The Jamaican Culture

• The Jamaican Culture

In Jamaica when a child is born he or she is not registered at the hospital in order to get a birth certificate. The registration is done days, sometimes months after, usually, by a family friend. Most of the times, the spelling is completely different from the parents' intentions. Jamaicans always had a love for American Westerns and "kickers". Hence, our DJ's and entertainers took on monikers such as Dilinger, Silver Fox, Jose Wales etc.

Well, I am writing this with pain in my sides and tears in my eyes. So I am chatting with someone who is letting me know that her ex-husband's name is Bockcutson Jesse James (Last Name). His mother had gone to watch a Western with Rock Hudson and liked the name.

I swear I didn't make up this sh!t.....
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

When I live and worked in NJ, there was a Jamaican (I knew) who owned a Mitsubishi Montero.

He loved his SUV so much--he named his new baby Montero.

I swear, i don't make up this sh!t either...!!

mi brethren father did a play domino and the wife send to ask what to name the baby and the man was talking to his fellow players and said "you nuh see me have a hard end". The youth run go tell his mother, daddy say fi name him "Harden" and the rest is history. LOL

lol.... oh I forgot. His pet name is "Bredah".......
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

you know that there is somewhat of an african tradition with names tying into things like that e.g. there was digital takawira who was from zimbabwe or zambia ... and naughty mokoena .... doctor khumalo

anyway check this out ...

http://www.theguardian.com/football/...nowledge.sport