• No Reparations - British Minister

http://go-jamaica.com/news/read_article.php?id=49111
    No Reparations - British Minister with responsibility for the Caribbean

2013-11-07 07:47:10 | (0 Comments)

The new British Minister with responsibility for the Caribbean, Mark Simmonds, has dampened the hopes of local reparation agitators clamouring for compensation for slavery.

Simmonds said instead of focusing on reparations, the United Kingdom is keen on assisting Jamaica revitalise its economic base.

He said while his country decried the acts of slavery past and present, he could not countenance compensation for human atrocities committed two centuries ago.

"Clearly slavery was abhorrent, slavery still is abhorrent and we all need to work together to ensure that we eradicate it in totality wherever it exists" said Simmonds.

"Do I think that we are in a position where we can financially to offer compensation for events that happened two, three hundred years ago? No I don't and I think we've got to focus on where our commonalities agree and I think that is eradicating slavery as it exists today, also building on the importance of driving the economy and economic development and economic growth."

Simmonds emphasised that the United Kingdom’s rejection of the scourge was reflected in its relentless lobby for the framework set up by the United Nation to eradicate modern day slavery.

Meanwhile, he had more positive words for Jamaica on the proposed logistics hub and other economic-oriented endeavours.

He said he thought the UK could assist the government to diversify the Jamaican economy as that is its particular area of expertise.

Simmonds was speaking at a press conference yesterday during his first trip to the island.

Well I stand by what I said before. If reparations then you weren't the ones that built the Pyramids.

Britain could easily pay it to Ja but the money would not flow back to England base on Ja's economy present state. Had it been in the 69s yes pay it as all would go back to England. Ja at present is similar to a basket all that money would just leave the island in a hurry.

How you know they can easily pay?

Dem nuh supposed to be half bruk?

Pay one , pay all, Africa, Carribbean and Asia.Better we argue for preferntial trade terms in the commonwealth to justify this abomination.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Because you are using your eyes and not your mind. Bruk? "don't let them fool yuh nor even try to school yuh"

London is not England…Yes I mean what I say. Go on a fantastic voyage and you will over stand what I am saying.

London,the Vatican and Columbia are indeed independent..
              But then England too isn't a country,more like the Queen's back yard.
              She is faaaaar from broke.
              Reparation by way of debt forgiveness,free movement,and assistance by way of modernization.Something better than nothing.

Rocky good points, but these guys have been doing business when most of the world was still herding sheep and shooting partridge. You have to show them how it will benefit them, other than that you are just another lazy beggar.

Columbia or DC?

London is the evolution of the Lombardy bankers.