How do you grade a Govt.?

• How do you grade a Govt.?

I have seen some of the arguments put forward on the site with regards the govt. performance.

Lazie says for example debt and crime is too high and therefore the govt fails, and Karl for example says fed-ex has replaced the royal mail therefore the govt. has succeeded.

But what really is a fair measure of a governments performance?

For simplicity I have broke it down to four areas.

1. I think the primary responsibility of a government is the security of its people.
    This includes establishing the rule of law and enforcing it in all matters(civil and criminal) as well as the general security of its people from threats both inside and outside. I think this is the greatest failing of this administration. I don't get the feeling that justice prevails in Jamaica and people are safe and their rights indisputable. On security and justice I give the govt. 1 out of 10.

2. The health of its people. A govt. must insure that the population is healthy. In this regard I feel the performance is commendable for a third world country and my grade is 6 out of 10.

3. Infrastructure. The govt must provide and maintain the necessary infrastructure so that the society can go about its business in an organized and productive way. On this count, I feel compelled to split the grade to a good ( I feel charitable) 7 out of 10 for the capitol city and about 3 out of 10 for the rest of the country.

4. The govt must provide for a friendly business climate. I have grouped things like ease of doing business and tax collection and interaction between public and private sector bodies in this. Again being as objective as I can, I would give the govt. no more than 3 out of 10. Jamaica is a tough place to do business we are over taxed and under facilitated as a direct result of govt. policy.

So I think overall it is a failing grade.

Re: How do you grade a Govt.?

You forget economy growth and overall fiscal management.

The government failed in doing this. The ratings by international firms have been getting lower and lower while we paying out more for debt servicing. The constant decline in the value of our dollar. The lack of growth in our GDP. The big gap in our balance of trade with almost every country we deal with and lack of help to micro industries.

If the economy is growing govt will be able to take care of a lot of the other problems by providing the funds needed.

Originally posted by Comment View Post
      I have seen some of the arguments put forward on the site with regards the govt. performance.

...Karl for example says fed-ex has replaced the royal mail therefore the govt. has succeeded.
      Did he, now?

Someone once said, "there are lies and there are damn lies"! I think, your above satement falls into the category of "damn lies".

Even our HDI ranking agree with your grading Comment. How yuh drop from the 70s to a rank of 104? Can you imagine if our FIFA ranking fell to 104?

Did he, now?

Someone once said, "there are lies and there are damn lies"! I think, your above satement falls into the category of "damn lies".
          Well, you and Jawge always say the same thing suh yuh cyaan too blame Comment. All a unuh sound the same way defending the indesfensible.

Comment, it was the other Klan VP, JAwge, that said it.

) Jamaica is a tough place to do business
            Is that true?

I have to backup Karl on this.. I believe it was the Chief Clown Jawge that made this senile utterance as he is wont to do..

Karl is not as obvious in his senility... he tries to mix in sense in the mass of nonsense to at least give the impression of rationality..

Unfortunately his outburst regarding the eighties exposed his phobia so the jig is up...

Once again, I have to backup Karl on this...

If you have the right connections and are willing to bend if not break the law.. tings cyan gwaan fi yuh and often 'fast track' can be your reward..

If you try and follow the Queens line.. dawg nyam yuh suppah !!

Karl, how do you grade the govt out of 10 on law and order and security?

This should be interesting ....

You forget economy growth and overall fiscal management.

The government failed in doing this. The ratings by international firms have been getting lower and lower while we paying out more for debt servicing. The constant decline in the value of our dollar. The lack of growth in our GDP. The big gap in our balance of trade with almost every country we deal with and lack of help to micro industries.

If the economy is growing govt will be able to take care of a lot of the other problems by providing the funds needed.
                      This is true Assasin. But my argument is that if the govt. were to properly maintain these four core areas, I left out education because I was trying to be as charitable as possible to the Govt. (I feel that is another about 2 out of 10), then overall growth, as per Singapore for example, as a matter of course would follow.

Is that true?
                        Jamaica is the only country that when its citizens want to invest the govt rolls out the red tape, instead of the red carpet.

Jamaica is a fantastically tough and needlessly bureaucratic place to do business.

Vampire can run Blood Bank ??

What happen ? Yuh get true wid someting sake a one comrade ?

How yuh get suh generous all of a sudden ?

I think you need to qualify that statement...

Vampire can run Blood Bank ??

What happen ? Yuh get true wid someting sake a one comrade ?

How yuh get suh generous all of a sudden ?
                              I was trying to be as objective as possible, I really want to know if people can give them higher scores and why they would do that.