http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X-_cutDGKpM

ok disco lover..

Yuh fling that out like seh is an epithet ....

Re: A Taste of Honey

" greatest Bass Line of the Disco Era?"

ummm .... there is a song by Taste of Honey called Boogie Oogie ... with a bassline no wonder the singer said, "listen to my bassie."
          Lazie, my friend, that bass line is tasteful and I have always liked it, but it is also actually quite simple. In fact, I have always been more impressed by the fact that it’s a female bassist and band when compared with the actual notes and rhythm played.

The part where the singer says “Listen to my bassie….” is most likely simply a part of the performance routine and not a measure of how great the playing is.

I did not post a link for my thread starter, so here is Thelma Houston’s version of “Don’t Leave Me This Way”:
          http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FLzbKm56dLI

LTD’s bass player Henry E. Davis is very, very tasteful on this Thelma Houston hit; he has impeccable technique and stands right up there with Bernard Edward’s (Chic’s bassist) outstanding playing on “Good Times”:

a simple yet powerful bassline is the baseline from steel pulse' "steppin' out" especially the intro ... open sez a me, here comes rastaman .."

Wonderful Post!

a simple yet powerful bassline is the baseline from steel pulse' "steppin' out" especially the intro ... open sez a me, here comes rastaman .."
              Gamma, in a single post, you have summed up my years of arguments regarding the greatness and freshness of mainstream reggae!!

A couple of years ago, Rudi reminded me of Peter Tosh’s “Rastafari Is” (one of the greatest live reggae performances that I have ever come across) and today you have posted one of the most beautiful bass-and-drum combinations that one can find in ANY music genre!

Yes the introduction is wonderful, but so is the playing throughout -- it is not only rhythmic, but unusually melodic! The bass player closely accompanies the melody lines of the lead singer, an approach that impacted me many years ago when I first listened to this recording.

Boss, it is stuff like this that has made reggae such an immensely interesting and influential music form! How can anyone, after listening to this Steel Pulse recording that you posted (“Steppin’ Out”), question the greatness of reggae? No wonder people of all nationalities were embracing this “new” music!

And yes, this is a not-so-subtle hit at ALL the dancehall fans!

Epithet? You mean epaulette!
                Not at all...just calling out Mosiah who was sighing PRETENDING he wasn't a Disco lover.
                Disco - one of my favourite genres. So in a good way

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                  Epithet? You mean epaulette!
                  Not at all...just calling out Mosiah who was sighing PRETENDING he wasn't a Disco lover.
                  Disco - one of my favourite genres. So in a good way
                  Moi? Yah mix mi up, bredren! Never shame fi say it - love me some disco!

I was sighing about these DL disco lovers slowly coming out of the woodwork.

That's why I made a post a couple weeks back how today's music is sounding more and more like disco. Glad to see Nile Rodgers busy as ever and giving us more of those memorable riffs.

Yeah...mi cousin a play d bass...

...actually maybe not...lol..

it was cousin by marriage subsequently dissolved by a divorce?

Lol...no..don't think he played bass on that track..no such thing as cousin by marriage...either yu a blood or in-law.

Phil Chen and Paul Marin are/were good friends when Paul lived in Cali. I met him (Phil ) here at T&T carnival in 1997. Nice humble guy. Not sure if Paul and he are in touch now.

Wow! And Paul is tone deaf! Odd couple!

Talk about reggae bassline my favorite was Heart made of stone, loved it so much I bought the 45 and played it over and over again on my fathers stereo set.

Another wicked bassline to me was Arlene by General Echo when that came out it was like a revolution to my ears.