Warmonger: JLP nuh want nuh Old Foot Leada

• Warmonger: JLP nuh want nuh Old Foot Leada

'JLP not prepared to accept those nearing retirement to lead the party' - Warmington

6:29 pm, Mon October 14, 2013

Everald Warmington

With the campaign for the leadership of the opposition Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) now heating up, the question surrounding the age of leadership hopefuls has crept into the mix.

Everald Warmington, Member of Parliament for South West St. Catherine, told party supporters late Sunday that the JLP is not prepared to accept persons nearing retirement to lead the 70 year old party.

He said several members of the party should now be looking at going into retirement.

“At my age I don’t want to lead the Labour Party. Pearnel (Charles) just told you that between , Paul, Pearnel and myself we have done more than 150 years of service for the Jamaica Labour Party. Where would we want to go now? We must retire, give the young man a chance, it’s bad mind and envy …….” Warmington said.

Support for Holness has also come from another member of the party Dr. Ken Baugh, Member of Parliament for West Central St. Catherine .

Baugh in an address to party supporters - also on Sunday, disclosed that past leadership issues within the party have resulted in the People's National Party (PNP) being victorious at the polls.
    With a leadership challenge now underway in the JLP, Baugh who has endorsed JLP leader Andrew Holness , also stated that a challenge from Audley Shaw is not a wise move.

“I tell you Audley is my good friend, I have every respect for him, he is a great orator and a great speaker, but he made a mistake on this occasion.”
    Baugh who is known to be reserved in his opinion went on to chide Shaw saying he was coerced into a leadership challenge.

He told a gathering in Old Harbour in the central parish of St Catherine on Sunday, that he (Baugh) signaled that he wanted to replace Bruce Golding as party leader in 2011, Shaw convinced him to step back.

“When Andrew elected we did it by consensus, we responded to the people…. I wanted to challenge and I was the last person to be convinced. Who was the person to convince me to step back and allow Andrew to go through? Bobby Montague was one but the last person to convince me was Audley Shaw,” Baugh said.

One month ago, Shaw declared that he will be challenging Holness for the post of leadership at the party’s conference in November.

Holness, became party leader and prime minister after Bruce Golding stepped down from the positions in the wake of the controversy that surrounded the extradition of Christopher “Dudus” Coke to the United States on drug and gun running charges.

Disgruntled party members have blamed Holness for the JLP's crushing defeat in the December 2011 general election