What's the fuss about?
Published: Monday | November 4, 2013 0 Comments
Daviot Kelly
1 2 >
Now, I'm all of the belief that every man is entitled to his own castle and kingdom, but there are some things I don't get.
Recently, I was in a section of rural St Andrew, where apparently gangs are fighting over turf. Now I point back to my statement at the beginning.
But I've always wondered why the 'turf' these gangs often fight over, aren't blessed with any riches. Okay, they may be outside of the hustle of town centres, but they're not considered prime real estate. In other words, you and I given the choice, nah live deh!
And I get even more confused when we get into the inner cities. Men from this lane, in a war with men from that road or that avenue. But I always ask myself, what kind of turf is that? The houses are dilapidated, the basic utilities for human survival are often limited (if they are available at all) and the only use these places have is to make backdrops for music videos about 'ghetto life' and 'trying to make it out of the struggle'. The roads are terrible, green stuff growing in the gullies (and is not flowers) and as a drop a rain fall, everybody flood out!
no value
THIS is the turf you're killing each other for? Huh? I can understand fighting over more affluent places like Norbrook, Waterworks, Beverly Hills, Reading and Ironshore (both MoBay), Tryall (Hanover) and West End (Negril). At least, homes and land in these parts are blessed with all the amenities you desire. Plus, you require US money if you're going to purchase them, so you know it's a big deal. So how about you numbskulls trade your weapons (which value more than the houses you're firing them from) for shovels, brooms and wheelbarrows to clean up the communities? Now that would be smart.
When the (fictional name) Hotta Fiyah Gang erases members of the Lizard Tail Gang, who wins? The funeral homes, for sure. The mosquitoes and flies lingering from the garbage and sewage will simply bite whoever is left. But then again, if these 'shottas' did fight over the aforementioned luscious lands associated with upper-class Jamaica, they would wreck the places for sure. By the time they're done with them, the place will look like some of the lesser-valued areas they currently inhabit. And that would leave Jamaica looking like one, big, black eye.
Speaking of wars and their effects, this Sunday is Remembrance Day where we salute the military veterans who sacrificed much (for some this meant their lives) during World Wars I and II. The Poppy Appeal, which is the major fundraising activity to support the ex-servicemen, is in its final week. Give generously nuh, please? Respect.
Try and take my turf at daviot.kelly@gleanerjm.com
Published: Monday | November 4, 2013 0 Comments
Daviot Kelly
1 2 >
Now, I'm all of the belief that every man is entitled to his own castle and kingdom, but there are some things I don't get.
Recently, I was in a section of rural St Andrew, where apparently gangs are fighting over turf. Now I point back to my statement at the beginning.
But I've always wondered why the 'turf' these gangs often fight over, aren't blessed with any riches. Okay, they may be outside of the hustle of town centres, but they're not considered prime real estate. In other words, you and I given the choice, nah live deh!
And I get even more confused when we get into the inner cities. Men from this lane, in a war with men from that road or that avenue. But I always ask myself, what kind of turf is that? The houses are dilapidated, the basic utilities for human survival are often limited (if they are available at all) and the only use these places have is to make backdrops for music videos about 'ghetto life' and 'trying to make it out of the struggle'. The roads are terrible, green stuff growing in the gullies (and is not flowers) and as a drop a rain fall, everybody flood out!
no value
THIS is the turf you're killing each other for? Huh? I can understand fighting over more affluent places like Norbrook, Waterworks, Beverly Hills, Reading and Ironshore (both MoBay), Tryall (Hanover) and West End (Negril). At least, homes and land in these parts are blessed with all the amenities you desire. Plus, you require US money if you're going to purchase them, so you know it's a big deal. So how about you numbskulls trade your weapons (which value more than the houses you're firing them from) for shovels, brooms and wheelbarrows to clean up the communities? Now that would be smart.
When the (fictional name) Hotta Fiyah Gang erases members of the Lizard Tail Gang, who wins? The funeral homes, for sure. The mosquitoes and flies lingering from the garbage and sewage will simply bite whoever is left. But then again, if these 'shottas' did fight over the aforementioned luscious lands associated with upper-class Jamaica, they would wreck the places for sure. By the time they're done with them, the place will look like some of the lesser-valued areas they currently inhabit. And that would leave Jamaica looking like one, big, black eye.
Speaking of wars and their effects, this Sunday is Remembrance Day where we salute the military veterans who sacrificed much (for some this meant their lives) during World Wars I and II. The Poppy Appeal, which is the major fundraising activity to support the ex-servicemen, is in its final week. Give generously nuh, please? Respect.
Try and take my turf at daviot.kelly@gleanerjm.com