Such a shame, no Reggae concerts in ATL

so what is your point???? and explain how is it irrelevant???

thanks in advance.
    Put on your missing thinking cap then peruse my original post on the matter

If after doing that you still cannot discern my point... I cannot further assist with your comprehension deficit .

so what is your point???? and explain how is it irrelevant???

thanks in advance.
      Assasin, why are you so gullible

Ignore, ignore ignore!!

Very confusing at first.

It takes time to understand it.

Yes Peach this, peach that...

In order to be backwater you have to compare with the modern world, and if NY is not modern then figet it. You certainly have no point.

So to compare the two entities you cite what you believe to be a declining ethnic radio market in NYC?

Are you daft?

Assasin, why are you so gullible

Ignore, ignore ignore!!
              LOL... mi belly!

Well Beres was in ATL recently. Maybe you are not listening to "You've got mail"

Who is discussing decline in ethinic radio????

that is certainly not declining in ATL. Reggae Radio is, and I am telling you NY Reggae Radio is just a little better, thanks to Mr. Oshannessy.

Assasin
                    New York not much better. How many reggae station you have other than the Oshannessey owned one in 9.35? What a day when him sell.
                    It seems you don't know what you're discussing

Whatever may be the state of Atlanta or NYC reggae radio...it has no bearing on Atlanta being a backwater...in my opinion

You are free to disagree with my backwater analysis though... it's merely my opinion

Greetings HL. There is no doubt that the number of quality reggae shows/events in ATL has declined. The 3 largest events for the year were Luciano & Pluto at Jerk Fest / Beres, Maxi, Etana and Alison Hinds at Wolf Creek / Sanchez, John Holt, Leroy Sibbles, Barrington Levy & Fab Five at Atlanta Civic Center. Other shows throughout the year featured Junior Reid, Lady Saw, Glen Washington, I-Octane at smaller venues mainly in the Stone Mountain area of the city. Black Uhuru will be at Variety Playhouse next week, Tarrus Riley is at Atrium tonight, Sizzla and Capleton in the weeks ahead (separate shows).
                      Venues like Tabernacle, Center Stage, Masquerade, and Variety feature reggae shows fairly regularly. Symphony Hall, Philips Area, and the Fox not reggae yet :-) but maybe one day. Economics usually determine the level of the shows and venues. Of course some of the folks with the tons and tons of disposable income either in lock down and laying low. For the average production company doing a show is often cost prohibitive. Added to the fact that a lot of these artists cannot even pull dem Granny out to see them. Respect Star

Most of the same shows that keep in NY, run in ATL so how does it help your analysis? When people are on tour, Atlanta is the biggest city in the South and is usually on most tours so gwaan fool yourself.

Sass is absolutely correct. There isn't a reggae/Caribbean radio station in the city to pull the Caribbean population together. We have pirate stations with limited reach and clarity, brokered AM stations with limited reach and weekly reggae radio programs. Atlanta is the number 8 or 9 media market in the country and the media prices reflect that.

BTW Sass thanks for the big up.

First: Ambassadah, you are a fountain of good information!!

Second: I went to the Jerk festival in September. Got there about 1-2 bells . Saw folks leaving because of the rain; so I decided to make a U-Turn. Rain or shine i will be there next year.

Many thanks for the info. on Reggae Concerts. I now know--not to depend on my weekly email from Ticketmaster for info. on Reggae concerts. You and Assasin are just a phone call away.

Atlanta, GREAT City!!!
                            Last edited by HL; November 1, 2013, 04:04 PM.

Ok then I see your feelings are hurt....Let's say that Atlanta is one of the great centers of civilization... in the US South

Respect Star. Bwoy those were some serious thunder storms. Vendor tents blow weh, JTB sponsor tent blow weh and wash weh. One vendor seh her tent took flight and her jerk chicken, rice and every thing wet up. Dat sound a way.
                                Despite all of that we have approximately 12,000 people in attendance. We have to give thanks because it could have been an absolute disaster. Look forward to seeing you at Jerk Fest 2014 Sunday August 31.