A matter of under employment

• A matter of under employment

Why should someone with 3 CXC and 2 O level have to go to HEART to get a job?

Mosiah HEART is preparing students for the workplace something that most grammer schools in Ja are not doing. The fact is there is not enough oppurtunties in Jamaica so even if students do well in high school they have a hard time getting a job without certain connections. At least HEART give them a trade.

Look at how many man with Science, Physics, Bio, and many sort after science subject end up been bank clerk and hotel front desk worker.

We need more oppurtunities in those areas or we need to change our school curiculum. How many school teach anything Tourism related? and that is our number 1 money earner.

Re: A matter of under employment

Only backward Thrid World countries have the need for so many "trades workers". Don't get me wrong - I'm not knocking the trades, I'm knocking the need for vast numbers of tradespersons.

I want to see the country encouraging more of us to become mechanical engineers instead of auto mechanics. I want to see us graduate more people for high-end hotel positions, and less as waiters. In fact, why can't our waiters be high school graduates or summer workers who are working for a year or two before going off to college (as it is in the USA) rather than people forced to make waitering a career?

I bet you T&T, per capita, have far fewer tradespersons than we do!

the problem is two fold. Because of not enough oppurtunties in the sciences too many people in Ja remain under employed and instead of getting jobs they are better suited for they have to settle for a lesser job.

There is not enough entrepreneurship as from slavery days to now the goal was to get a job with a sugar factory, bauxite company or something owned by someone else. Our UWI grads are not encouraged to start business like so many American Millionaires who started in college. Eg. Bill Gates, HP, Dell etc.

If we train moe mechanical engineers, what is the use if they can't get jobs? That is a part of the problem as they end up only migrating to other nations who will give them jobs.

We still need the trades people but these must not be people with five or above passes in examinations.

Well, that's the other piece of the puzzle! We, as a country, must begin to create the types of jobs that would attract, the mechanica engineer! Can't grow sugar for ever!

Didn't know I had to spell it out. But yes, we need to change the employment landscape - we should need more mechanical engineers, less mechanics; more electrical engineers, less electricians; more computer programmers, less telemarketers; etc.

Don't forget the caveat..

What?

Germany is full of Trade craftsmen and they are the toast of Europe...except for Poland who giving them a run. They are fast, efficent and very skilled.

We need MORE of BOTH...and BETTER.

Like I said, nothing wrong with tradespersons. I guess what I really meant that, as a percentage, we need to increase the engineers.

When we plan to start that program ?

The 10th Term of the PNP ??

Jamaica's disease since 1972... rendering the country impotent for 28 years..

What a tragic waste of 3 decades.

Some in here would do it all over again rather than 'the alternative'.

Joshua did a real mind job.. damn.

Jesus Christ, Martin Luther King and Ghandi were not politicians or dedicated to a PARTY yet brought about massive social change.. there is a message there.

Why should someone with 3 CXC and 2 O level have to go to HEART to get a job?

Mosiah HEART is preparing students for the workplace something that most grammer schools in Ja are not doing. The fact is there is not enough oppurtunties in Jamaica so even if students do well in high school they have a hard time getting a job without certain connections. At least HEART give them a trade.

Look at how many man with Science, Physics, Bio, and many sort after science subject end up been bank clerk and hotel front desk worker.

We need more oppurtunities in those areas or we need to change our school curiculum. How many school teach anything Tourism related? and that is our number 1 money earner.
                    Let us be sensible for once....please?

The size of our markets make it impossible for us to every have all our graduates and others - the others wth jobs are not going to...should not be expected to just up and give their jobs to new graduates - employed unless we create businesses geared to thye wider world markets.

Assasin: As I said the politicians turn even supposedly sensible persons 'fool-fool'. There is no set of persons who will in the immediate future (50 years) turn our situation around to the extent that all employable persons have a job - *say 90+% employed as say the USA claims it has. (That 90% employment must be our aim. We do want 'all' our people to be 'comfortable'? Right?).

*The US puts out figures claiming there is on or around 5% unemployment.

Source: Bloomberg News

May 4 (Bloomberg) -- Job growth in the U.S. fell to its lowest level in more than two years in April as payroll losses spread from struggling homebuilders and factories to retailers.
                    The 88,000 increase in employment followed a 177,000 gain in March that was smaller than previously estimated, the Labor Department reported today in Washington. The jobless rate rose to 4.5 percent from 4.4 percent, which matched a five-year low, while wage growth slowed.
                    The cry of each party out of power about the terrible job the successive governments are doing is a half-truth - i.e. a damn lie.

It is the growth tremendous rise of individual persons and small : Mom and Pop type business - ICT (informal commericial traders), the corner store, small farming, 'robot' taxi, etc. that has saved the country from exploding.

The question is what programs have the various governments put in place...use to create the environment within which this vast horde of "Mom and Pop" businesses flourished...and, are still florishing? Then there are the actions that has spurred tremendous migration and the attendant remittance inflows.. Whatever - the governments and the people must be commended for creating that climate.

...yet, as Willi's suggestion tell us a tremendous further increase in using options to create jobs must be used by THE PRIVATE SECTOR and the GOVERNMENT AGENCIES and the PEOPLE!

Karl

The issue is that the PiP has had 4 terms and the situation is worse. They need a rest.

We can speculate as to how good or bad the other party is, BUT WE KNOW THE LACK OF PERFORMANCE IN THIS ONE.

As I said, even staunch PnP supporters want them out. Only way to rejuvenate them.

"even staunch PnP supporters want them out"

Apparently dem nuh staunch like Karl.

Let us be sensible for once....please?

The size of our markets make it impossible for us to every have all our graduates and others - the others wth jobs are not going to...should not be expected to just up and give their jobs to new graduates - employed unless we create businesses geared to thye wider world markets.

Assasin: As I said the politicians turn even supposedly sensible persons 'fool-fool'. There is no set of persons who will in the immediate future (50 years) turn our situation around to the extent that all employable persons have a job - *say 90+% employed as say the USA claims it has. (That 90% employment must be our aim. We do want 'all' our people to be 'comfortable'? Right?).

*The US puts out figures claiming there is on or around 5% unemployment.

The cry of each party out of power about the terrible job the successive governments are doing is a half-truth - i.e. a damn lie.

It is the growth tremendous rise of individual persons and small : Mom and Pop type business - ICT (informal commericial traders), the corner store, small farming, 'robot' taxi, etc. that has saved the country from exploding.

The question is what programs have the various governments put in place...use to create the environment within which this vast horde of "Mom and Pop" businesses flourished...and, are still florishing? Then there are the actions that has spurred tremendous migration and the attendant remittance inflows.. Whatever - the governments and the people must be commended for creating that climate.

...yet, as Willi's suggestion tell us a tremendous further increase in using options to create jobs must be used by THE PRIVATE SECTOR and the GOVERNMENT AGENCIES and the PEOPLE!
                          Read From Third World to First and stap chat the tyad rhetoric.

It is IMPOSSIBLE to create a developed country with weak leaders with poor policy and execution.. IMPOSSIBLE ! suh yuh cyan Mom and Pop all yuh want.. yuh would not employ a Brain surgeon based on the color of his SHIRT !! Nepotism and Genetics bring about in-breeding and failure.. No-one cared if Alan Greenspand was a Republican or a Democrat.. WTF does that even mean ? Chris Rock seh no-one can be 100% Conservative or 100% Liberal and be taken seriously..

Desmond McKenzie.. Marie Atkins.. now extrapolate that througout the 'leadership' positions in the country. You have SERIOUS PEOPLE and you have JOKERS.. if yuh cyaan identify them yuh not going nowhere... If the SERIOUS people cannot independently express themselves within their party and publicly then you might as well be a CULT.. How are Republicans able to openly criticize George Bush ?????

28 of the 36 years since 1972 have been dictated by one party.. 18 straight in power.

The results are pathetic in relative terms both against Global performance and regional performance considering we were once recognized as regional leaders...

Your task is to go to you people and do a study and come back and tell us what is it that is wrong with the PNP and how it forms its policies and executes in such a manner that brings about such poor country management. That is the single most important task you could do since you cannot fix a problem until you admit there is one and identify the core elements... and don't blame 'The People' the people have to be LED.. that is what LEADERS are for to LEAD the people.. not to FOLLOW THEM or pander to their base instincts.

A country is only as strong as its weakest link and that weakest link is the PNP, until the disease the makes that party impotent in the areas CRITICAL to Country Management and development is eradicated we will always be at risk..ala 1989, especially until the majority populace decision making processes are made more advanced through education.

France had a 85% Voter turnout..
                          Last edited by Muadib; May 5, 2007, 12:24 PM.

You do realise that you are claiming that the majority of our people - the voted the PNP in - are fools?

Well if the fools vote your party in...???

Man wake up and think...even just a little? Pleeease?

I am saying...I have said...merely voting in PNP or JLP will not solve our problems. It is the 'mind-set' of all of us - PNP, JLP or 'no P' - that must change.

Somehow from top to bottom...all our leaders and the rest...must change to willingness to do what's right for the country. That change must flow through all areas...our public sector and private sector!

Karl the easiest way to affect change is vote them in and vote them out.
                              see how voting Democrat is changing how Bush treated us when the republicans was in?

If you vote out the PNP and give the JLP three years and nothing change then vote their ass out and see how fast them have to deal with the people business but if fat cat MPs siddun pon the ass and know them must win then why work?