base...

But hold on.. Jamaica is PNP country...

Oh well so much for that..

Next universe cycle maybe..

Backside you say the magic word, tax!!!! Let's copy the American system and collect the school tax from within each zone and give it to the schools in the zone. I wonder how much tax would go to Tivoli High?

We have consol fund system...

Where else wi gwine get it fram.. ? Di Diaspora ?

Dem only good fi remittance... and yapping.. runaway slave dem on a higher plane dan di ones stuck pon di plantation doh...

Seedless grapes tuh di whiiirl !

Backward move that. Education should be national or at least county controlled. We should scrap parish councils and move to county councils with real power.

We still need 2nd school screening, we just need to lower the barrier and shore up the weaker schools. Then we should shore up the vocational schools where we focus on a few critical skills to make sure every child leaves with at least 2 marketable skills.

Is like we want to run before we learn how to crawl.