• Sexually active from primary school

Sexually active from first form, primary school

Monday, October 28, 2013

A 17-year-old boy last week held listeners at a United Nations Day function spellbound, saying carnal abuse was rampant in his community, in the face of little or no intervention from the State and its agents.

"Of those who graduated from high school with me, I can count on my two hands those who are not parents," he told the gathering at The Courtleigh Hotel.

The boy, whose identity is being withheld and who is a sixth-former at top Kingston high school, St George's College, blamed the incidence of carnal abuse on what he described as a lack of information about sexual and reproductive health in his community as well as the negligent attitude of some parents.

"In my (inner-city) community, it's accepted that men are sexually active, but when you really stop and look at it, the fact is that these young girls whom they are sexually active with are 15, 14, and even 13 in a lot of cases," he later told the Jamaica Observer.

"I know of cases where [some of those who are] parents now were sexually active in first form, and one of them that I am sure about was active since she was in primary school," he added.

Read more:
    http://m.jamaicaobserver.com/mobile/...chool_15321064

Ian Lyn - iWish

Published: Monday | October 28, 2013 2 Comments

Ian Lyn

Ian Lyn, managing director, CarMax]Jamaica
    In the next 10 years, I would like to see Jamaica become a republic with a powerful congress and senate that represents the will of the people and not only special interests, as is the order of the day today.
    This Westminster system is too easy to corrupt and the arrogance of leadership is not challenged in the way that even the president of the United States of America is challenged (look at Obamacare). We need policy changes mainly in our Ministry of Justice and to our inadequate court system. These have contributed to the high crime wave we currently see in Jamaica.
    We need social intervention through tax compliance, where the billions lost from persons evading taxes could be used to save our youth, as well as more skills-training institutions throughout Jamaica.
    Some ideas that could make my wishes a reality are:
    1 Build e-military school at Up Park Camp that would be strong on discipline and responsible adult behaviour. It would primarily target underprivileged youth.
    2 More trade schools throughout Jamaica would ideally also target youth who are not interested in academics.
    3 The people should lead a rallying cry to the Govern-ment and Opposition to change the way we govern and to seriously stomp out corruption.
    I would encourage young graduates of high school and college to create employmentopportunities and build businesses for themselves, because there are not many jobs in Jamaica today. Create workable ideas for yourselves by studying the area that you wish to go into and skilfully applying that knowledge to your business. The key is to never give up, no matter how hard it gets. It is better to have a struggling business than to beg another man for a job. Don't be like Lazarus, who had to beg for crumbs.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

titty man a look a forward...

Jamaica has second highest fertility rate in Caribbean

Monday, October 28, 2013 | 1:36 PM

KINGSTON, Jamaica – Jamaica has the second highest fertility rate in the Caribbean behind only the Dominican Republic.
        Speaking with journalists at the Jamaica Observer today, Chief Executive Officer of the Jamaica Family Planning Association, St Rachel Ustanny said the nation's women, including adolescents, have an average rate of 2.4 children.

1/1

Ustanny added that Jamaica has an early “sexual debut”, with boys entering into sexual activities at an average 13 years old, and girls by 15 years.
        She noted that this points to “a clear clash” with the law and the availability of contraceptive methods, considering that the age of consent is 16 years old.
        Meanwhile Angela Clarke from Women's Inc spoke to the susceptibility to infection pointing to the high prevalence of HIV/AIDS among young people.
        "HIV prevalence has increased over the year. 1.7 per cent in Jamaica, with women and girls becoming more and more infected," she said.
        Clarke said that girls aged 15 to 19 years are three times more likely to become infected when compared to boys their age.
        According to Clarke the difference stems from the various stereotypes attached to young, sexually active females.
        "They may not have the power to demand use of condoms in their situation,” Clarke said. “This, and other factors, such as sleeping with older men for whatever reason lead to transmission. Plus, women are more susceptible to the disease based on the makeup of our bodies."
        "Increasingly, more and more women are becoming infected, but overall more men have been diagnosed with the disease. We see a rise in infection in men 24 years and over," she added.
        Acting Executive Director at the National Family Planning Board, Sharlene Jarrett, said that by paying attention to minority groups such as sex workers and members of the gay community they hope to further stem the spread of the HIV/AIDS.

So DR bun more ganja than Jamaica ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.