Help me understand dis thing

• Help me understand dis thing

China is wifeing up the rare earth minerals and Japan is panic is looking everywhere, right.

Dem find a potentiall huge source in the red mud lake and are so sceretive, dem cancel media tour of the pilot plant.

OK then, if Jamaica is Japana's saving grace for the future of Japana's electronics bizniz, where then is the LOVE? I mean, how is Japan NOT the biggest investor in Jamica, grabbing at every opportunity to "free" wi
    up?

I mean China is HUGE in Jamaica and set to get bigger, with a virtual naval base about to be set up offshore. So how Japan a form di fool suh? Dem nuh see the potential of China disrupting this future supply source by simply, BUYING out Jamaica? Dem nuh understand that withing 5 years, China will have effective economic veto power in Jamaica at least against Japan. Dem nuh understand ringcraft, and "stragedy"??

Mi lose off ah Japan big time.

Japan just a try a thing of late, but is like dem dont know the mantra...seek a fren before you need one!

Mi nu tink di geopolitics run suh fi yaad

Uncle Sam still run di cut... a simple likkle ting like visa ar remittance restrictions wudda mek any JA govt flop... intamede

Look pon Driva... di mere appearance dat im a defy di US ova one likkle dutty criminal get persons excited an mek dat flop (well wi nuh know wha else di US did threaten dat wid)

China and moreso Japan nuh reddy fi dis ballgame yet
      Last edited by Don1; November 8, 2013, 01:34 PM.

Di new CIA Op... I mean Ambassador reach yet ??

mi nuh know

Ja hot yah right now.

All Samsung ah sponsah Cup now.

David Fitton CMG has been appointed British High Commissioner to Jamaica in succession to Howard Drake, who is transferred to another Diplomatic Service appointment.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2kB880I4K

She extended an invitation to Abe to visit Jamaica, saying that such a decision will help to lure Japanese visitors to the Caribbean nation.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2kB68ngC0

He said that his main objective was to increase cooperation between both countries and to educate Jamaicans on Jamaica/China relations.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2kB6TtSCJ

Tek Uncle Sam outta dis.

I refer only to the Sino-Nippon manoeuvers for a strategic asset supply.

Yuh zimmi!

Japan need to step it up or get cut out!

Jamaica set to spoil China strnglehold plans for Japan??? But China is our bigger padnah! What Japan a do for us???

Tek Uncle Sam outta dis.

I refer only to the Sino-Nippon manoeuvers for a strategic asset supply.
                  Ok but the rare metal project has just started and it's not yet established that it will scale up cost-effectively to industrial production

But an increased Nipponese interest in JA is obviously the reason for the recent Termite visit to Japan

Patience GrassHoppa

Really? Yuh not using yuh mind, yuh using yuh eyes.

Ja needs to step up

Give us vision lest we perish

J’can students in Japan say solution to country’s problems is in our National Anthem
                      BY COREY ROBINSON Sunday Observer staff reporter robinsonc@jamaicaobserver.com

Sunday, November 10, 2013

J'can students in Japan say solution to country's problems is in our National Anthem

TOKYO, Japan — Two Jamaican students studying here believe they have found the solution to Jamaica's problems in the island's National Anthem.

Kevin Brown (left) and Mario Walker. (PHOTO: COREY ROBINSON)

"It's right there: 'give us vision lest we perish'. We sing it every day but we don't see that that's what we are lacking — vision," emphasised 25-year-old Mario Walker, who is pursuing a master's degree in mechanic and aerospace engineering at Tokyo Institute of Technology.

"We Jamaicans are always thinking about the low-hanging fruit, the quick money, quick results. Everybody wants to cut corners. And that can't work.

Without a vision we must perish," continued an equally expressive Kevin Brown, 27, Walker's schoolmate, who is pursuing a master's and PhD degrees in computer science. Both young men, who attended Wolmer's Boys School in Kingston, have been living in Japan just over a year after accepting an international scholarship offered by the Japanese Government under the Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT) programme.

The scholarship covers their tuition fees and also provides them with a stipend equivalent to J$100,000 monthly, they said.

Their theory about Jamaica's problems never came over night.
                      In fact, they realised it only while trying to adopt to the Japanese culture, freeing themselves of the debilitating mindset they described as common among Jamaicans.

"There is a mindset that you get living on an island where you are cut off from the rest of the world, especially when you are living in a third world society," said Brown. "It's that Jamaica pride that says 'wi likkle but we tallawah'. It is saying that you're great. But how can you say that you're great when you're not comparing yourself to anyone?"

Because of this, Jamaicans tend to rebel whenever something is not the way they are accustomed to or if it is not how they think that it should be, Brown explained.

"It's debilitating in a significant way. You tend to think that your problems are unique and are more difficult than anyone else, when they are not. If you break out of that mindset you find that you can solve your problems far easier," Brown continued.

Such a mindset is what hampers the 'vision' of Jamaicans: from the youth on the corner to the man on the street, and even the politicians, he said.

Both Walker and Brown are quick to confess that they, too, struggled with this way of thinking. After all, they are products of inner-city communities where the mindset is prevalent.

Walker is from the Molynes Road area, while Brown grew up in Arnett Gardens.

Both men shook their heads, and with a doomed look on their faces, reflected on the lives of the friends they left behind in those communities.

"Many of them would never try to do what we are doing. Them can't deal with it, and it is because of the same mindset I am talking about," Walker continued, noting that it is common for Jamaicans to brand persons who leave the island to live abroad as sell-outs.

Before taking up the Japan offer, Brown graduated from the University of Technology with an upper-second class honours BSc in computing and information technology, while Walker graduated from the St Augustine Campus of the University of the West Indies in Trinidad.

They both held low-paying jobs after completing college but said that they had a desire to further their studies. It was for that reason that they decided to apply for the scholarship. Brown was informed about it by a friend, while Walker was prompted to apply by his father.

According to the two, there is a stark difference between Jamaican and Japanese cultures, and the culture shock is most intense after the first couple of weeks here. The language is also another challenge, especially when they attempt to use ATMs, despite some of the options being stated in English, and in some classes.

Also, unlike the dorms at major universities in Jamaica, students do not have the freedom to do as they please in dorm rooms at Tokyo Institute of Technology as those are strictly for sleeping, and certain public spaces are closed after hours.

Classes are taught in both English and Japanese, and in some cases students are required to be inside laboratories from sunrise till dusk.

But adapting to such a rigid and different routine forges character, they said. It teaches values that cannot be readily realised while remaining in Jamaica.

The first thing that popped out at them was how clean Japan is. And unlike Jamaica where there are little boundaries as it concerns interpersonal relationships, in Japan social structures must be respected.

One's closeness to a person and the length of time that they have known each other must somehow come into play whenever they interact.

These stark differences have aided Walker and Brown to better understand themselves as individuals, broadened their horizons, afforded them a different perspective of the world, and equipped them with the ability to look at issues through other people's eyes.

"Some people think that it's impossible to save Jamaica, but what we need to do is encourage children to stay in school. We need to make school attractive and feasible for them to get an education in the field that they want to study," said Brown. "Everybody has a part to play in society. We just need an opportunity to play that part.

"And another thing that is wrong with our education system in Jamaica is that we force people to swat and regurgitate information. That's a contributor to the problem. We need to teach students how to think."

Brown said he is not sure what he wants to do with his life after college, but whatever it is must contribute to Jamaica's development in the long run.
                      Walker, however, said he would like to one day return home and start his own business

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2kGqgxhat
                      Last edited by Karl; November 10, 2013, 03:24 PM.

Is like you dont understand...I didnt say US dont have a say. I said, if you take them outta dis, how do you analyse the asia-asia play?

Awright, yuh site up di rake, but dont U agree Japan too slow off the mark????

Cho, dat is clear, but take that as a given, I am still trying to elicit feedback on Sino-Nippon strategem!

The stakes are VERY high.

Awright, yuh site up di rake, but dont U agree Japan too slow off the mark????
                              Jap dem nuh ave di money...nor di strategic vision like di Chiney dem

Jap dem ah still one US-occupied vassal state