• Utterances and perspectives....

No need for harsh words at Jamaica

Story Created: Nov 27, 2013 at 10:21 PM ECT

Beginning with our Prime Minister’s tactless utterance in Jamaica “that Tri*nidad is no longer an ATM machine for the Caribbean”, political pomposity has been a hallmark of this Govern*ment.

There is little justification for offensive talk unless it boosts our ego and superiority complex; had National Secu*ri*ty Minister Gary Griffith simply con*-fined himself to the three or four valid grounds for deporting a visitor, and more importantly in a normal spoken tone, Ja*maica could have had little basis for complaining. Not long ago, I, too, had to show my return ticket to enter Barbados.

Griffith however indulged in a verbal rampage—“Trinidad is not a mall where people come and go as they like...”—sounding more like a rum shop orator, raising the rhetorical temperature, engaging our Foreign Affairs Minister, Winston Dookeran, and his Jamaican counterpart and ludicrously leading to the PM sending him to Jamaica—merely to explain that the deportees did not satisfy the immigration officers of their bona fide visitor status.

Trinidad should regard Caricom people as our Caribbean brethren first and secondly as our customers, who provide year-round employment for thousands of Trinbagonians in our factories. We should not wait for a threatened boycott of T&T products.

On a personal note, I find the Jam*ai*cans a very friendly people. Although I had made several short visits to Jamai*ca over the years, I was better able to appreciate and enjoy the kind and friendly disposition of Jamaicans in all spheres of activity when spending a more relaxed vacation a few years ago.

From the immigration officer, the cus*toms and security staff at the airport, to the simple store clerk or coffee shop attendant, they were all friendly and made me feel welcome. It was as if an edict had come from on high, “This is a special visitor, take care of him”. My soft spot for Jamaicans has admittedly prompted this letter.

Michael J Williams
    via e-mail
    Last edited by Karl; November 29, 2013, 11:36 AM.

Very well written Exile. Very touching. Unfortunately, we still a go boycott unu r a a s. But thanks nonetheless.

lol.

Hip-hip! Go ahead Rudi, will is backing yuh! LoL

1. I am not the writer. Actually the guy was a former Senator (Senate President) and Minister (diff party) and businessman (Michael Jay Williams (born 16 October 1929), son of Louis Jay Williams, is a Trinidad and Tobago politician and businessman. Williams attended Queen's University, Kingston, Ontario, Canada to study engineering. Mr. Williams was appointed to the Senate of Trinidad and Tobago by A.N.R. Robinson following the National Alliance for Reconstruction victory in the 1986 General Elections. He served as President of the Senate between 1986 and 1990 and acting President from 1986 to 1987 following Ellis Clarke [1][unreliable source?]. He was married to Teresa Anna Tang and had eleven children, 6 male and 5 female.)

2. No badda wid the 'unnu' ting.

3. You are always welcomed.

Easy nuh man. I was being funny and sarcastic. You deh a Trini land too long losing your sense of humor.