definitely man. You were on one side of the Hudson and I was on the other.
Mi brethren use to play on boat in Newburgh every Tuesday night "Young lions". If they do, check it out. Nice little vibes.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Jangle, this is the truth Iām stating now: Nobody -- and I mean nobody! -- on this forum succeeds as much as you do when it comes to providing us with effective descriptions/narrative of an event or action.
I enjoyed your account above just like I would a short story (I have quoted it below in case anyone missed it).
I don't want to offend anyone. So the story goes.....I went to visit my brother-in-law who was stationed at the army base down there. The drive from the airport to the base was a long boring ride. There was nothing to see but cornfields on both sides of the road. The land was flat and it was very hot. This was in the early days of me coming here to live. On the drive in, all I thought about was tornadoes and the movie Children of the Corn. I stayed there for about a week and I remember being attacked by some big jumbo flies. One night I said to my brother-in-law, let us go to a club.
I dress up inna me club clothes (dem days deh me did a go a gym and me was nicely buff), thinking that I was gwine impress some a dem young country gals. So we drove into the "town" and came to a barn-like building. I thought he was stopping for something and that we would be on our way. We went in, I don't even remember if there was a cover charge. I was gobsmacked, this is the club???? I stood out like a sore thumb. The people looked every bit country as your imagination. But what really got me staring was how they were dancing. Back then, southern hip hop was just starting to get popular and it hadn't reached NY as yet. Everything was just too strange for me and I could not pick out not one girl who could pass.
There is an episode of Spongebob Squarepants, where him and Patrick fall off a cliff and land in some backwater, hillbilly town. To this day, everytime I see that episode being repeated I think of Kansas.
The riverfront is so beautiful and popping. On weekends you can't find parking from the number of boat owners and people who want to be seen.
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Hmmppfff......wait tip me tell unuh the story 'bout when we go visit him down a Louisiana /Mississippi........for the life of me I can't memba right now.
There was a time when there was a very good club at 26 Front Street and weekends use to be hopping. Newburgh itself is not a good town but the waterfront spectacular.
Hi, if you ever want to take the wife somewhere good exclusive and within a budget, there is a Mount Fuji Japanese restaurant in Suffern NY, it is great. You may get lost going there but trust me on that one.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
between KC, MO and KC KS visited three time and enjoyed it each time. first was to kemper arena for some sports thing ... first place i had pheasant and very much enjoyed it.
forget where MAss(achusetts) street is but I loved that area a LOT!
always had a good time!!
Infidelity does not consist in believing, or in disbelieving; it consists in professing to believe what he does not believe.Thomas Paine
Correction, the City of Newburgh is a dump, but the Town of Newburgh is affluent. Night and Day.
thanks for the correction. Check out Mount Fuji sometime and let me know.