The 1st time i met a Geechie , i thought she was Jamaican.

No it is not. It is not literacy specifically, it is essentially about treating English for some student groups as a second language and applying the techniques used in other nations when they have student groups who are not fluent in the standard language.

Obviously many teachers already use patwa to assist in their teaching but it is not done in a structured way that way a formalized ESL program would.

Thats a different topic Rock , I have no problem with lynguistic documentation.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Okay ..that makes sense.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Island jusss explian it to me and it mek sense, teaching students ESL , guess what some black americans do fall into that group and do take such classes.

JFJ mentality.

Such documentation is invariably teaching,and some that have a problem with it being taught in schools(The difference the physical structure of walls and a ceiling make) objects to linguistic documentation.
            We have to stop waiting for accreditation of the outsiders and start showing initiative.

Isnt it being taught and recorded ,through our music ,movies , etc ,why does it have to be standerdized in our educational system?

Look at black america, isnt rap doing the same , no difference in our paths ! black americans are taught ESL also if needed , are they advocating making slang standard practice, no , but it does have its place and value .

Maybe in time both , patwa and american slang will find its place in the corporate world but as we speak, we need to be realistic...ESL is appropriate.

How do you explain the success of total immersion programs in Quebec? English speaking students are taught French in French only...French speaking students are taught English in English only...are our children stupid?

MO, Island & Rock...Brick asked a question ?

Thanks, I-Man, because clearly Gamma and I were not doing such a good job getting it across.

Two different situationd,patois spans ALL the races in Jamaica.Ebonics is opposed by a particular sect.
                      Ergo drawing parallels and taking cues from dark skinned Americans is ill advised boss.

OK and we expect Patwa to have a place at the international corporate table , if Ebonics cannot give cues in corporate america ?

Lets stick with ESL to better grasp english to prepare our youths for the corporate world.Here i can compromise with Islandman.

I guess leaving out the ESL part and dismissing black americans who are in a similar position, played a big part in your presentation.

Thanks Islandman, again.

Besides,I remember at primary school(second grade)a classmate wrote in an essay,the man was standing backa the wall.If the distinction was made,his English would be okay.Yes we learn outside the classroom.

I don't know about the Quebec program, but I can believe that total immersion can work if done properly and the proper resources are in place.

Our JA situation is that we have no approach at all because we do not recognize it as a primary/secondary language problem.

Out students are not generally stupid, but the ones with the English speaking and comprehension problems are typically disadvantaged in many ways other than just lack of English skills.

I get it. You are endorsing racial superiority by implying that blacks are an inferior race. Orientals come to the states and English is not their first language. These Orientals are able to learn English and excel in in academics.

I'm really tired of this weak reasoning. Is everyone that can trace their lineage hundreds of years in France, scoring high on the academic front (in France that is)? The age of the microchip is rendering language irrelevant. Please look into it.