• Historia, Who is on Congas?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jTbvJ-bYPh8

I think the more important question is who is the man in the b a t t y rider shorts on guitar?
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Re: Who is on Congas?

TDowl, boss, I apologize for this late reply. I just came online and saw your query.

On those occasions that I have thought of the 1960s/1970s group, Eric Burdon and War, their hit “Slipping Into Darkness” never fails to pop into my mind.

(In the case of Eric Burdon, I still recall, as a youngster, listening and playing to his recording of “House of the Rising Sun” with his British group, Eric Burdon and the Animals.) I have never made a connection with his being a member of War, an American band, and his British background.

Now, I’m not sure why you asked the question about the conga player, as his name (Papa Dee Allen) is clearly stated in the YouTube video info. I have never heard of Papa Dee; does he have a Jamaican connection?

Actually, I know very few conga players. Aside from the great Larry McDonald and Peru’s Alex Acuna (two of the most recorded conga players in the jazz world of the 1960s and 1970s), I am acquainted with almost no conga players.

By the way....

By the way, TDowl, I must say a genuine “Thank you” to posters like you and (believe it or not!!) X for introducing me to really great recorded music that I wasn’t aware of!

Much respect, boss!

I think the more important question is who is the man in the b a t t y rider shorts on guitar?
          whatt? you like him?

Sarry Jangle, I could not help it...