• Maggotty High School Lewdness

Out of the gutter........

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=617010645007144

Easy to be judgmental, easy to criticize but who is to say what is the moral high, low or in-between. Isn't this a microcosm of the wider Jamaican public? Maybe this is the new norm. One could ask where were the teachers, parents, adults in this? One could argue it was just harmless fun....

Yuh at the rum bar this early?

You Questioned This?

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
        “Out of the Gutter”??! Which ****ing gutter? Weren’t you one of those who ardently defended the offshoots of the dancehall culture when I made my posts?! I still clearly remember -- after a point I raised about culture representation on the website dancehallreggae.com -- your silly question about if I have never had a toy!

This sh!t did not begin yesterday! Also, the problems on the buses and at the Half Way Tree bus terminal did not emerge overnight!!

My friend, I suggest that you simply relax and enjoy the fruits of what you and others on this forum and elsewhere have labored to defend over the years! And, by the way, let us both pray that your teen daughter does not move back to yard!

your silly question about if I have never had a toy!
          Historian, not sure where that is coming from & please provide a link. School children behaving like that does not have a place in society.

I See....

Originally posted by Hortical View Post

Historian, not sure where that is coming from & please provide a link. School children behaving like that does not have a place in society.
            You asked that question in a reply to a post I made about two years ago. I easily recall that post because I was surprised! One day I might be able to search and find the RBSC link.

Now, of course you are absolutely correct that “school children behaving like that does not have a place in society”! It’s difficult to argue against this view, but don’t you realize that the entire ethos of dancehall culture encourages such behavior?

Why should someone who wholeheartedly supports this bastardization of our culture (as USA-influenced dancehall represents) be surprised that school children should behave this way?! Don’t you realize that there is a cost to imbibing the crap that our youngsters do day to day?

Please do not be like Jangle and post silly defenses of our BIGGEST problem!!

Absolutely correct that “school children behaving like that does not have a place in society”!

I beg to differ. If not in society, where do they belong. Maybe we can encourage behavioural changes or educate the youth on self respect and privacy but to say they have no place is probably overstating. Didin't we have a picture of minister dancing similarly with a constituent? Don't we see the same thing in Carnival fetes and promotions, on TV, award shows etc. It's part and part of the fabric we have woven....
              Finally, I won't blame dancehall totally for this, it's part of wider breakdown of mores, respect and decency in Jamaica....we can't blame the youths....

I've grown to despise most if not all of Dancehall culture. It simply doesn't educate our kids and most of all it helps to stunt their growth and personal development.

I don't have a problem with it. As long as I don't see any blue and white representing the ladies of Hampton School, I'm ok with it!

Run di chune!

You asked that question in a reply to a post I made about two years ago. I easily recall that post because I was surprised! One day I might be able to search and find the RBSC link.
                    Historian, you a big man and should be ashamed of yourself to make an accusation that is not factual. Once again, please provide the proof. Do not make a childish excuse that you do not have the time to offer the link. Once again you are mistaken, and please do not make up silly things on the forum without facts.

You know you have been caught, and just "man up" on the forum.

So True, Sir!

Originally posted by Nemesis View Post
                      I've grown to despise most if not all of Dancehall culture. It simply doesn't educate our kids and most of all it helps to stunt their growth and personal development.
                      Respect, Nemesis! Finally, someone who recognizes the problematic cultural link with current behavior and the values transferred/transmitted by dancehall’s messages (similar to rap)!

Like your track and field posts next door which all make a great deal of sense (I always agree with your sports comments), you have proven here in this thread to be a sober voice of reason.

Whats the difference in uniform or in street clothes , while leaving or going to school, because youths here in the states do same in street clothes, while going to or leaving school, dancing on the streets is nothing new, the newness would be the type of dancing.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

It is mighty dumb for these students, girls especially since the boys are pretty much wearing khaki, to be acting like this. I hope their principal gets the support of the ministry of education to hand out appropriate punishment to the gyrators and premature pole dancers. The boys should not be excluded. Society still operates, I would like to think, by certain unwritten rules and standards, and these students crossed the line, embarrassing their school and I dare say the parish of St. Bess. I would not be surprised if some sex tape with some of these very students has already made the rounds.

Go to Hellshire any Sunday and the schoolgirls are doing worse than this in plain view...

Historian, Nemesis are you gentlemen really blaming dancehall for this? Have you seen a soca session lately? Check out a hip hop video. Did Miley Cyrus commit her act because of dancehall? How many of us grew up in the dancehall era and didn't resort to such behavior? I love alot of weed songs, I don't smoke weed.

Historian, it is very well documented here that you despise dancehall. I think to constantly blame dancehall for every and anything is going overboard. Pay close attention and you may get the impression it is art imitating life in Jamaica instead of the reverse. When the photo of the elephant Roger Clark daggering a woman was all over the place many saw it as no big deal.

I recall in my high school days, some of the lovely ladies of Y.C. Westwood and St. Hildas wouldn't even chew gum in their uniform much less to be dashing out in their uniform like this. The question has to be asked, where is the self respect? What kind of upbringing they get at home? I'm sorry gentlemen, blaming dancehall for this ..... you're way off.