• This one is on me - Burning Spear

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QRRmLx6G4IU

A Timely Post!

Thanks for posting this, TDowl. In addition to the fond memories it brought back, it is a timely post, a stark reminder of the heights we once reached with our music (mainstream reggae such as this which you posted) and our impressive failure to handle that success!

In the case of this video, we’re looking at a period when Jamaican music had a massive impact on the world. Sadly, as in the case of our track and field product, the shine has seemingly lost its luster.

The difference, of course, is that there still seems to be hope for our track and field output and its international impact; in other words, despite amazing Jamaican administrative incompetence (JAAA and JADCO), our high school coaches (in particular) will ensure that our track and field athletes continue to shine.

The homegrown music, on the other hand, though enjoyed in bacchanal fashion by many teens and young adults in Jamaica and elsewhere, will most likely never ever regain the influence and impact it had in the 1970s and early 1980s. In fact, the present-day version of our homegrown music is no doubt responsible for a myriad of social problems in Jamaica (check, for example, the activities of teens today on buses, on school campuses and at the Half Way Tree bus terminus) and the wider Caribbean region, bacchanal-style behavior influenced by the messages of today’s dancehall products.

Burning Spear made his positive contribution at the right time. I have never been able to reach a personal conclusion on his talent, but this much I know: the 1970s saw an unprecedented awareness and respect for Jamaican reggae music, and Burning Spear operated within – and unquestionably contributed to – this reggae renaissance.

Those ladies can blow!

What ever happened to horns in reggae?? miss them

Oh?

Those ladies can blow!

What ever happened to horns in reggae?? miss them
        Horns??? Whatever happened today to ALL the things that used to be musically interesting in reggae?

We have fallen off in producing sensible lyrics, I agree with your assessment of the state of Reggae music.

I have always loved the music behind the Spears songs, but I never been that impressed with his songwriting.

He has his following though, no doubt about that.

There is a repetitious simplicity about Burning Spears songs. I think I understand the points you are making.

I have that 1988 concert on my ipod. Love to listen it at the gym. If I ad to choose my favorite of his works, those 2 CD concert would be my choice.

Similar Thoughts

I have always loved the music behind the Spears songs, but I never been that impressed with his songwriting.

He has his following though, no doubt about that.
                Me neither, I’man. I have never been impressed with Burning Spear’s songwriting or his stage performance. His lyrics are sparse and repetitive (yes, you are right with that, HL), but like I said, he came out at the right time (when reggae was making an impact worldwide) and so contributed to the spread of the music.

The Spear chants(mantra like) and for some his live performances can be trance inducing especially the early ones before he moved to the US. I think he is grossly underrated as far as reggae goes. Can't agree as far stage performance goes as I have seen some mesmerizing performances by him.

Seen him several times. Extremely high energy performances.

The BEST reggae music IMO must have brass section. Burning Spear music has that, plus a fantastic procussion section too.

Yes indeed, it gets you into a spiritual-like trance!!

B'Spear is still performing strong .
                    Last edited by HL; October 22, 2013, 09:55 AM.

Yes, his chanting is good

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                      The Spear chants(mantra like) and for some his live performances can be trance inducing especially the early ones before he moved to the US. I think he is grossly underrated as far as reggae goes. Can't agree as far stage performance goes as I have seen some mesmerizing performances by him.
                      Rudi, I am sure he mesmerizes many audience members! However, I have always been more of a fan of Burning Spear’s musicians than Burning Spear himself.

In fact, it has always been my opinion that Burning Spear has been surrounded by even better musicians than those who backed the great Bob Marley (with the possible exception of drummer Carlton Barrett)! In addition to the occasional foreign element in his band (horns and keyboard players), the Spear has always surrounded himself with musicians of impeccable technique! For example, his Jamaican lead guitarist (I’m trying to remember the guy’s name; he’s someone who I have spoken to several times in the past) is a really good rock-style soloist.

I could say more about those backing musicians.

repitive is an UNDERSTATEMENT .... they were fomulaic ..... "let us talk about some great me (repeat 75 times), i said, let us talk about some great men (repeat 50 times), i said, men like paul bogle (repeat 62 times) ...

Takes a special kindof talent to pull off that type of repetitive singing.

Take Maichel Jackson "Smooth Criminal" song for example.

Annie are you ok
                          So Annie are you Ok
                          Annie are you ok
                          So Annie are you ok
                          " " " "'

Only Jackson could pull of that type of 'fomulaic' singing...

Burning Spear with "lets talk about some great men..." can do it successfully too.
                          Last edited by HL; October 22, 2013, 06:55 PM.

Gamma Has a Point!

Yes, Michael Jackson did it in one (or maybe one or two) of his songs. Burning Spear, on the other hand, made this his trademark!!

And no, HL, it does NOT take any form of talent whatsoever to repeat the same lines over and over and over!! In fact, in my view, it takes the opposite!

Gamma has made a very interesting and, for me, very educational comment here.

Takes a special kindof talent to pull off that type of repetitive singing.

Take Maichel Jackson "Smooth Criminal" song for example.

Annie are you ok
                            So Annie are you Ok
                            Annie are you ok
                            So Annie are you ok
                            " " " "'

Only Jackson could pull of that type of fomulaic singing...

Burning Spear with "lets talk about some great men..." can do it successfully too.

It can work well at times.

For example probably my favourite Melody Makers song is "Black My Story" which is very repetitive. However Ziggy's chanting works particularly well with the backing vocals and African-style music.

Spear takes it to the extreme though. A great poet he is not.