• All You Financial Yappers

break this down for me please...scams or good potential:

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busin...m-IPO_15444711

you might as well go a casino. It is a big gamble, you have to either have faith in the company, study their track record, take a chance or find something else to do with their money.

Source of income is not clear. This company CW2 music was saying it was getting fund from collecting music rights. How much rights they collect? What happen to them, as most of the rights are collected by companies outside of Jamaica and passed on.

Too much of a risk for me.

Can you break down their strategy in layman's terms...I have no clue about this stuff...

We have the ability to hedge using tools such as options, which are not available on the local market. Investing in private equity also provides shareholders with the opportunity to benefit from taking positions in smaller companies with solid fundamentals," said Nam in an earlier interview with this newspaper.
        The firm plans to look at making equity investments in local companies, he said.
        "A lot of local companies want to expand; perhaps they want to purchase a piece of equipment but don't have the money," he said. "They can come to us and get funding if they meet our criteria."

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busin...#ixzz2l73jS8Hv

Seem like a two prong thing. They are going to invest in options(rather than stocks) in other products so what are their track record in doing this and how much you trust them. You can will by doing this but you can also lose very fast.

and then they want to invest in some local companies. I would only buy shares when I see some results. If you want to gamble you can but don't put anything you can't afford to lose.

Okay...not parting ways with my money...just interested to see if his strategy is worthwhile...

Sounds like a hedge fund more or less. High risk, potentially high reward ( or loss) and most likely paying themselves fairly high management fees.

I don't think it is necessarily a scam, but I like to keep my investing simple and follow the advice of Warren Buffet who says don't invest in things you do not understand.

could be still, but it is a gamble. If you win, you a go win big but chances are you will lose everything that you invest in it.

You know the bredda???

First of all, the article should have been written in layman's terms for the general public. They intend to make money from companies that they invest in, and the trading of stocks. This is very high rish and I would take a pass. Also, they do not intend to be a brokerage firm that sells stocks & bonds to the general public and they will not be providing investment advice.

I don't know him personally no...know of him though...

Unless you are a sophisticated high net-worth investor stay far. If you are high net-worth and interested much more investigation should be done. The description seems very general and cookie-cutter.

What is their truck rekord? Most important criterion here.

It seems like a glorified unit trust with a private equity (read illiquid) angle.

Yes.

break this down for me please...scams or good potential:

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busin...m-IPO_15444711
                          They will be doing the same thing that Khari doing with Norbrook. Buying local companies or purchasing some of their bonds, but demanding heavy covenants or ownership.

If the investments that they pick flop, then your shares of their stock will flop.

The part about them hedging with options seems like nonsense unless they are referring to hedging their us based investments. What is most important is, will they payout dividends to their investors when they exit some of their successful investments. Otherwise you are just really relying on the efficiency of the local exchange to accurately reward you.

Nam has good reputation, but this is a different animal.

you might as well go a casino. It is a big gamble, you have to either have faith in the company, study their track record, take a chance or find something else to do with their money.

Source of income is not clear. This company CW2 music was saying it was getting fund from collecting music rights. How much rights they collect? What happen to them, as most of the rights are collected by companies outside of Jamaica and passed on.

Too much of a risk for me.
                            Track record?

...the company in a real sense is not yet in existence. Who are these 'owners'? What is the track record of each in the specific area they hold out as target of investment?

Testimonials on past acts along these lines?
                            Input in the entities invested?
                            Returns (ROI)?
                            Success - Hey? ...must be successes...right? - spread over what number of years?

etc., etc!

Do you expect these 'owners' to take big chunks of 'stocks' and are they salaried by 'self-vote'? (Ha set-hup a dem 'wallo-hin trough', den henny numba play? - yuh nuh...ratio of investment to administrative expenses + operating expenses + taxes)?

Suh dem a collect...an dem den wi tink bout wah fi hin-ves innah?
                            ...a business that demands faith in 'the collective=bosses'? mi nuh kno, boss -

...but dem dem wi use di evera readi JA phrase(s) - Cho! ...because yuh nuh kno. Dis bigga dan yuh!