We need some economic solution NOW!!!!

Why are you addressing that to me yute???

Did I mention the 1990s????

How can you plan when you don't know what your labour cost, input cost or raw material cost will be??? Explain that to me.
      You do not?
      ...nuh yuh jus seh the rate of depreciation is 12+%!
      If suh, dat's a known fact!!!

How then you have no idea of your various costs?

Show me one country with rapid depreciation with consistent high growth and progress. Just one.
      Have not done the work that would allow me to give full answer.

..but let me ask you the alternate question(s?) that jumps(jump) out at me -
      a) Number of countries of Jamaica's comparative market size?

b) Numbers you consider that shows consistent high growth and progress?

c) Numbers of "a" above showing that consistent high growth and progress?

BOJ governor said instability in the economy is affect growth in the economy so don't take my word for it.
      Why should I disbelieve the BOJ's governor and you on that?
      That is what we call a "no brainer". So let me parrot that - level of stability in an economy affects growth...duh???!!!!

*I worked for 4 years on/at costing at GK - I was at Caribbean Greetings - during 1984 - 1988!!! There was serious depreciation of the dollar during that period - and other challenging marketing and economic factors at work - and we planned and executed.

Karl... of course Sass is 1000% correct... it is both plain economics and plain Jamaican reality that this is so as he says

The context of this situation however are the "demand suppression" policies which the IMF insists on...which the current Termite regime is applying faithfully.

Such policies inevitably result in a reduction in living standards as consumption is reduced and the currency is devalued.... and supposedly a rise in export production to eventually generate foreign exchange & increased economic competitiveness. That is the PLAN

Unfortunately, in Jamaica's history with IMF policies... the former ALWAYS occurs.... but the latter almost NEVER does. So Jamaica has never completed an IMF program with a good growth agenda in place. Therein lies the conundrum.

So as the GOJ with its back against the wall slavishly follows the IMF prescription Jamaican people are very unhappy at the squeeze... but the IMF is at the moment very satisfied.

It was One Turd's/Golding's failure to take some of these poison pill actions (which the Termites were forced to take) which scuttled that JLP govt IMF program.... they clearly wished to wait until after winning the impending election for the inevitable "bitter medicine"

Too bad that tactic didn't work too well for them.

Another attempt to rewrite history. Why are you comrades afraid to deal with facts?

Yuteman you are a neophyte to economic analysis so you're excused

I wouldn't dispute that ... never pretented to be an expert ....but it doesn't change the fact that you are twisting the truth.

Karl... of course Sass is 1000% correct... it is both plain economics and plain Jamaican reality that this is so as he says

The context of this situation however are the "demand suppression" policies which the IMF insists on...which the current Termite regime is applying faithfully.

Such policies inevitably result in a reduction in living standards as consumption is reduced and the currency is devalued.... and supposedly a rise in export production to eventually generate foreign exchange & increased economic competitiveness. That is the PLAN

Unfortunately, in Jamaica's history with IMF policies... the former ALWAYS occurs.... but the latter almost NEVER does. So Jamaica has never completed an IMF program with a good growth agenda in place. Therein lies the conundrum.

So as the GOJ with its back against the wall slavishly follows the IMF prescription Jamaican people are very unhappy at the squeeze... but the IMF is at the moment very satisfied.

It was One Turd's/Golding's failure to take some of these poison pill actions (which the Termites were forced to take) which scuttled that JLP govt IMF program.... they clearly wished to wait until after winning the impending election for the inevitable "bitter medicine"

Too bad that tactic didn't work too well for them.
              Nice!
              ...and as stand alone I completely agree that it addresses problems we face.

...but you will have noticed that your first paragraph is put in italics. That I have done as Sass posted a tug-a-war with himself namely he, Sass, claims that planning (and by inference successful planning and execution) cannot be done as costs cannot be forecast.

...yet he names a figure at which the depreciation of the dollar is occurring=he has the info to forecast...he knows exactly how to forecast his costs!

1988 .... was there any growth in the economy during that time? what did the $ depreciate to at that time ...

to his holness did promise the bitter medicine in his campaign and the bawl from nanny p was that "poor people cya'an tek no more" ...

did that utterance cost holness, i think so but he had other hanidcaps as well

in any event, here we are now bitta medicine not wid the provebial spoonful of sugar, but getting "drenched"!

to his holness did promise the bitter medicine in his campaign and the bawl from nanny p was that "poor people cya'an tek no more" ...

did that utterance cost holness, i think so but he had other hanidcaps as well

in any event, here we are now bitta medicine not wid the provebial spoonful of sugar, but getting "drenched"!
                    Some people busy trying to rewrite history ... no time for facts.

History speak for itself.

well speak with someone who was debating whatever point you're trying to make

well even neophytes are entitled to an opinion

Nice!
                            ...and as stand alone I completely agree that it addresses problems we face.

...but you will have noticed that your first paragraph is put in italics. That I have done as Sass posted a tug-a-war with himself namely he, Sass, claims that planning (and by inference successful planning and execution) cannot be done as costs cannot be forecast.

...yet he names a figure at which the depreciation of the dollar is occurring=he has the info to forecast...he knows exactly how to forecast his costs!
                            I don't know how to forecast what you're driving at here

well even neophytes are entitled to an opinion
                              ... including you .... but to think you're gonna come here and state your 'opinions' or better yet twisted truths as facts ... you got another thing coming. Mosiah, Karl and other gullible souls may take it as gospel well .. I'm here to mash down the lies.

yes... Holness did make that statement... to his credit

This after One Turd & Driva refused for 2 years to pursue the IMF-suggested reforms on public sector wages, pension reforms, tax reforms, devaluation etc .... i.e. the bitter medicine we see today

Whether or not that cost him the election is highly debatable.... but recall that apart from being "new" & "young" he had only a limited political standing. He still is not even in control of his own tribe

The JLP's electoral flop is Golding's fault primarily, not Holness... Driva crashed that tribe into a brick wall with his stupidity
                                Last edited by Don1; October 9, 2013, 01:08 PM.