• The elusive 6% growth..

http://www.miamiherald.com/416/story/95198.html

Study: Crime is costing Caribbean nations

BY PABLO BACHELET
    Caribbean nations, perceived by most Americans as sun-soaked paradises, are paying a steep price in lives and lost economic opportunities because of soaring crime, according to the World Bank and United Nation's first-ever report on the economic costs of crime.
    Reducing the murder rate by one-third would more than double per capita economic growth for the region, according to the report released Thursday.

Caribbean leaders have been battling crime fueled by the drug trade for a long time but now, murders, rapes and kidnappings have overwhelmed police forces and rich, drug-consuming nations and multilateral institutions need to get more involved, the report added.

''The report is a starting point for putting crime on the development agenda,'' said Caroline Anstey, the World Bank director for the Caribbean.

The 231-page study Crime, Violence and Development: Trends, Costs and Policy Options in the Caribbean, was produced jointly by the World Bank and the Vienna-based U.N. Office on Drugs and Crime. It will be discussed at a June 19 summit between the Bush administration and Caribbean leaders.

Investigators pulled together all of the previous empirical work on crime in the region and added original research of their own, with input from local consultants. They looked at factors like the cost of more security to businesses to determine the impact of violence on economic growth.

The region has the word's highest murder rate, and the economies of Haiti and Jamaica would grow 5.4 percentage points faster annually if they reduced their crime rates to levels similar to Costa Rica, the report said.

The overall murder rate in the Caribbean is 30 per 100,000 persons, compared with 26 in Latin America and seven in the United States. Those numbers are from 2002, the last year for which regional comparisons are available. Murders have been rising since then in the Caribbean and declining in some parts of South America.

''If anything, we know the homicide situation has gotten worse,'' said Ted Leggett, a researcher with the U.N. Office on Drugs and Crime.

Studies show that crime diminishes when incomes rise and that is true in the Caribbean also, researchers said. But the region has some oddities: Caribbean homicide rates are a third higher and robbery rates a fourth higher than countries elsewhere with similar economic conditions, according to the study.

As expected, the poor are more likely to be hit by violent crime, while the rich suffer from property crimes. Other factors that play into the crime equation: high urban density and the presence of young men, the researchers said.

The murder rates vary from country to country, with Jamaica registering 49 deaths per 100,000 people in 2006, Trinidad and Tobago registering 30 in 2005 and the Dominican Republic 27 the same year.

Re: The elusive 6% growth..

Been trying to tell Lazie and Maudib. That's one of the reasons why we will not achieve our 5/6% growth in the medium term.

Crime is related to Joblessness...

Yuh need to come good on this one..even if yuh haffi quote 'experts'..

Yuh basically haffi declare that:

1. Significant quantity of Jobs cannot be created in the medium term
      2. Crime cannot be reduced in the medium term

Therefore 6% growth cannot be achieved in the medium term..

Something like that.. and be prepared to defend it.. just saying the PNP have not been able to do it is not good enough by the way cuz dem was pon a diffrant agenda..clearly..

Sorry, but the "experts" were quoting me!

Really? We've been asking you from day one to explain yuhself and yuh been playing hopscotch. When thinking people talk, yuh must listen. The JLP indicated that their priority would be CRIME. For the first 3 years the Ministry of National Security would be getting the highest allocation from the budget, according to Derrick Smith.

During his budget presentation, yuh recall how much Bruce was emphasizing job creation? It is clear these people have an idea what needs to be done. It is up to people like you to make the right choice. Vote for a better Jamaica or vote fi the 5th term.

5% growth is nothing. Not because these halfwits nuh know how fi dweet.

All those who are against disarming the society can tell me why this armed society (Jamaica) has this increasing murder rate?

....btw - I have to repeat this - Why is it in so small a country there cannot be citizens/crime-fighters co-operation on vastly increased searches of vehicles and persons?

Isn't it a fact that the criminals have to travel from 'bases' with the tools of their trade?

Would it not then be prudent to have them think twice about moving around with those tools? ...and, the greater risks of being caught and 'put down'?

Some group (political group?) must love having a crime ridden society? ...but, what really would be the benefit of keeping the country in such a state?

Karl nuh beat round the bush. Man up and say what yuh want, bout political group. Dennis Morrison said it and the IJJ call him out and him guh inna hiding. Anything yuh a come wid mek sure yuh can back it up. And this time unuh get out of jail Tivoli line naah guh work.

Fact 1980 the murder rate was 800+. When the demons were removed 9 years later, it was reduced to 400+. Time unuh stop act like fools and realize that unuh religious leaders in over dem head. Then again, unuh nuh really care ... as long as PNP inna power. Talk bout creatures of the nite.

Time we stop the half-truths!

Was there a concerted effort...by all concerned, not just JLP fanatics or PNP fanatics...to see that 1980 does not ever again occur?

So how is it you would like to claim and or suggest the removal of the PNP from power or the JLP coming to power was the only reason the following elections saw a decline in murders?

I suppose you would want to have us believe that the 800 murders were all committed by persons who had PNP leaning traits? Joker!

Sorry, but the "experts" were quoting me!
                  The 'experts' declared that 6% growth in the medium term is impossible ?

Please give me the link or quote...

All those who are against disarming the society can tell me why this armed society (Jamaica) has this increasing murder rate?

....btw - I have to repeat this - Why is it in so small a country there cannot be citizens/crime-fighters co-operation on vastly increased searches of vehicles and persons?

Isn't it a fact that the criminals have to travel from 'bases' with the tools of their trade?

Would it not then be prudent to have them think twice about moving around with those tools? ...and, the greater risks of being caught and 'put down'?

Some group (political group?) must love having a crime ridden society? ...but, what really would be the benefit of keeping the country in such a state?
                    Translation please.

I have no idea why the PNP would benefit from first putting us in such a state and then keeping the country in such a state.. you should know.. please tell us.

taken from willi's T&F site

GT
                      Given that the USA is the richest country in the world and
                      Fri May 4, 2007 03:54

the per capita income is probably the highest as well, 7 murders per 100,000 is probably as troubling as the murder rate in the caribbean which, in the case of Haiti has the lowest standard of living anywhere in the world and in the rest of the caribbean where unemployment amongst young men rises in some cases above 25%. There is a strong correlation between poverty and crime and the poorer the country the more crime there will be.
                      I am not rationalizing or making excuses, I am just trying to point out that comparing countries with different standards of living and different PCI can be odious.

ANYBODY SI THE FLIM SHOW "SHOTTA" Somehow, I dont think it is all fiction

I cannot disagree that crime in JA discourages investment and development, however we also need to know that the converse is also true. You cant reduce crime by big guns and nuff policeman. You have to address the social issues as well as wealth creation and the distribution of wealth.
                      Unfortunately, in some countries, deprivation breeds not only crime but a total disregard for life and brutality.
                      It no pretty.

Time we stop the half-truths!

Was there a concerted effort...by all concerned, not just JLP fanatics or PNP fanatics...to see that 1980 does not ever again occur?

So how is it you would like to claim and or suggest the removal of the PNP from power or the JLP coming to power was the only reason the following elections saw a decline in murders?

I suppose you would want to have us believe that the 800 murders were all committed by persons who had PNP leaning traits? Joker!
                        Sometimes I wonder if some of you people on this forum escape from a mad house and a try unuh best fi guh back in. Did you see anywhere in my post me implying that the murders were committed by a specific political party? Re read all the posts and see who made that implication.

When Guliani became Mayor of New York how come there was a decline in the crime rate? Stop acting the fool Karl. Yuh know better.

I just refuse to explain myself to you! What's so hard to understand?!?!

But I'll say this much (then go play hopscotch), the 5% will not happen just because the JLP's priority is crime.

Translation please.

I have no idea why the PNP would benefit from first putting us in such a state and then keeping the country in such a state.. you should know.. please tell us.
                            If PNP followers only were committing these crimes...then? ...but, considering JLP persons also 'pop gun'... you need to adjust your question to among other things ask the follow-up - Who might those be who would benefit from this terrible state of 'things'?

I've been trying to say that crime will not allow us to get 5% growth.