Greatest Bass Line of the Disco Era?

• Greatest Bass Line of the Disco Era?

What Was the greatest Bass Line of the Disco Era?

Thelma Houston’s version of the R&B song, “Don’t Leave Me This Way,” was one of the biggest hits of the disco era. In addition to Houston’s voice, the most memorable element in this song is the fantastic bass line.

A question that has been asked for many years by music lovers (as there are no musician credits on Houston’s album) is this: Who was the bass player?

Answer: the late Henry E. Davis, bass player for Jeffrey Osbourne’s group, LTD. (Davis died last year; his funeral was held on January 26, 2012.) Henry Davis is also the bass player on other hits like “Back in Love Again” by Jeffrey Osbourne and LTD, and “Love Hangover” by Diana Ross.

(Davis is the tall guy in the afro with the bass on this live version of “Back in Love Again”: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eXpa0Ef25XQ )

RIP Henry Davis, one of the truly awesome bass players of the 1970s.

I always liked the bass line in Diana Ross's "I'm coming out" nicely redone in Rap style with Notorious BIG and the nuff one(him always insert himself on every recording) Puffy.

Bass Line on “I’m Coming Out”

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
      I always liked the bass line in Diana Ross's "I'm coming out" nicely redone in Rap style with Notorious BIG and the nuff one(him always insert himself on every recording) Puffy.
      Rudi, you are right again, boss (I always look forward to your music input). The bass line on Diana Ross’ “I’m Coming Out” is excellent, and certainly vies for the title of “Greatest Disco Era Bass Line”!

I hurriedly wrote the thread-starter post (homage if you will) on Henry Davis after just this weekend finding out for certain who the bass player on Thelma Houston’s “Don’t Leave Me This Way” was.

Regarding the Diana Ross song you mentioned, the short, precise, staccato style bass notes were played by none other than Chic’s superb bass player, the late Bernard Edwards. I just played a YouTube video of this Diana Ross song, and Edwards’ bass playing definitely brings to mind the contribution to music of other outstanding studio bass players of the 1970s like Henry E. Davis, James Jamerson, Scott Edwards, and Carole Kaye.

By the way, “I’m Coming Out” was produced by Edwards along with his fellow Chic musician/producer Nile Rodgers.

Thanks for your memory-lane post!

I don't know if you call Chic disco but "Good times" bass is still beating in my head and that gave rap a big push with Rapper's Delight" from Sugar hill gang.

Yes "I am coming out" and "Don't leave me this way" are excellent. You make mi want go take out mi selection and go listen to the baseline and come back come talk to you "We are family" come to mind right now and how can we forget the bad girl Donna Summer "Bad girl"?

Thanks historian. I know you don't care for rap but I must admit I didn't fully realize how wicked that bass line was until I heard the Puffy produced version. He accentuated the bass almost in a Dub like fashion so much s that I had to say "Whoa is who played that originally". Now I know. Thanks for the info boss.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=SBJ5Fsk...%3DSBJ5FsklZXQ
            Sass me and you on the same page with this one. 2:40 for the real bassline.

Excellent Choices!

I don't know if you call Chic disco but "Good times" bass is still beating in my head and that gave rap a big push with Rapper's Delight" from Sugar hill gang.

Yes "I am coming out" and "Don't leave me this way" are excellent. You make mi want go take out mi selection and go listen to the baseline and come back come talk to you "We are family" come to mind right now and how can we forget the bad girl Donna Summer "Bad girl"?
              The disco era gave us some really creative bass playing. Of course, the drums in disco tended to be predictable, based on a 120 beats-per-minute tempo (in some cases a little less or a little more), and the arrangements depended greatly on strings and horns. Nevertheless, the result was generally “sweet” music that goes beyond mere dancing.

“Bad Girls” and “We Are Family” had excellent bass playing, and so did the Chic’s “Good Times.” In fact, a strong argument can be made for “Good Times” as disco’s most memorable bass playing ever!

Excellent choices, boss!

Sigh ! All these undercover disco lovers!

For me, disco was bass line, which happened to complement our own reggae music with its own infectious variety.

The choices mentioned are indeed worthy of "best ever" accolades, but one that was very driving back in the day was the bass line for Queen's "Another One Bites the Dust". May not have a difficult one to play, but it was pounding!

And don't tek the bass line in Rod Stewart's "Do You Think I'm Sexy" light either! It was rumored then that a Chinese-Jamaican was the bassist on the song. Any truth to that?

Gwaan disco!

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                  What Was the greatest Bass Line of the Disco Era?

Thelma Houston’s version of the R&B song, “Don’t Leave Me This Way,” was one of the biggest hits of the disco era. In addition to Houston’s voice, the most memorable element in this song is the fantastic bass line.

A question that has been asked for many years by music lovers (as there are no musician credits on Houston’s album) is this: Who was the bass player?

Answer: the late Henry E. Davis, bass player for Jeffrey Osbourne’s group, LTD. (Davis died last year; his funeral was held on January 26, 2012.) Henry Davis is also the bass player on other hits like “Back in Love Again” by Jeffrey Osbourne and LTD, and “Love Hangover” by Diana Ross.

(Davis is the tall guy in the afro with the bass on this live version of “Back in Love Again”: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eXpa0Ef25XQ )

RIP Henry Davis, one of the truly awesome bass players of the 1970s.

" greatest Bass Line of the Disco Era?"

ummm .... there is a song by Taste of Honey called Boogie Oogie ... with a bassline no wonder the singer said, "listen to my bassie."

Histy, look what you go start now. Ok, so I'm cheating since this tune was done in 1982, but the early 80's was a hangover from the Disco era and right now I can't come up with a 70's Disco chune. So I present to you bassline:

Indeep - Last Night a DJ Saved My Life

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CgGiCKbud5I
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Not a Rumour

Sigh ! And don't tek the bass line in Rod Stewart's "Do You Think I'm Sexy" light either! It was rumored then that a Chinese-Jamaican was the bassist on the song. Any truth to that?

Gwaan disco!
                      You are absolutely correct, Mo. The bass player for Rod Stewart during his “Do Ya Think I’m Sexy” period (1970s) was Jamaican-born bass player Phil Chen.

Chen played on other hits by Rod Stewart, including “Passion” (and the other songs on the “Foolish Behaviour” album). He is a very accomplished and highly respected bass player.

Thanks! Hate being proud of something when I'm not sure!

Mind you start another rap war wid dem talk deh.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0WpRaePIJas

I can hear that one in my head right now!

My little spice yuh nuh...http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7nDK5bl_e50.