Can't agree with Tuftons position here although

Wow Time, apparently it was done this time as well!

Andrew a nuh Baby Bruce again, him is Baby Eddie!

From RJR website:

He said when the JLP senators were appointed in January 2012, Holness was “deeply concerned about any of them departing from the party's position in relation to the Caribbean Court of Justice”.

The JLP has called for a referendum before Jamaica joins the Trinidad-based court that was established in 2001 to replace the London-based Privy Council as the region’s final court.

Williams said that as a result all the Senators were required to sign undated letters of resignation and a letter authorising the Opposition Leader to date and submit the letters to the Governor General.

Williams said he did not agree to the request made this week for a mass resignation of the opposition senators and that as a result of his refusal, Holness submitted the un-dated letters of resignation to the Governor General although the matter had nothing to do with the CCJ.

But in an ironic twist, it has been revealed that the letters that were used to oust Williams and Tufton were drafted by Williams himself

He told RJR News that at the time he was chief of staff in the opposition leader's office and the letter was drafted in anticipation of a debate on the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ).

That is a cheap move that will backfire in long term disunity.

Who is advising Holness?

Arthur Williams is a good, decent and competent man.

Holness had better reappoint him!

Without a doubt a low blow, but just the idea of them agreeing to sign a letter like that says a lot about the way the JLP operates.

Wow Time, apparently it was done this time as well!

Andrew a nuh Baby Bruce again, him is Baby Eddie!

From RJR website:
            I don't believe that it is unique to Jamaica. I believe that it is standard operating procedure for appointments to a Senate in many countries especially the British Commonwealth. What I am surprised about is that a few Senators would argue knowing that their pre-signed resignations are on file.

He won't. Pernel and Samuda running the show.

Jurrasic Park!

JLP??? Time huh tell you that PNP and other C-wealth countries do the same.

Secret buss now, we see more of the slimy backdoor tactics upfront.

Politics is hell.

And me did hear say Tufton was the smart one....maybe not so much.

Holness better realize he only won by 700 votes. This is no doubt a good appointment but he need to put back Authur Williams, Forte, and Tufton back inna the senate.

Do know why what him believe Karl Saumda can give him. Him need to stop been thinskinned.

JLP??? Time huh tell you that PNP and other C-wealth countries do the same.

Secret buss now, we see more of the slimy backdoor tactics upfront.

Politics is hell.
                      Slimy? Hell? Naw, it is called Policy and Loyalty Enforcement Management. Would you as party leader appoint Senators who cannot be fired and who are expected to toe the line and not have them pre-sign their resignation? How would you ensure their loyalty to your policies?

If we want independent Senators then we need to change the system so that they can be elected not appointed.

Originally posted by Time View Post
                        If we want independent Senators then we need to change the system so that they can be elected not appointed.
                        LOL

So are elected MPs "independent"??

LOL

So are elected MPs "independent"??
                          If they want then then can be, especially those in the opposition because the leader of the opposition can't put their jobs at risk. However if too many government MP step out of line then the PM may chose to exercise the right to call elections at any time for any reason.

This week Vaz went to Azan swearing in 'to support a friend.' He still has his seat. If he was a Senator then bye bye.

Portia once showed her independence by abstaining from a budget vote because they did not give enough money to Local Government. It is rumored that KD told her some dutty bad words. If she was a Senator then bye bye.

All that is just yappin

The fact is that in Jamaica being an elected member of Parliament does NOT create any independence of action

The backward culture and highly concentrated power base of the political tribes determines that lack of independence...not whether the individual is elected or selected
                            Last edited by Don1; November 16, 2013, 12:56 PM.

Clearly Holness is the dumb one here.

Tufton nuh have nutten fi lose, Holness just blot his own copybook, but alienating 40% of his base.

Tufton have nutten LEFT to lose. He is a perennial loser, LOL.