Help me understand dis thing

Correct.. I'm glad to see you finally mention ROI

Borrowing US$150 Million to "help" taxi drivers and trinket sellers and a few attraction owners has an extremely low ROI imho

But yuh free fi support dat if yuh want

"Borrowing US$150 Million to "help" taxi drivers and trinket sellers and a few attraction owners has an extremely low ROI imho

But yuh free fi support dat if yuh want "

Simple how you see it. Tourism is more than that, but if we fail to capitalize, just like how we fail to capitalize on the call centers and others, we can blame it on "tourism".

Imagine where our economy would be today without tourism.

Gotta tell ya... it's very frustrating reasoning with you and the tangential arguments you present

I already told you I support tourism... so your post is a non sequitur

I said GOJ borrowing US$150M mainly to assist taxi drivers, trinket sellers and a few businessmen has a low ROI... There are thousands of ways that money could be much better spent

If you choose to challenge that contention be my guest

You may support it, but some of your argument has been against it, talking bout trinkets and some of the other things I won't even mention.

LOL...so "some" of my arguments are against it?? So what?? I'm not a gladdis or a cheerleader for tourism.. I'm an analyst who finds some things good and some bad

Now please answer the question:

In one of the world's most indebted countries... is borrowing US$150m justifiable if it mainly benefits attraction owners and a few people selling trinkets and taxi rides?? Or could that money be better spent???

there is nothing to answer because your question is not reflecting a true picture.
              Maybe a rephrasing would get an answer.

there is nothing to answer because your question is not reflecting a true picture.
                Maybe a rephrasing would get an answer.
                I don't understand your difficulty .... but let me break it down another way

Imagine you are the PM in 2006-2010 responsible of course for ALL GOJ spending..and you're able to borrow US$150M to add to Jamaica's massive debt

Is there any better project with higher ROI on which to spend that US$150m other than a cruise port??

New concept for you:

"Not mutually exclusive..."

What are the projection for the return on the port???? Is the port suppose to be a catalyst for other things???

I see Marietta giving 360 million US dollar to get the Atlanta Braves Baseball team because they think it will develop the area and in turn make them money.

It is easy to say in a vacuum, but the most important thing is the return we are getting and the plan for the future. There are a lot more projects in Jamaica that we have invested in and got absolutely no returns from them. I would talk them on first rather than a Port that seems to be in use and growing, and brining some revenues and seem to have a future.

Your reasoning is poor.

How a country maximizes on its infrastructure (like ports) is a separate discussion from the actual infrastucture development..

Kinda like a North Coast 'Highway'..

Is ongly road yuh innah ?

=Assasin;457693]What are the projection for the return on the port???? Is the port suppose to be a catalyst for other things???
                        Projections are now irrelevant...we have the results in hand and they're **** poor.
                        I see Marietta giving 360 million US dollar to get the Atlanta Braves Baseball team because they think it will develop the area and in turn make them money.
                        Irrelevant... we're not discussing that market which is diametrically opposite to Jamaica
                        It is easy to say in a vacuum, but the most important thing is the return we are getting and the plan for the future. There are a lot more projects in Jamaica that we have invested in and got absolutely no returns from them. I would talk them on first rather than a Port that seems to be in use and growing, and brining some revenues and seem to have a future.
                        I asked a direct question... is there any other project with higher ROI that YOU would spend on it the stated timeframe... or would YOU do the port??

What is the interest rate on the North Coast Highway money dat yuh champion ?

What is the interest rate on the Falmouth Pier money ?

North Coast Highway...

Dunno...but..

Irrelevant... diffrant argument dat.

What is the ROI on the North Coast Hiway and the other ones?