Time to Stop Capturing Gunmen!

• Time to Stop Capturing Gunmen!

No need for “panic reaction” accusations! I’m making a perfectly logical statement! If you truly know our impressive history of crime and violence, particularly over the past 30-plus years, then you will understand where I am coming from.

Police Woman Killed In St Catherine

Published: Saturday October 26, 2013 | 10:39 am

The police are at this time confirming that a police woman attached to Harman Barracks was shot and killed in Marine Park, Portmore, St Catherine last night.

She is 23-old-year Woman Special Constable Arianna Henry.

Reports from the Portmore Police are that about 8:45 p.m., Woman Special Constable Henry was standing along the mentioned roadway, in the company of another police officer, when a Toyota Corolla motor car with armed men aboard drove up and ordered them not to move. Four men alighted from the vehicle and immediately opened fire at the officers hitting Constable Henry in the abdomen.

The police officer who was with her returned the fire and one of the gunmen was shot.

A Bryco Arms 9mm pistol along with a magazine containing nine 9mm rounds of ammunition was seized.

Henry was taken to the Spanish Town Hospital where she died while undergoing treatment. The gunman, who was shot, later turned up at the hospital for treatment and was identified as one of the persons involved in the incident. He is under police guard.

The police are appealing to persons with information that can lead to the arrest of the other men who were involved to contact police 119 emergency number, Crime Stop at 311/811, the Portmore Police at 949-8422 or the nearest police station.

Source: The Daily Gleaner (http://jamaica-gleaner.com/latest/article.php?id=48889 )

Source: The Daily Gleaner (http://jamaica-gleaner.com/latest/article.php?id=48894 )

Commissioner Urges Swift Capture Of Cop Killers

Published: Saturday October 26, 2013 | 12:25 pm

Police Commissioner Owen Ellington - File

Police Commissioner Owen Ellington has instructed investigators in the St Catherine South Division to move swiftly to capture those responsible for Special Constable Henry’s killing.

Commissioner Ellington made it clear that rather than driving fear into the members of the JCF, these incidents only serve to strengthen their resolve to go after the criminals.

In extending condolences to the young constable’s family and colleagues, the commissioner urged Jamaicans, particularly those with information on criminals, to cooperate with the police so the wrongdoers can be brought to justice.

The instructions came after Woman Special Constable Henry was shot and killed last night along Marine Park in Portmore. She was standing along the mentioned roadway, in the company of another police officer, when a Toyota Corolla motor car with armed men aboard drove up and ordered them not to move. Four men alighted from the vehicle and immediately opened fire at the officers hitting Constable Henry in the abdomen.

The police officer who was with her returned the fire and one of the gunmen was shot.

A Bryco Arms 9mm pistol along with a magazine containing nine 9mm rounds of ammunition was seized.

Henry was taken to the Spanish Town Hospital where she died while undergoing treatment. The gunman, who was shot, later turned up at the hospital for treatment and was identified as one of the persons involved in the incident. He is under police guard.

The police are appealing to persons with information that can lead to the arrest of the other men who were involved to contact police 119 emergency number, Crime Stop at 311/811, the Portmore Police at 949-8422 or the nearest police station.

=Historian;451561]No need for “panic reaction” accusations! I’m making a perfectly logical statement! If you truly know our impressive history of crime and violence, particularly over the past 30-plus years, then you will understand where I am coming from.
    We don't know your state of mind so it's unclear if this reaction is one of panic...or something else

However it doesn't make sense from a law enforcement perspective...Jamaica already has among the world's highest rates of extra-judicial police killings... adding to that will further institutionalize lawlessness.

That's not what is required.

What is required?

Terrible,made even worse because it was a woman and very young too.
        What I do not understand is if the thugs find another way(other than using a gun)should they be captured?
        I will always be of the opinion that when someone is sentence to death by a judge,the state is guilty of murder(you have someone in custody,he or she is no longer a threat to JP yet the state is bent on killing to deter killing?
        What you speak of is even worse,forget the JCF,let us citizens do some self reflecting,we are advocating murder which binds us to the dutty gunman dem.

Historian is clearly ignorant of the many times we mourn for police officers only to find out dat dem did involve in tings.

Stop cry fi dem until mi hear what really went down.

And even so, it makes no sense to give them powers of judge and executioner. Slippery slope!

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
            What is required?
            A big reduction in JLPNP corruption and ineptitude.... combined with a big increase in their cooperation in the national interest

Yeah but when gunman could walk and execute a woman in cold blood, time to take extreme actions - they should be hunted and dealt with.

Would you be so upset if it was revealed tomorrow that she was involved in a drug deal gone wrong? How many times have we caught our police in bed with criminals??! Not suggesting she was involved in anything, but i will reserve my tears for later.

Yeah but when gunman could walk and execute a woman in cold blood, time to take extreme actions - they should be hunted and dealt with.
                I agree! Whether or not the victim was involved in something, the crime should be investigated and the culprit hunted down and dealt with, within the law!

Mo...I'm not taking a position on whether she may have been involved in any underground dealings or not - the fact is the BOLDFACEDness of the murderers. The impunity in which they committed their act AGAINST members of the police despite their possible or alleged involvement in dealings.
                  For that they should be euthanized.

Don't get me wrong! It should be investigated and the culprits brought to justice. All I am saying is, I won't get wound up about it just because a cop is involved!

Don't Waste Time With Mo, Rockman and Don1!!!

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                      Exile, despite our one or two disagreements in the past, I have always sought to read your posts, because we can ALL benefit from what you have to offer. I mean this, boss!

Stated succintly, I am forced to FULLY with your comment above!

I fully support JFJ (that organization serves an invaluable function in Jamaica), but that does not mean that I agree with all that JFJ member Mo has to say! And I am including his comment above!! A young policewoman was brutally executed by a group of callous gunmen, and all he can say is that we should “stop cry fi dem until mi hear what really went down”??!!

Give me a break!!!

And Mo’s “slippery slope” metaphor adds nothing to that silly statement/ position! I could take him and Don1 and Rockman back to those “Prayer Breakfast” initiative of the 1970s, led by people like David Keane!

But then again, what would be the point? We are truly ****ed!!

One can either have a law based society or anarchy. You cannot have it both ways... so if you choose the side of anarchy that's your prerogative but it's obviously a destructive and morally bankrupt course

Policy should not be driven by wild emotional responses like that which you display

To advocate for extra judicial killings is to advocate for anarchy.. plus since that police anarchy exists at a world class level in Jamaica we already know it doesn't work

Don1, it's not fair to say law-based vs anarchy. That's a total misrepresentation and faulty reasoning....there are so many shades in between black and white. We know there are corrupt police but not all are.

As for anarchy - I see it on the Jamaican roads everyday...everyone hustling yu off the road...and try and seh sumpn....not to mention people walking across the road anywhere...try driving in May Pen...or Old Harbour....

So we have 'laws' when it suits us and we are 'law abiding' when it doesn't affect our bottom-line, profit or family. We have become numb to what should be gut-wrenching reactions. Murder, road carnage, corruption, scams, criminality are our daily forte....policewoman shot in cold-blood, hardly news.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                            Don1, it's not fair to say law-based vs anarchy. That's a total misrepresentation and faulty reasoning....there are so many shades in between black and white. We know there are corrupt police but not all are.

As for anarchy - I see it on the Jamaican roads everyday...everyone hustling yu off the road...and try and seh sumpn....not to mention people walking across the road anywhere...try driving in May Pen...or Old Harbour....

So we have 'laws' when it suits us and we are 'law abiding' when it doesn't affect our bottom-line, profit or family. We have become numb to what should be gut-wrenching reactions. Murder, road carnage, corruption, scams, criminality are our daily forte....policewoman shot in cold-blood, hardly news.
                            Ok... I agree there's a level of anarchy in Jamaica

What I don't agree with is the institutionalization of anarchy by promoting police murder... for 3 reasons:

1. It's immoral

2. It's illegal

3. It does not solve crime.... in fact it inflames crime in many cases

Yuhzimi??

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                              ...and all he (Mo) can say is that we should “stop cry fi dem until mi hear what really went down”??!!
                              Is that all I said?!

What is the problem? Reading or comprehension? Or honesty?