Agreed!

But are they in uniform?

oh it's the uniform mek it inappropriate?

[quote=Historian;451652]You asked that question in a reply to a post I made about two years ago. I easily recall that post because I was surprised! One day I might be able to search and find the RBSC link.

Now, of course you are absolutely correct that “school children behaving like that does not have a place in society”! It’s difficult to argue against this view, but don’t you realize that the entire ethos of dancehall culture encourages such behavior?

Why should someone who wholeheartedly supports this bastardization of our culture (as USA-influenced dancehall represents) be surprised that school children should behave this way?! Don’t you realize that there is a cost to imbibing the crap that our youngsters do day to day?

Please do not be like Jangle and post silly defenses of our BIGGEST problem!!

I think if you search using keyword "Portia" or "Winsome" you shall find the original discussion. Think it also had something on corporal punishment as being abuse of children...many said it should never be used.

Think I got a right royal cussin as my views on some reasons we were descending into the "gutta"/declining standards on what we considered behavioral norms was on rapid downward trend. Well here we are today...and as Exile alluded 'uptown' led the way or at the very least has been in lock-step on the downward trail.

What makes a Jamaican, Jamaican? Many of us who go abroad can attest to this statement, "Me can pick out a Jamaican in any crowd". There are many subliminal things that we do that makes us recognizable to each other; things that we could never explain, logically, to a foreigner. Some of these things are stuff that embarrass "decent" Jamaicans and play into the stereotypical images that foreigners have of Jamaicans. I think I shared this story here already, but I'll do so again. When I migrated here, I was the only black and the only man at the institution where I got my first job. One of my young co-worker, asked me, with genuine sincerity, if Jamaica had cars. Her image of Jamaicans was that of Bob Marley, a weed-smoking rastafarian.

After living in the USA for over a decade now, I have grown to accept certain things that I have no control over and things that I cannot change. I live in a liberal society and one that is growing more liberal with the advancement of technology. Take for instance, the subject of homosexuality. I remember when I was leaving Jamaica, I was one of those who would "bun a fyah" on all b attymen. However, living in a society where these views are not shared by the general population, you learn to temper your opinions and not rush to judge. Would I want to "bun a fyah" on my daughters if one day they come home and tell me they are in love with other women? As I said, with the advancement of technology, a parent has absolutely no control over what a child is being exposed to on a daily basis. So, what do you do as someone who was born in a different generation where certain things were not allowed?

Now Historian, let me address you directly since you called me out in your post - "Please do not be like Jangle and post silly defenses of our BIGGEST problem!!"

I think you are misguided in your statement above. In my opinion, Dancehall music and its culture is not Jamaica's BIGGEST problem as you put it. I believe Jamaica's
            BIGGEST problem is the level of indiscipline which is ALLOWED to permeate throughout our society. Rules and the law are not enforced and people in positions of authority are not held accountable for their actions. I am one who believe that Jamaica would do well with a few years of dictatorship rule. We need to start to enforce the "little" laws starting with littering and traffic laws. Increase the punishment for breaking these "little" laws and make them some of the harshest laws on the books and you will see a reversal of the indiscipline which prevails today. Dancehall, like Reggae, is a musical extension of the indiscipline in our society. There is nothing wrong with Dancehall as a music form. Just as how there was nothing wrong with Reggae, which you love, and was borne out of the same disenfranchised environment as Dancehall music.

Now in reference to the video, I believe that any decent, sane, adult like myself, would not condone
            behavior of these school children. This video is a symptom of the level of indiscipline in the society which has been ALLOWED to go on over the years. A few years ago, I remember making a post about a newspaper article which reported on school girls having sex on the minibuses on, I think, "No-panties Fridays". I also remember another newspaper article about the bus operators not wanting to carry JC boys out of fear for their lives. I remember just last month the big argument about allowing boys into school wearing these tight pants. There has been a progressive deterioration of behavior over the years within our society which I attribute to a none enforcement of the "little" rules and laws and not Dancehall music. There needs to be a public outcry against the behavior of those school children and the authorities need to analyze that video and take some strong actions against those in it.

I love Dancehall music, but I don't necessarily love the contents of the lyrics nor do I love ALL of the culture that's associated with it. I am sure you can identify with this statement because Reggae was viewed in the same light as Dancehall music today. Those same "dutty", weed-smoking dreads who were the early pioneers of DANCEHALL which was spawned by Reggae, are now held in high esteem by society and have put Jamaica firmly on the cultural map internationally.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Well said! Don't get to say that for many of your posts, so today is one to remember.

Haven't watched this video as viewing IMO only encourages or promotes, but read the comments re: video.
                Anybody roughly know the age of the participants. Seems like from what i've read, the line of Child pornography is or is getting close to being broken.
                http://www.hg.org/child-pornography.html

Jangle, well written comments....fully agree with you !!

seems that the video was done 2 years ago, and 5 of these 'kids" were expelled from the school today. With that said, if its 2 years ago, then how old were these kids then ?

People make mistakes especially when they are in their teens. Teenager's judgement without an adult guide is usually poor (except here because adults were standing around; females).

To expel these girls and boys doesn't solve the problem.Punish them yes but expelling them from school? Someone watched the video with me and say they are acting out because of Ja's caste system with the high schools. They didn't pass for a brand name school hence they think they are nothing and behave accordingly.

I think a police investigation should have been the right course of action. I see adult women standing around and smiling. I see the girls running about with cups (alcohol could have been given to minors) hence further dulling their judgement. Ja is now a society where teenagers have access to money, drugs cars, houses and guns. One cannot just up and write these kids off. Where will they go now? It's possible they are acting out what they see around them. If it was here the adults on the scene would be in big trouble.

Yup expel them hoping it will go away. I can assure everyone it will resurface some place else.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                      The video was recorded in 2011 and only one of the dancing student is still in school. The principal has decided to kich her out of school. Is that the appropriate punishment? How about a week suspension instead of expulsion?

I remember while at Munro, Maggotty came up for a debate match against high and mighty Munro. I remember the attitude of at least one of our debaters, himself a very talented chatterbox.

Well, Maggotty promptly trounced us properly in our backyard, much to the embarrassment of the school and esp. the condescending debaters. Yes, they may have taken it easy on Maggotty, but most people believe Maggotty was well prepared and did a great job. Did that Maggotty team think of themselves as nothing because they did not pass for Munro or Hampton?

Jawge, there is no excuse for them to think less of themselves. And that was back in the day before they were upgraded to "regular" status. Let's not make excuses for them.

You would have hoped that at some point common sense would have prevailed, and somebody remember to at least show some respect for the "Uniform".

Is it just the girls who were expelled?

Well said Jangle. What do you think are some of the "strong actions" that should be taken (last sentence of the second to last paragraph).

BTW, you posted a video with Samantha J singing "Tight up skirt"... I actually like that video, it's very sexy... my problem with it is the school girl theme... if she had started out from somewhere else other than a school, say a hard day at the office and den jus bruk out cool... These videos say it's okay for 16 yr olds to behave in a certain manner. In that respect, in spite of all the bright flashy colours, and well crafted video, it isn't much different than the Maggoty High video.

Is it just the girls who were expelled?
                                The way that it was stated implies that none of the boys were still in school. However, it would be interested to see if they would kick out a boy that danced but did not drop his pants. I doubt it, the genders are never equal.