We need some economic solution NOW!!!!

You are here to uphold all things JLP... you do try hard but you're not skilled
    no ... just the truth. Try it fi a change. Serious people round here might stop seeing you as the forum comedian.

Since the 80s Grace has been a net exporter.

You're clearly either supremely ignorant of political matters...or an idiot

The refusal was manifested by delays in implementation...leading to the IMF program being derailed.

If you have some other party position on WHY the IMF program was completely derailed... state it now or tap yuh foolfool yappin

Show me your stats Karl.

You making a point and you don't even remember what you talking about.

Hint in 1988 the dollar was about 5:50 to 1
          Repeating the JA$:U$ I posted does not help me. Just tell me where I went wrong...what I should have remembered?

LOL... what's the truth??

That the JLP IMF program was derailed because they did implement the required public sector reforms??

Yuh ah ediat??

you making a point before even researching the numbers. Between 1984 and 1988 was fairly stable. Devaluation happened in the Early 80s and in the 90s.

Re: '84 - 88
                That is not how I remember it in the meetings I attended at GK and those at JMA (to which I was fortunate to be sent by GK).

You're clearly either supremely ignorant of political matters...or an idiot

The refusal was manifested by delays in implementation...leading to the IMF program being derailed.

If you have some other party position on WHY the IMF program was completely derailed... state it now or tap yuh foolfool yappin
                  You once stated that you don't need to listen the news to know what is happening. That would explain your continued ignorance. Anyway clownrade carry on with the circus act.

Maybe you never read the figures right. LOL. You never use to drink back in those days????

Likkle man... tell wi why di JLP IMF program was a failure... ar tap yuh foolfool yappin

I don't know how to forecast what you're driving at here
                        Don't!

Example: ...you can accept that all other things being equal, having at a business' disposal known rate of depreciation of the currency being used that the managers cannot do any forward planning? ...or you could not?

Don't!

Example: ...you can accept that all other things being equal, having at a business' disposal known rate of depreciation of the currency being used that the managers cannot do any forward planning? ...or you could not?
                          The problem here is that the rate of depreciation is not known nor is the ultimate price level of the Jamaica dollar.

Consequently planning is a nightmare and speculators abound..... creating a real bangarang

Have you ever done any form of real business ?

You sound like a cog in a government ministry in a communist country...

Defending the indefensible is not a good look..

The problem here is that the rate of depreciation is not known nor is the ultimate price level of the Jamaica dollar.

Consequently planning is a nightmare and speculators abound..... creating a real bangarang
                              Agreed...there are challenges!

Have you ever done any form of real business ?

You sound like a cog in a government ministry in a communist country...

Defending the indefensible is not a good look..

I will just say this - I have done 5 years of teaching...4+ years at Grace Kennedy and all other years doing my own business (working for self)...all done in 41 years before retirement.

...guess I would have to ask you if I have ever done any 'real' business?

...and I am defending no one - organization, political entity or company?
                                All I have said is, the person or entity claiming planning cannot be done, persons or corporate entity will not invest or cannot invest has lied!!!! ...
                                misstated the reality!!!

If the claim was "there are challenges" or "difficult in the climate" or some such think that would be truth. ...claiming nothing can be accomplished in the areas mentioned is far from the truth.

...I would wager a bet that there are some astute business persons who will start businesses and other who are expanding. Some businesses and persons will have boom years even as the economic climate is challenging...and I make those predictions based on observation over the years of entities and persons who have done so during lean times.