Wow I finally got to read a

• Wow I finally got to read a

well written article in the Gleaner. An introduction, Body (peppered with citations) and a conclusion. No big words,just simple words which made me grasp the point quickly. I was able to go through this article very quickly (in the info age this necessary as one is bombarded with tons of info) .

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...us/focus3.html

I can't tell you how many times I swear not to read another article in the gleaner or the Observer. I said I will just look at pictures (something extra et al). Someone came along and made my day. This is a rare sighting

Hope to see more from this writer. I don't even care at this point to worry whether I agree or disagree.

well written article in the Gleaner. An introduction, Body (peppered with citations) and a conclusion. No big words,just simple words which made me grasp the point quickly. I was able to go through this article very quickly (in the info age this necessary as one is bombarded with tons of info) .

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...us/focus3.html

I can't tell you how many times I swear not to read another article in the gleaner or the Observer. I said I will just look at pictures (something extra et al). Someone came along and made my day. This is a rare sighting

Hope to see more from this writer. I don't even care at this point to worry whether I agree or disagree.
    Yes this is an excellent article (in the Jamaican context)

It highlights how backward 99% of Jamaicans are in assessing education. (along with most everything else)

Jamaicans have a mid-20th Century approach to education focused on celebrating so called "traditional high schools" and outcomes in ill-conceived standardized testing.... in an environment where the social dysfunctions of society condemn 85% of the school cohort to substandard schooling

Past time to enter Century 21 with a more effective model.... optimizing merit, balanced resource allocation and an applications based tech focus

However people would need to remove their heads from their a$$es first.... and that's probably too big an ask

an England education nuh wuk suh; wi jus love old bakra style

Originally posted by 1of1 View Post
        an England education nuh wuk suh; wi jus love old bakra style
        YES

Quarter Of High School Graduates Leave With Only Attendance Record - Education Minister

Published: Sunday November 3, 2013 | 12:26 pm0 Comments

Ronald Thwaites, minister of education. File
          Education Minister Ronald Thwaites says a quarter of high school graduates leave school with only a certificate of attendance.

Speaking at the University of Technology’s inaugural Education Day Exposition late last week, Thwaites lamented that, to some extent, education is being taken for granted by society.

The education minister says if the country is to fulfil its development goals, more people must take education seriously.

He says a large number of those who attend universities do not make the best use of the systems in place.

He warned that if education is not treated as a first priority, individually and collectively as a nation, nothing else is going to work.

Quarter Of High School Graduates Leave With Only Attendance Record - Education Minister

Education Minister Ronald Thwaites says a quarter of high school graduates leave school with only a certificate of attendance.

Speaking at the University of Technology’s inaugural Education Day Exposition late last week, Thwaites lamented that, to some extent, education is being taken for granted by society.

The education minister says if the country is to fulfil its development goals, more people must take education seriously.

He says a large number of those who attend universities do not make the best use of the systems in place.

He warned that if education is not treated as a first priority, individually and collectively as a nation, nothing else is going to work.
            joke ting

Good post, sah!

Very articulate and passionate speaker. She was on morning TV here a lot. Don't know if I agree with all her philosophy of teaching and the boy vs girl brain growth. I guess it could be explained away with 'bright since mi born'.

Nice one..

One definition of madness is doing the same thing over and over but yet expecting a different result.

Another good point is that the most dangerous thing is formerly good policy that has become outdated and detrimental. Policy must be constantly reviewed for relevance. Jamaica is VERY poor at that. Change can be good!

...and the question being asked is, why are our schools marring our kids?
                    Talent Abounds!!!!
                    Develop it, nuh!
                    Pleeeeeeeeeeeeease...we beg?

Don't know the boy vs girl brain growth... some say they just develop at different rates depending on age. Bottom line is we all have the same brain unless you were dropped on your head as a child and in theory we all have the same brain power.

The myelin thickens and allows for faster transfer of information the more it does... it thickens with more use... so if you lazy or just lack motivation the brain will not develop as it could... I've read a book or two on this plus her Piaget and other educational psychologists.

Anyway, we would also do well to look at what the Finns have done and are doing with their educational system.

No need to get personal, PR!

Don't know the boy vs girl brain growth... some say they just develop at different rates depending on age. Bottom line is we all have the same brain unless you were dropped on your head as a child and in theory we all have the same brain power.

The myelin thickens and allows for faster transfer of information the more it does... it thickens with more use... so if you lazy or just lack motivation the brain will not develop as it could... I've read a book or two on this plus her Piaget and other educational psychologists.

Anyway, we would also do well to look at what the Finns have done and are doing with their educational system.
                          The brains of males and females process info differently.... especially in space & time & emotional dimensions (so pretty much in every way)

talk to any woman fi 5 seconds fi find out