Sass for crissakes...can't we get a Gwaan???

• Sass for crissakes...can't we get a Gwaan???

Wi know is nat Bartlett.... but nuh mek it look suh. WataGwaan???

UK Visitors To Jamaica Boosted Since Olympic Dominance
    Published: Friday November 8, 2013 |

The Boeing 787 Dreamliner taxis on the tarmac at the Sangster International Airport on Thursday.

Janet Silvera, Senior Gleaner Writer

WESTERN BUREAU:
    The world's largest tour operator, TUI has credited Jamaica's London Olympics dominance and the 'Jamaica House' impact, for the increase in UK arrivals to the island and the advent of the new Boeing 787 Dreamliner to the Caribbean.

Yesterday, Jamaica became the first country in the region to welcome the revolutionary aircraft through its partnership with Thomson Airways, a subsidiary of TUI Travel PLC.

The aircraft, which seats 291 passengers, touched down at the Sangster
    International Airport in Montego Bay, boosting hopes of access to parts of the world Jamaica has not tapped into.

"The Olympics had a real effect on customer demand from the UK. During the first few weeks of the competition, searches to Jamaica were up 32 per cent, they then continued to surge... peaking during your triple win in the 200m sprint final and when you smashed the 4 x 100m relay world record," TUI's head of external communications, UK and Ireland, Fiona Jennings, told the media during a reception at the airport.

"We have almost doubled the number of customers we have flown into the island since 2012 and are committed to continuing to expand both our beach and cruise programme from 2014," she stated, adding that as a result of the demand, from summer 2014, Thomson Airways will add another weekly flight to Jamaica, moving to five flights per week.

Her comments were bolstered by Minister of Tourism and Entertainment, Dr Wykeham McNeill.

He was particularly heartened by TUI's growth plan, which sees the tour operator having exclusive booking rights in the UK and Ireland, with a number of Jamaican hotels, including RIU Resorts and Couples Tower Isle and the new Royalton and Karisma properties which will open next month.

"TUI will also introduce a cruise ship, the Thomson Dream, the ship will call on two ports, Montego Bay and Falmouth, and will offer stay options which is expected to account for 30 per cent of their passengers," said McNeill.

http://rjrnewsonline.com/business/me...-says-minister

Tourist arrivals up - McNeil
    8:33 pm, Fri October 25, 2013

Dr. Wykeham McNeil - Gleaner file photo

Jamaica's tourism sector is reportedly experiencing a rebound that is expected to continue and reverse declining arrivals for this year. That update on the performance of the sector came from Tourism Minister Dr. Wykeham McNeil on Friday.

McNeil, at a press conference in Kingston, said there had been a decline in tourist arrivals for the year, up to August, a turnaround started in September and has continued into October.

The tourism minister revealed that, with the increases recorded in the last month and a half, total arrivals for the year has now surpassed 1.6 million visitors. That, he said, was up slightly over the figures for the corresponding period last year.

The forecast now is for arrivals to be up 5-6 percent this year in comparison to last year.

Dr. McNeil said there were positive signs from non -traditional markets, especially Russia, from which arrivals are expected to grow 40 percent for the upcoming winter tourist season.

The world's largest tour operator, TUI has credited Jamaica's London Olympics dominance and the 'Jamaica House' impact, for the increase in UK arrivals to the island...
    So di "shell dung di place" was not in vain!

Gwaan Crawford, eediat Crawford!

eediat is right ... heard a very very disappointing interview with him last evening with cliff hughes.....it was heartbreaking to rhatid. in a word him nuh get it and has an arrogance to with it. wrong and strong.

he was being interviewed about his teewt in respect on INDECOM ...

Or was it due to Bolt and the Athlete dem?

Render onto Caesar….

Don't give any creedence to the shell dung boondoggle.

eediat is right ... heard a very very disappointing interview with him last evening with cliff hughes.....it was heartbreaking to rhatid. in a word him nuh get it and has an arrogance to with it. wrong and strong.

he was being interviewed about his teewt in respect on INDECOM ...

Oh you heard it too? All along I was laughing as I recall Mosiah mentioning him as a future PM ... then again ....

So apart from the tweet, he's actually doing interviews and promoting his crap!? Maybe is a good thing mi never 'ear it!

As I said when the numbers is up I have no problem. This is forecasting but it looks better than last winter.

Now you see the importance of having the right seat and marketing????

Roads and new hotel don't neseccarily mean more tourists.

yes it was embarassing...

Sass you're addressing someone who knows the power of marketing...from the inside, not just yappin' about it

Now...can we get a GWAAN or not??

Bartlett had merely to whisper a proposal and that would induce a deluge of GWAANS fram yuh... Mi long fi dem kinda excitement

you spend your time discrediting the marketing job Bartlett did.

Instead of giving the man his credit your words were a the hotel and hiway built make the tourist came in the worst of recession when the rest of the Caribbean was seeing 5-25% decrease in tourism.

As I say when the numbers go up and not actual projection I will give his big up for that. what happen to Canada, South and Central America? are they still on the rise?

Bartlett was ok but did more yappin than anything else... Stewart even told him so

But I guess you fell in love with him anyway ... he merely had to make a proposal and you'd immediately issue profuse GWAANS

the stats is there to show and the record of you batting down everything he did.

The stats? LOL

The stats mi memba is di amount a love notes yuh post bout Bartlett

"We have almost doubled the number of customers we have flown into the island since 2012 and are committed to continuing to expand both our beach and cruise programme from 2014," she stated, adding that as a result of the demand, from summer 2014, Thomson Airways will add another weekly flight to Jamaica, moving to five flights per week."

What was the previous number of visitors from the UK to compare with?
                            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015