Street Food Anyone?
leochen24551
6:44 AM EST
First, I couldn't bring myself to watch the video, since I eat a lot of Chinese food both here and overseas. And I have a very sensitive imagination. And I assume that this video left nothing to the imagination.
This is my Taiwan food poisoning/diarrhea story. Once upon a time -- yes, it happened only once -- I got food poisoning in the worst, Worst way. Since I had only dined at Taipei upscale restaurants in the past couple of days, I wondered how I could have gotten food poisoning.
It came to me that this was summer and while I was in air conditioned comfort in the dining room, that the kitchen was probably in the 100's. Fresh meats and vegetables left out for even 15 minutes will start to -- get ready for this -- decompose and create toxins and bacteria that cooking will not destroy.
Thus, eating at high end restaurants did not safeguard me from getting violently ill. [Even McDonald's gets really hot back in the kitchen area.]
My take? I practice safe food handling practices at home. And I use pressure cooking vs. slow cookers -- which can reach temperatures of as low as 190 degrees which is far lower than the 212 temperature of boiling water. Pressure cooking temperatures reach 250 degrees -- autoclave temperatures.
· Reply · Share · Report Abuse
Andrea Leong
10:01 AM EST
Bacterial food poisoning is a numbers game. 10 Salmonella bacteria? No problem. 1000? Probably going to lose a day to the bathroom. 100,000? Enteric fever time.
Only some bacteria produce toxins, and only some of those toxins will remain intact after cooking. But of course that's no consolation to anyone who does get sick.
190degreesF should be entirely safe as long as everything reaches that temperature --- proteins will be knackered. The exception is if the food was contaminated with spores (quite unlike the the fungal kind) of spore-forming bacteria (e.g. Bacillus cereus). These impervious capsules can withstand boiling, and are in fact activated by it --- the bacterium will start growing once the environment cools down to a comfortable temperature (below 100). Again, though, someone sickened by B.cereus won't be consoled by knowing how unlikely their illness was.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
jonwil
10/29/2013 9:11 PM EST
Unfortunately the video makes the claims but it doesn't substantiate the sale. Would have been better if they followed the process with the same people right through to the sale in my opinion.
Liked by 1 reader
· Reply · Share · Report Abuse
zephon-baal
10/29/2013 10:42 PM EST
Like most of Max Fisher's writings substantiation and fact checking are not done.
You cannot trust a thing he says about China.
He has a mission to be the American propaganda mouthpiece aimed at making China look bad to the world.
Food for the sheep out there.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015