Maggotty High School Lewdness

Mo, actually that was some one else opinion. My beef is the fact that adults were involved whilst the whole thing was taking place. Did you notice the girls had cups in their hands? Do you think it's soda or fruit punch?

It's highly possible that alcohol was served to the minors ( thus enhancing poor judgement). It will happen again only for Ja to blame the teens without looking at the root. Give me your thoughts on this area; and you are free to use some Munro experience. Thanks.

You DONT see a problem?

Originally posted by Exile View Post
        Maybe this is the new norm.
        It is the new norm...

I remember while at Munro, Maggotty came up for a debate match against high and mighty Munro. I remember the attitude of at least one of our debaters, himself a very talented chatterbox.

Well, Maggotty promptly trounced us properly in our backyard, much to the embarrassment of the school and esp. the condescending debaters. Yes, they may have taken it easy on Maggotty, but most people believe Maggotty was well prepared and did a great job. Did that Maggotty team think of themselves as nothing because they did not pass for Munro or Hampton?

Jawge, there is no excuse for them to think less of themselves. And that was back in the day before they were upgraded to "regular" status. Let's not make excuses for them.
          Just slight change to your post.
          I would say to friend, Jawge - Let us not make that excuse or similar ones for them.

In search of fairness: Do others bear responsibility for the kids descending into such expressions of self?

Specifically - I am interested in the possibility of any role having been played by the school. ...either by omission - proper procedure to identify areas of need on mentor-ship/guidance/steering/etc. on accepted behavioral norms or once problems were identified, commission - implementation of appropriate remedies?

Kids do not 'out of the blue' commit or engage in antisocial behaviors.

I think other measures other than expulsion should be explored before 'reaching for' expulsion. I am not saying expulsion may not have been the correct action as 'being final and only option'. I am just saying it is a draconian measure and should be used as 'last resort'.

Expulsion is too often a sentence of 'death'.

Kids do not 'out of the blue' commit or engage in antisocial behaviors.
            Karl...that's exactly what kids do

Karl I'm not making excuses. I'm going by what's on the video. Fact: adults were present.

To bring the point home: Karl tell me what would happen if you set up a sound system near a high school and start playing music (and having alcoholic beverages being served). Kids from ten to sixteen attend and start drinking and dancing. Karl do you think any action would be taken against the kids or the index would be shifted to you the adult with all kinds of charges? Karl address that question, that's all I'm asking. Thanks.

In that respect, in spite of all the bright flashy colours, and well crafted video, it isn't much different than the Maggoty High video.
                That's exactly what I am alluding to when I said As I said, "with the advancement of technology, a parent has absolutely no control over what a child is being exposed to on a daily basis." Our kids are getting more exposed to sex and vulgar behavior at an earlier age. Everything is there on Youtube and on the internet and TV. The rules and laws which prevents children from being at adult Dances and parties and prevents underage drinking are not being enforced by the authorities.
                Exile said this may or has become the new norm. Whilst Historian blames Dancehall and its culture, I think the blame falls squarely on the level of indiscipline that is tolerated by those in authority. Children will always "act out" and will push their boundaries if they know that they will not be punished for their actions, or if the punishment is not harsh enough.

I remember when I used to attend Calabar, our epaulets were buttoned down on our shoulders. When we wanted to misbehave on the road, we would simply take them off to remain anonymous. By the time that I was leaving school, the rule required that our epaulets were sewn unto the shirts. There was a big protest, but the rule was enforced which kept us in check. I remember in primary school, the girls had to wear bloomers underneath their uniforms and the hem of their skirts had to fall below their knees. Students had to show respect for their uniforms whilst on the roads out of fear that their misbehavior could be reported back to the schools.

Now the same principle applies to the wider society. Increase the punishment for breaking simple laws that affect people's day to day activities, like littering, parking and other traffic laws, selling in non-designated areas, public lewdness etc. Administer these punishment with a heavy hand and you will see a reduction in the big crimes and the behavior of the citizens.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Wha yuh seh, is Roger dat?

LoL

This is exactly why public beaches are fenced around & admission charged to access...if not you would be enjoying a nice Sunday at the beach when the skettels in society decide to swing off the roof & gyrate her privates in yuh face...this is now"normal" behaviour in all over Jamaica...kids birthday party...no problem...get on all fours & shake your ass...

any body remember "dinkiimini"? (sP)

As my good principal once said, "Don't tell me Titchfield have gone to the dogs, it is your dogs have come to Titchfield". This a something that goes on everyday in Jamaica in public spaces so why do we think the kids will not Bruck out???

I remember DJing at my sister wedding and Girls who graduated from Immaculate were there and when I touch some 90s dancehall and dem bruck out it was pleasantly surprising and I am sure they didn't learn this after they graduated as the moves were in sync and from the that era when they were in school and they all had their MBA and other letters to go with it.

Sass it's one thing to bruk out in a private space and with like-minded friends... but when yu deh a street??

One thing about women is they are very expressive and they will do so in dance, just to show that they are independent and can do what they want when they are motivated. In a wedding it's one thing... do you think those women would have bruk out in public?

Yes

It takes a village to raise a child... but when the villagers themselves have gone rotten, well it mus rough.

Another occasion when Clovis gwaan like him nuh have nuh damn sense!