• Is Holness mad ?

Unconscionable political prenuptial agreement

Published: Monday | November 18, 2013 5 Comments

Christopher Tufton (right) and Opposition Leader Andrew Holness are no longer seeing eye to eye. - FILE

Bert Samuels, GUEST COLUMNIST

1 2 >

Bert Samuels, GUEST COLUMNIST

The revelation by Senator Arthur Williams that at least seven opposition senators - when being considered for appointment to our Upper House of Parliament - were required to sign undated letters of resignation has sent shock through those of us committed to constitutional democracy.
    Andrew Holness' six-day-old victory, with majority support among his party delegates, was blotted out by the unceremonious removal from the Senate of former Holness-appointed senators Williams and Tufton, with the use of those 22-month-old letters, now dated in November 2013.
    The opposition leader was prepared to use these freshly dated old instruments to carry out his politically motivated constitutional assassinations. Speaking from his political grave, Williams, on a November 15 evening radio programme, stated that four days into Holness' victory over Shaw, he was of the opinion that he had the confidence of the newly re-elected leader of the Opposition. It seems that trust was misplaced.
    The Constitution of Jamaica empowers both prime minister and leader of the Opposition to appoint senators to the Upper House. These appointed - rather than elected - lawmakers do not face the electorate. Consequently, the Senate can be viewed as an exception to the principle of 'government by the people'.
    The power to appoint and remove its members is, therefore, to be closely guarded by civil society. This is what defines, in my humble opinion, the revelation of Williams about undated letters (the signing of which was an obvious precondition for appointment to the Senate) in the hands of the leader of the Opposition, as a constitutional crisis of no mean proportion.
    undermining democracy
    Where an individual holding a constitutional office of such high importance as leader of the Opposition seeks to undermine that very Constitution by circumventing the conditions under which a lawmaker can be removed from office, isn't he or she not guilty of undermining democracy itself?
    Consider a prime minister being in possession of undated letters of resignation from all his appointed senators. And further, consider that he wishes to pass laws undermining the system of democracy we now enjoy. He could easily remove right-minded senators who side with the people, and, thereafter, replace them with his lackeys who are prepared to sacrifice our democracy.
    The leader of the Opposition is a virtual prime minister-in-waiting. His conduct in Opposition informs his conduct as prime minister. This is what dangerously defines his conduct as being unconstitutional - having no regard for the letter and spirit of our 51-year-old democracy.
    Summary dismissal in employment law is permissible only where the worker has breached a fundamental term of his contract. Those who hold the high office of lawmakers on our behalf are entitled to due process and security of tenure unless and until they repudiate the trust we repose in them, by some act or omission.
    I cannot see how those who Holness will face, to seek election as leader in the future, will be able to repose confidence in a leader whose briefcase may be full of undated resignation letters extracted from the elected and unelected representatives of the Jamaican people. We cannot be led by those who are prepared to invent schemes to avoid the clear provisions of our Constitution.
    In closing, I leave Mr Holness with the caution expressed by Patrick Henry, a prominent figure in the American Revolution, when he said, "The Constitution is not an instrument for the government to restrain the people; it is an instrument to restrain the government lest it come to dominate our lives and interests."
    Bert Samuels is an attorney-at-law. Email feedback to columns@gleanerjm.com and bert.samuels@gmail.com.

More Sharing ServicesShare | Share on facebook Share on myspace Share on google Share on twitter

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Democratic dictatorship at work,bwoooy I wish I could be wrong sometimes ,but our constitution is a political comedy,it serves party and MPs,when will it serve the people ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Stop talking to yourself.

Where is the JFJ!?

What should we expect from a party that itches and squirms when faced with democracy?

Wrote you guys off as part of the problem... eons ago.

Why do guest columnists always write about the party they don't support?

Isn't that the purpose of the undated resignations? To serve the people? The JLP position is that the CCJ issue must be decided by the people...nuh suh?

Funny you should talk about democracy...that is exactly what the CCJ issue is about

Serve the people or party ?that's the constitutional question.

You don't sound like yuh up to speed on this issue...the issue surrounding the CCJ is one of human rights...or you ongly support human rights sometimes?

The JLP's position is that the people must decide whether we go with the CCJ as our final court of appeal...their position is that it must go to a vote...how does that serve the party?

you notice that. Thwaite son and others can't write one article on Jamaica, economy, the dollar, performance of the government, leadership or anything relating to the government or the PNP. LOL. Give we some balance nuh. Samuels can give we a little on Trafiguara too.

I wonder why?