Crocodiles disappearing as dinner in Jamaica

• Crocodiles disappearing as dinner in Jamaica

CASCADE, Jamaica (AP) — Crocodiles were once so abundant along the salty rim of southern Jamaica that images of their toothy jaws and spiny armor crown the tropical island's coat of arms and are stenciled on the bumpers of military vehicles.

Now, the big reptiles are increasingly difficult to spot, and not just because they blend into swampy backgrounds. These days, a growing taste for crocodile meat and even eggs in Jamaica has conservationists worried that the reptiles might be wiped from the wild altogether, although they've been protected by law since 1971.

"I went from never hearing about anyone eating crocodile meat, much less crocodile eggs, to hearing about it all the time. There's just so much carnage going on," said Byron Wilson, a reptile specialist at Jamaica's University of the West Indies.

Full Story:

http://news.yahoo.com/crocodiles-dis...150218364.html

Read it earlier on a NJ news site.

People really a eat dem in Ja? Tried it once and almost puked, tasted like saltfish.

Conservation efforts is not that difficult.

The crocs eggs can be 'artifically' incubated. Up to 90% of the clutch can survive .

Farmed crocs can be used as meat. The rest can be used to restock the wild.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
          People really a eat dem in Ja? Tried it once and almost puked, tasted like saltfish.
          So saltfish taste bad? Or is another saltfish yuh talking bout?

Sounds like hype for an NGO looking funding...dont think eating crocs is widespread in Jamaica..if anything there's some habitat loss and encroachment on human space....

What do they do with the skin?

I agree. We are not an adventurous people when it comes to food. I know so many Jamaicans especially a farin who only dine at Jamaican restaurants fi dem curry goat, chicken or oxtail. Croc tail...don't see dat.

Oh, if there is some tale attached to it, like it can help yuh back, then yes, we will try it!

You dissing half of the national dish eh? Wait wah yuh mean?

Just took a little taste at an exotic restaurant in Kenya. Saltfish nice, croc a nuh fi mi!

Agree, I can't see the widespread eating of crocs in Ja.