Portia nuh chat pon mike, at least not on the street!

Agree!
    It would be fool's play to deny the seen facts!

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...846#post454846

ahm.. what poor behaviour did the reporter show ??

I thought this made news because of the inappropriate actions of the security detail ?

Tread softly - Chief justice urges media to be resolute...

Tread softly - Chief justice urges media to be resolute but fair

Opposition tells media to persevere in face of adversity
        BY ALICIA DUNKLEY-WILLIS Senior Staff Reporter dunkleya@jamaicaobserver.com
        Monday, November 25, 2013

JAMAICA'S Chief Justice Zaila McCalla, while acknowledging the need for more transparency and accountability in the justice system, yesterday appealed to members of the press to tread softly in pursuing truth.

"It is evident that the country has come into an age of information and technology. The judiciary understands all too well and must answer the call in raising the bar by increasing transparency and accountability in the delivery of justice. Whilst the judiciary traverses this path I implore our friends of the press to be mindful of the delicate nature and sensitive environment in which the process of justice must be allowed to take its course," Justice McCalla told members of the media during a church service at the Wildman Street United Pentecostal Church in Kingston to kick off activities for National Journalism Week.
        Noting that the media, as a group, is an essential stakeholder in the justice system, Justice McCalla urged practitioners to not only actively report on the cases in the Courts, but also to report on the positive initiatives being undertaken by the Courts in collaboration with other stakeholders in order to improve the administration of justice in the country.

"As we seek to uphold the fundamental principles of our democracy we are also duty bound to protect the rights of every Jamaican who seeks redress in our Courts, especially the most vulnerable groups including our children. It is my hope that we will move forward in a spirit of partnership and goodwill and seek ways to collaborate in addressing many of the issues of concern in our nation," she said.

"I encourage you to be resolute and fearless, but fair and accurate in the gathering, processing and dissemination of information for the benefit of our people. Continue to be a voice for the voiceless and a protector for the weak. It is one of the greatest contributions you could ever make to the advancement of the human race," the Chief Justice continued.

In the meantime, Opposition Spokesperson on Information Olivia 'Babsy' Grange, who also represented Opposition Leader Andrew Holness, in noting the existence of "challenges" which she said were evidenced by "recent events", urged the press to "continue to persevere in the face of adversity".

"We stand with journalists who seek answers to issues that affect the nation and reject any attempt to restrict these efforts. But, in doing so, we ask for mutual respect, we ask for mutual honesty, we ask for mutual accessibility to information and to individuals, and we ask that in carrying out your duties you show respect and demand respect," she said.

Grange's remarks come in the wake of an incident in which a reporter attempting to interview Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller last week about issues related to the reinstatement of transport and works junior minister Richard Azan was reportedly shoved by members of her security detail and shunned by the prime minister.

For her part President of the Press Association of Jamaica Jenni Campbell said journalists had no intention of backing down in pursuing truth.

"Journalists have always made it their duty to hold public officials to account very seriously, and this current generation of professionals function in a technologically advanced era and are far less tolerant of any lack or shade of transparency," she said.

"Where there is no transparency, our journalists will press and press hard, respectfully though, for information; persevering in the face of adversity. It is our responsibility to get the information and take it to the people, and we will do that and continue to do that regardless," the PAJ president said to applause.

"We are thankful for the advent of social media, which makes it far more difficult for those who are dishonest and corrupt in our country to find safe haven," she said.

Yesterday, Reverend Devon Dawson, delivering the sermon, said Jamaica has been plagued by a host of undesirables, including the loss of respect for God.
        "It's midnight in the moral order, and it's midnight in the social, economical and political order; that's why your job is so difficult as journalists," Reverend Dawson said.

Noting that the "world has become a cesspool of immorality", where truth can hardly be found anywhere, he said it was time for the guardians of truth to rise up and fight to build foundations that are worth keeping.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2lgap50dC

Grange's remarks come in the wake of an incident in which a reporter attempting to interview Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller last week about issues related to the reinstatement of transport and works junior minister Richard Azan was reportedly shoved by members of her security detail and shunned by the prime minister.
          What nonsense?! Politicians "shun" reporters all the time!

And Portia did not shun the reporter. She answered one question and didn't think she had to answer the next. WHAT?!?!?

I hate when I have to defend Portia over foolishness!

Somebody trying to get some mileage from this real non-incident. Is this the first time security has pushed a reporter?!? Pleeze!

LoL

True.

However, the reason why its an issue is that Portia normally avoids the press. She did answer this time, but she did nit need the hystrionics of lecturing about travelling the world...

ahm.. what poor behaviour did the reporter show ??

I thought this made news because of the inappropriate actions of the security detail ?

...and I thought it was "the press" and "the reporter" conjuring (now what does that word mean) 'a line'/story and displaying attempts at misrepresentation=dishonest representation of facts surround an encounter with the PM? = poor behavior!!!!

Some would claim, lying "press" and "reporter"...and wave it away when suited as 'par for the course'...right?
              Last edited by Karl; November 26, 2013, 04:55 AM.

LoL

True.

However, the reason why its an issue is that Portia normally avoids the press. She did answer this time, but she did nit need the hystrionics of lecturing about travelling the world...
                True!

Let's cuss har when she really deserve it. Are those moments so rare?!?!

some would claim lying press ? like who suh ?

It doesn't have to be the PM doing the press conference.

No I'm not. The same way the reporter had time to prepare his "ambush". It's the same way PSM needs time to prepare to answer on Azan (not saying I'm for or against). Yes she has the right to decide. The reporter was rude to block her passage. Security should not have allowed him so close.

I'm sort of busy but things seem to be winding down.

LOL! You are now just being silly.

Please explain, thanks.

Block her passage ?!

lol ! woiee !

Prepare an answer for Azan ??

Ah wheh di ?!

You must not support unchecked corruption Jawge.. neither should Portia.. I know P.J. already set the precedence but Portia should strive to change that course.. road to perdition..

He is going to say she will have to have a designated spokesperson tagging along with her at every public event,the availability of the PM is not questioned.She,like all nation leaders,is entitle to having that buffer hence your statement has merits.
                              Observer paid for a depiction of the PM and the first lady of a different country in which demeaning attempts were made at altering only her appearance,with the explicit consent of the media.
                              Media objectivity is suspect.

First the reporter should wait until the PM has a press conference. Now that you have been informed that she does not do press conferences you come up with this nonsense that she doesn't need to be the one doing the press conference.

Is she the PM or is she the queen?

She is accountable to the people she serves. If she refuses to do press conferences for fear of embarrassing herself, a reporter has every right to ask her a question that the nation wants an answer to when he gets an opportunity.

Sure she can decide not to answer it but that does not translate into disrespect by the reporter in any way. She is really in over her head.

Since you love talk bout what would happen in the US, care to guess how many press conferences Obama has done? Or Bush? or Clinton? Let me help you: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/0...n_2480748.html