• More Campionitis

Campion Ain't Just Another School
    Published: Friday | November 29, 2013 1 Comment
    Andrew Lindsay, Guest Columnist

I am writing to respond to the young author from Campion College whose letter about the misperceptions of the school has garnered much attention from students and alumni. As a recent alumnus of Campion College, I completely understand where this student is coming from.

When I attended, I had many of the same opinions, but in my little over a year away, I have come to the conclusion that there are indeed many truths to these alleged "malignant views" about the school.

First, one must understand that the negative views about the school and the subsequent connection to elitism are indicative of the tremendous classism that is a mainstay of Jamaican society. When an individual from another school attacks Campion College with an argument like "How much Campion pay fi win dis?", this is merely an attempt to reclaim some power over a certain group of individuals in Jamaica, the wealthy and/or educated in society, who under normal circumstances call most of the shots.

inherent societal bias

Any Campionite who attempts to claim discrimination in a mere high-school competition fails to recognise that there is almost always inherent societal bias in the Campion graduate's favour, at least when it comes to prospects in tertiary education and on the job market. With the immense educational privilege that the average Campionite has, this type of complaint is akin to a white person in the US complaining about reverse racism.

Second, I have to disagree with the notion that "it is not the school that matters". The resources that Campion College has are bar none. Between the multimillion-dollar library funded, in large part, by the assistance of Gordon 'Butch' Stewart, the tiled parking lot in front of the staff house with matching fountain and upgraded canteen to boot, it is hard to oppose the view that Campion is a rich school, at least when compared with other secondary schools of similar size.

Moreover, Campion's faculty is among the best in the island, which, in large part, accounts for the significant number of students among its cohort who are now in medical school, law school and in schools overseas.

poor students' plight

Finally, there are indeed poor students at Campion College. But they are in the minority, and their addition does very little for the claim that the school is not an agent of class reproduction. One reason is because GSAT is, for many reasons, rigged in favour of students with means.

Another is that in my seven years at the school, I have observed that if a student is of humble means and is not as academically successful as the cohort or prominent on campus for another reason such as athletics or student government, they can be made to feel misplaced. I can firmly make this claim on behalf of individuals in my class who have had this experience.

In conclusion, Campion College has many misperceptions, but there is a grain of truth which resides with each. Campion is a socio-economically diverse school, but is by no means a school of, or for, paupers. The school clearly doesn't rig school competitions, but of more importance is the fact that society is rigged in its students' favour simply for the sheer number of opportunities that are afforded to them.

Instead of playing the blame game, affiliates and non-affiliates alike should put more attention into the hows and whys associated with these misperceptions because there's more to them than meet the eye. Among the questions that should be asked include: How do we increase our lower socio-economic groups in upper-tier schools like Campion? Why are there so many prep-school students in the public high schools like Campion with better resources?

If we answer these questions, or at least ask them, perhaps we won't have all these malignant views - on both sides.

Andrew Lindsay is a Campion alumnus. Email feedback to columns@gleanerjm.com and alindsay16@amherst.edu.

The more you 'open your mouth the more you say about yourself"!
    Andrew has told us among other things that he is conflicted. -
    Any Campionite who attempts to claim discrimination in a mere high-school competition fails to recognise that there is almost always inherent societal bias in the Campion graduate's favour, at least when it comes to prospects in tertiary education and on the job market. With the immense educational privilege that the average Campionite has, this type of complaint is akin to a white person in the US complaining about reverse racism.
    Instead of playing the blame game, affiliates and non-affiliates alike should put more attention into the hows and whys associated with these misperceptions because there's more to them than meet the eye. Among the questions that should be asked include: How do we increase our lower socio-economic groups in upper-tier schools like Campion? Why are there so many prep-school students in the public high schools like Campion with better resources?

If we answer these questions, or at least ask them, perhaps we won't have all these malignant views - on both sides.
    What is it Campionites...misconceptions or truth...or...?

Now this is a well written letter. He is not conflicted, he speaks the truth because he benefited from his better education at Campion.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Now this is a well written letter. He is not conflicted, he speaks the truth because he benefited from his better education at Campion.
        Did you read the letter to which he responded?
        I assume you did, so the question is: Is Andrew agreeing with that writer "author"(?) or disagreeing on the matter of the perception she described as being held by some 'non-Campionites' as being a misconception?

It appears that at times he agrees with the "author" and at others he disagrees with the "author"!

Very good letter! Unlike that other one that was...might I say, less than the quality expected of a bright Campion student.

karl, yuh locked into tribal politics so long that you cannot appreciate that it is not always "all or nothing" or the for us against us" . he does not have wholesale dismiss or accept ....

He agrees that there are misconceptions (for example that everybody who attends Campion is well off) but acknowledges that students who attend the school have privileges and advantages that the average public high school student does not have.

In honesty, I saw the first letter and sided with the writer. I said yeah Jakans at times don't like to see high achievers (Brasil with football and the US with its wealth and technology comes to mind on this site). Then I noticed another letter on Campion and yet another. This only shows some truth in what the detractors were saying.

Campion is a high school. How can a high school influence Ja's economy? Is there any scholarly research going on there that would make breakthroughs for Ja? UWI and UTECH don't get that much time in the news paper. All this bragging about how great one high school is to others is a waste of time.

I pick William Knibb as one of the best on the island. The students at Knibb are visionaries and they have the ability to solve problems ranging from Math, science, economics, et al.

I agree with Jangle,the first letter is juvenile.The writer has not yet been molded by Campion.The second letter(doubt very much that writer would've even bothered to initiate...),is a clear sign of intelligence realized.
                  The pith of the first letter is Campion bought nothing,this was refuted by the writer of the second letter,he CHOSE to do that(intelligence realized).
                  He also made the same observation I made at St.GC too,there is a strong family bloodline reinforced .....
                  Intelligence has to be realized hence kudos to the finished product(the writer of the follow up lette)r.

Rocky my beef is why a high school is in the news paper for three consecutive days. What about the tertiary institutions in Ja?

Well in one of those letters,attention was made to solutions that would benefit all.It went viral Jawge.
                      My guess is we will hear about tertiary institutions soon,it is inevitable given Utech insistence of putting its foot into its own mouth by choosing to insert itself on the track and field drama taking place.

Well written letter ?

What makes it well written ?

Is Campion the only school in this category ??

lol !

Campion has never won Manning Cup...

Priorities mold us...

Nonsense,I can see Campion excelling in Polo,Lacrosse ,badminton ,and other top class sports,nevertheless those are sports.