Help me understand dis thing

For the size of the economy, not enough people speak Japanese.

Jamaica could start there but at a very early age.

It look suh fi real....dem a colt dem ownah game!

You looking at it the wrong way. My thrust is about what Japan can do to shore up dem case, not what Jamaica needs to do (we know that faling from long time).

Japan should start by sponsoring free Japanese lessons in pilot schools in Jamaica!

Wow, good read. I agree with most of what they say. Jawge whe you deh? Japan? LOL.

Ours is a tale of 2 cultures. One is rich, exciting and loved by the world. The other is self-destructive and counter-productive. Sadly, the latter has caused us to benefit very little from the former in any tangible way.

I hope they find a way to contribute to JAs development in some way.They should have much to offer.

These realize that it's uncommon sense...not rocket science

"Some people think that it's impossible to save Jamaica, but what we need to do is encourage children to stay in school. We need to make school attractive and feasible for them to get an education in the field that they want to study," said Brown. "Everybody has a part to play in society. We just need an opportunity to play that part.

"And another thing that is wrong with our education system in Jamaica is that we force people to swat and regurgitate information. That's a contributor to the problem. We need to teach students how to think."
            Yes... this is the 1960's School's Challenge/Standardized Test model that Jamaicans are enamored with

Time to enter Century 21 with applications & tech based teaching/learning modules that kids thrive in .... fortunately the more evolved are creating pathways for that to occur
            "It's right there: 'give us vision lest we perish'. We sing it every day but we don't see that that's what we are lacking — vision," emphasised 25-year-old Mario Walker, who is pursuing a master's degree in mechanic and aerospace engineering at Tokyo Institute of Technology.

"We Jamaicans are always thinking about the low-hanging fruit, the quick money, quick results. Everybody wants to cut corners. And that can't work.

Without a vision we must perish," continued an equally expressive Kevin Brown, 27, Walker's schoolmate, who is pursuing a master's and PhD degrees in computer science
            Vision is key.... while most are stuck in the 20th Century.... how many will be bold and insightful enuff to tackle what's needed in this century?

Unfortunately too few buy into the appropriate vision at the moment

It look suh fi real....dem a colt dem ownah game!
              If di Termite dem did smart dem wudda develop one project fi put robotics & CAD software labs inna 100 high and 100 primary schools... an mek di Jap dem fund dat.

One likkle US$50m spend like dat wudda revolutionize education widin 10 years.. afta dat all Intel ar Toshiba might waan set up one big chip factory ah yaad

Without vision the people shall perish.. or continue to run afta fat tourists fi sell dem taxi rides or assorted trinkets

That is eventually where I want to go. Di tician dem really lack vision. is like dem want we haffi guh dung deh and show dem how fi dweet!

Japan inna one tight spot as the Chiney dem outmanoeuver dem. Jamaica in the cat bird seat and should be playing dem like a figgle!

Simply whisper in di nip dem ears seh wi empathize wid dem plight and we beleive in free and fair competition, and as such we are committed to partner with them on this red mud thing, BUT one hand cant clap so we need a likkle USD$50m INVESTMENT in tecknikal eddikashun to partner up with them long term, cause we dont want to over-rely on the Chinese...hint, hint, hint. Force the Japanese into seeing the whole realpolitik thing.

Cho man, it nuh hard, is like our peeps dont understand ring-craft and stragedy??? LoL

You looking at it the wrong way.

Japan should start by sponsoring free Japanese lessons in pilot schools in Jamaica!
                  What is Jamaica's part in this? Example:Criteria for pilot schools?

That is clear, but i wanted to explore Japan's inaction first!

That is eventually where I want to go. Di tician dem really lack vision. is like dem want we haffi guh dung deh and show dem how fi dweet!

Japan inna one tight spot as the Chiney dem outmanoeuver dem. Jamaica in the cat bird seat and should be playing dem like a figgle!

Simply whisper in di nip dem ears seh wi empathize wid dem plight and we beleive in free and fair competition, and as such we are committed to partner with them on this red mud thing, BUT one hand cant clap so we need a likkle USD$50m INVESTMENT in tecknikal eddikashun to partner up with them long term, cause we dont want to over-rely on the Chinese...hint, hint, hint. Force the Japanese into seeing the whole realpolitik thing.

Cho man, it nuh hard, is like our peeps dont understand ring-craft and stragedy??? LoL
                      yuhseeit

DRAM's days numbered

http://elb01-2039628332.us-west-2.el...mes-in-on-MRAM
                        November 24, 2013 2:00 am JST
                        DRAM's days numbered as Japan-US chip alliance homes in on MRAM

TOKYO (Nikkei) -- More than 20 Japanese and U.S. semiconductor-related companies are teaming up to develop a mass production method for next-generation memory chips. For the average consumer, it boils down to this: Mobile devices will get a lot faster.

On the Japanese side, the project will involve major players like Tokyo Electron, the world's third-biggest manufacturer of chipmaking equipment; Shin-Etsu Chemical, the top silicon wafer maker: chipmaker Renesas Electronics; and electronics conglomerate Hitachi. On the American side, a key participant will be Micron Technology, the world's No. 2 producer of DRAM chips -- the current standard.

The companies will dispatch a few dozen researchers to Tohoku University in northern Japan. Led by Tetsuo Endoh, a professor at the university, the team will start development in February. The plan is to encourage other U.S. and European companies to join the project as well.

The new type of memory is called magnetoresistive random access memory, or MRAM. It offers 10 times the capacity and 10 times the writing speed of DRAM, as dynamic random access memory is known.

MRAM also sucks one-third the amount of power. Installing it in smartphones and tablet computers would significantly improve performance and, in the case of the phones, increase standby time from dozens of hours to a few hundred.

By coming together on the basics -- materials, circuit line width, fabrication processes -- the companies aim to accelerate development and cement the technology by the fiscal year through March 2017. Micron hopes to be using the group's mass production method by 2018.

The beginning of the MRAM era looks like a matter of time. Japan's Toshiba is also working on the technology with South Korea's SK Hynix; Samsung Electronics is pushing ahead with MRAM, too.

Micron also has Japan's Elpida Memory under its umbrella. All told, chipmakers controlling 90% of the global market are shifting to MRAM.

Originally posted by world fan View Post
                          http://elb01-2039628332.us-west-2.el...mes-in-on-MRAM
                          November 24, 2013 2:00 am JST
                          DRAM's days numbered as Japan-US chip alliance homes in on MRAM

TOKYO (Nikkei) -- More than 20 Japanese and U.S. semiconductor-related companies are teaming up to develop a mass production method for next-generation memory chips. For the average consumer, it boils down to this: Mobile devices will get a lot faster.

On the Japanese side, the project will involve major players like Tokyo Electron, the world's third-biggest manufacturer of chipmaking equipment; Shin-Etsu Chemical, the top silicon wafer maker: chipmaker Renesas Electronics; and electronics conglomerate Hitachi. On the American side, a key participant will be Micron Technology, the world's No. 2 producer of DRAM chips -- the current standard.

The companies will dispatch a few dozen researchers to Tohoku University in northern Japan. Led by Tetsuo Endoh, a professor at the university, the team will start development in February. The plan is to encourage other U.S. and European companies to join the project as well.

The new type of memory is called magnetoresistive random access memory, or MRAM. It offers 10 times the capacity and 10 times the writing speed of DRAM, as dynamic random access memory is known.

MRAM also sucks one-third the amount of power. Installing it in smartphones and tablet computers would significantly improve performance and, in the case of the phones, increase standby time from dozens of hours to a few hundred.

By coming together on the basics -- materials, circuit line width, fabrication processes -- the companies aim to accelerate development and cement the technology by the fiscal year through March 2017. Micron hopes to be using the group's mass production method by 2018.

The beginning of the MRAM era looks like a matter of time. Japan's Toshiba is also working on the technology with South Korea's SK Hynix; Samsung Electronics is pushing ahead with MRAM, too.

Micron also has Japan's Elpida Memory under its umbrella. All told, chipmakers controlling 90% of the global market are shifting to MRAM.
                          Extremely significant developments...

But oh well... we create nothing but trinkets but I'm sure we'll strive to borrow the FX so we can buy the shiny new mobile computers so we can yap about how noice they are

Check out Japan and China's tourism industry. You think man can live by "Chips" alone???

With all the development, all these countries still pushing tourism, a wonder why??

Check out Japan and China's tourism industry. You think man can live by "Chips" alone???

With all the development, all these countries still pushing tourism, a wonder why??
                              You misunderstand my position so I'll clarify in macroeconomic terms

1. I support a diversified economy INCLUDING tourism. I support a tourism industry which can provide maximum benefits to the nation

2. Our tourism product is deformed... an example is our borrowing massive amounts of FX used to subsidize private capitalists in low value added production for workers (AKA trinkets/tickets/cab rides) but big profits for a few businesspeople. That means low ROI on the PUBLIC DEBT... a double negative

Businesses should be weaned off public money and incentivized to use their own capital... that's how capitalism should work

3. #2 above means I support a progressive tourism industry...and am critical of the regressive tourism industry Jamaica has.

I don't see why I shouldn't criticize deficiencies in tourism or anything else

4. Jamaica doesn't have a "tech" industry which of course can provide massive benefits and is a key to survival in this century .... so I support creating such an industry by laying the groundwork via developing the interest & skills in our children

5. Costa Rica is a good model for JA...they have a thriving, progressive tourism sector AND a thriving, progressive tech sector led by Intel Corp with many other tech firms following.
                              That process starts with having an appropriately educated workforce with an aptitude for tech skills

I trust this will allow you to understand my position and not view it simplistically as "anti-tourism"..... it's actually anti-backwardness and pro-development
                              Last edited by Don1; December 11, 2013, 11:09 AM.

Government have to provide some assistance to tourism industry, just like they do for other industries. How much they do is up to ROI and how important they see it. They will have to support the tech sector too, they will have to make concessions and give incentives as well. I am sure Costa Rica does too.

The fact that our government don't do it right doesn't mean we have to constantly batter the tourism industry which is providing jobs and livelywood.
                                The tech industry comes with some tourism as well.