yes... Holness did make that statement... to his credit

This after One Turd & Driva refused for 2 years to pursue the IMF-suggested reforms on public sector wages, pension reforms, tax reforms, devaluation etc .... i.e. the bitter medicine we see today

Whether or not that cost him the election is highly debatable.... but recall that apart from being "new" & "young" he had only a limited political standing. He still not even in control of his own tribe

The JLP's electoral flop is Golding's fault primarily, not Holness... Driva crashed that tribe into a brick wall with his stupidity
    This after One Turd & Driva refused for 2 years to pursue the IMF-suggested reforms on public sector wages, pension reforms, tax reforms, devaluation etc .... i.e. the bitter medicine we see today

Don2 ... stop with the lies nuh clownrade?

Tax Reform: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y-ezb0xUAC4

Pension Reform: http://www.televisionjamaica.com/Pro...x/Videos/12086

1988 .... was there any growth in the economy during that time? what did the $ depreciate to at that time ...
      If I remember correctly growth was, as it had been for many, many years before that anemic...during that 1984 through 1988 years I referenced contributed to economic upheaval/increasing economic downturn.

The dollar in 1988?
      Checked a document in my possession - that shows on:
      19 December 1988 - U$300 = JA$1650 i.e. 1:5.5

Can the above be correct?
      I thought when I left GK in 1990 it was past U$1.00 =JA$20+?

Can anyone remind on the rates anytime during 1988 and also during 1990?
      I know I am looking at a document but...?
      It just seems incredible that if what I am seeing on that old doc. is correct that by 1990, 2 years on, it could have been over U$1 to JA$20+??

I said if it 12% or more it is a called a currency crisis.

Do you thin any business at the start of the year thought it would depreciate that much???? That is not something business people need to guess. Government need to provide stability for them.

LOL..

Yuh tink IMF bizniz wid "Green Papah" ??? woooiiee

Yuteman fi impress Babylon dem ting deh affi pass papah drafting stage to LAW & IMPLEMENTATION... Layba had 3+ years to do these reforms and only reached papah stage.... so the IMF agreement was derailed

Back to skool fi yuh yute ..yuh nuh reddy yet

You are here to uphold all things JLP... you do try hard but you're not skilled

Grace Kennedy major market is in US dollar, not Jamaican dollar. Read carefully.

yes... Holness did make that statement... to his credit

Whether or not that cost him the election is highly debatable.... but recall that apart from being "new" & "young" he had only a limited political standing. He still is not even in control of his own tribe

The JLP's electoral flop is Golding's fault primarily, not Holness... Driva crashed that tribe into a brick wall with his stupidity
                I guess y'all were busy cheering that yuh beloved PNP had regain power you missed this ...

Gov't to continue tax and pension reform

LOL..

Yuh tink IMF bizniz wid "Green Papah" ??? woooiiee

Yuteman fi impress Babylon dem ting deh affi pass papah drafting stage to LAW & IMPLEMENTATION... Layba had 3+ years to do these reforms and only reached papah stage.... so the IMF agreement was derailed

Back to skool fi yuh yute ..yuh nuh reddy yet

ssshhhh! you've only proven to us that you're a joke. Why Karl and others take you seriousy I don't know.

Grace Kennedy major market is in US dollar, not Jamaican dollar. Read carefully.
                    When did that ever occur at GK?
                    ...as far as I know GK (the Grace Kennedy group of companies) is working towards that end. Did not know GK was there already?

What's there to miss??

Laybarites had 2-3 years to do the reforms...but didn't complete them. Consequently the IMF program was derailed AFTER all the disbursements were frontloaded to the JLP regime due to the meltdown... that's fact

Termites have an IMF agreement in place....let's see if they complete the reforms and complete the IMF program or flop like Layba

Guh back to skool before yuh attempt yuh likkle argument dem yuteman

Yuh dismissed

Show me your stats Karl.

You making a point and you don't even remember what you talking about.

Hint in 1988 the dollar was about 5:50 to 1

A holness fault and IMF fault.

I said if it 12% or more it is a called a currency crisis.
                              ...and in the same post you also went on to say -
                              This is currently what is happening to the Jamaican dollar.
                              It is from that additional comment that I took your stance on the depreciation of the JA$.

Do you thin any business at the start of the year thought it would depreciate that much????
                              If GK still has the same type management team...then GK would! ...and GK will have forecast of where the JA$ will be at least 5 years out (subject to broad-based monthly reviews...and daily reviews in departments...and the daily reviews constantly being communicated to department heads - intranet and memo).

That is not something business people need to guess. Government need to provide stability for them.
                              2 things:
                              a) Businesses must be constantly on top of changes in the marketplace...and that affect the marketplace.

There must be in place mechanism(s) to have knowledge instantly on any and everything that impacts the business at 'beck and call'.

b) The matter of market stability is one of dual responsibility - that of the private and public sectors!

The relationship is a dymanic that has each indispensable to the other. A huge part of our problem in JA is the disconnect between both.
                              Last edited by Karl; October 9, 2013, 01:39 PM.

What's there to miss??

Laybarites had 2-3 years to do the reforms...but didn't complete them. Consequently the IMF program was derailed AFTER all the disbursements were frontloaded to the JLP regime due to the meltdown... that's fact

Termites have an IMF agreement in place....let's see if they complete the reforms and complete the IMF program or flop like Layba
                                You can twist like yuh name Chubby Checker. You said "after One Turd & Driva refused for 2 years to pursue the IMF-suggested reforms on public sector wages, pension reforms, tax reforms,"

It turns out you were as usual twisting the truth. I guess because you grew up in a PNP household you cannot help yuhself. The former gov't could not sell CAP because of the forward sale agrement ... nobody wanted to buy it. The contract ended Dec. 2012, therefore it isn't as urgent as before.

Stop trying to rewrite history comrade. Not gonna work round here ... unless the powers that be ban me from the forum.