• D1, Iman and others

check out this clip:

http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=50154583n

What they are not telling you is that the new economy is demanding people with highly specialized skill set (namely math majors,compsci physics and engineering). Wall street firms are looking for "quants" to design algos to close those two or three second gap in trade among other things. The competition will be fierce for the world market. All that's being said in the video was predicted in a mathematician's manifesto (who went cookoo) and Bill Joy's essay (why the future doesn't need us).

If Ja doesn't improve her education system and exploit her human assets, those robot dominated economies will cause that of Ja to become a waste land. MARK MY WORDS.

But nuh dat we a preach from how long.

Some man feel seh when we try expose the youths to these technologies it mean we a try fe produce dozens of astrophysicists. Not at all.

Hell, you soon caan even fix a car or a A/C unit without some decent knowledge of electronics and computers, so you haffe try demystify these things to the youths early.

Ah mi juss hope D1 initiative is not too late. Tings a move fast. Now yuh get a glimpse as to how dem sink Engineer Lewis with his transformers. Always know what's going on the back end. Right now my house uses two internet giants and as a sport I study their distribution system and their delivery time. I know these cats use super computers. A new kid is on the rise with a faster delivery time than A (trust me A is the most feared guy by retailers) Can the new kid beat A?

Nice post

So when I say that Jamaicans (and Black people in general) are asleep on the key development issues of the Knowledge Economy yuh tink mi ah jesta??

Wen wi start dis robotics ting fi pikney 4 years ago is bayh blank stare ar roll eye wi get like seh ah wi ah di eediat

Now when dem si dem ting yah pon dem "TV News programming" flat scream stylee ....mebbe dem wi start fi ovastan how FAR behind wi is... an wid nat even a viable plan fi ketch up

Jamaicans prefer to spen dem time ah yap bout which ah dem foolfool tribe "better" while also focusing on dem playin'. runnin', dancin', singin' etc

In the meantime instead of mere consuming and playing the fool.... the more evolved people of the world are into creating & building new platforms based on thinking & learning machines

Dats di way tings set mi bredda
        Last edited by Don1; October 4, 2013, 10:31 AM.

Ah mi juss hope D1 initiative is not too late. Tings a move fast. Now yuh get a glimpse as to how dem sink Engineer Lewis with his transformers. Always know what's going on the back end. Right now my house uses two internet giants and as a sport I study their distribution system and their delivery time. I know these cats use super computers. A new kid is on the rise with a faster delivery time than A (trust me A is the most feared guy by retailers) Can the new kid beat A?
          Well I played a significant part but it's not simply my initiative ... is a team ting. Mi juss run mi mout more
          Last edited by Don1; October 4, 2013, 10:41 AM.

When dem see the high tech nations start suck way dem wealth (that time it's too late) them will come around. The cilp has serious implications for Ja's corp that want to penetrate the US markets.

Well is ah good ting yuh do dat.

When dem see the high tech nations start suck way dem wealth (that time it's too late) them will come around. The cilp has serious implications for Ja's corp that want to penetrate the US markets.
                fi reel... time fi wake up & smell di coco tea

My fear is that the window is closing fast. Ja will only react. reaction cannot save the economy. The same way the insurance corps. have vested interest in the traffic lights around NYC (hey they want to minimize paying out). It's the same way any corp (whether foreign or domestic) in Ja should have a vested interest in educating the youth of Ja.

Yes Jamaica will react to the Knowledge Revolution

Jamaica will gladly borrow FX to BUY the nice, shiny products ... all the better to sing, dance & play wid

LOL

Don1 & Jawge?
                        ...bwoy unnuh soun jus lacka Mosiah han dem man deh?
                        Pessimists! Cho man?!

It is never too late to turn things around!
                        FORWARD!

Don1 & Jawge?
                          ...bwoy unnuh soun jus lacka Mosiah han dem man deh?
                          Pessimists! Cho man?!

It is never too late to turn things around!
                          FORWARD!
                          uh huh

not true Karl not true

This is the math that goes on behind the scenes with the robot:

Studying complex systems, such as the movement of robots on a factory floor, the motion of air over a wing, or the effectiveness of a security network, can present huge challenges. Mathematician Robert Ghrist at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign is developing advanced mathematical tools to simplify such tasks.Ghrist uses a branch of mathematics called topology to study abstract spaces that possess many dimensions and solve problems that can't be visualized normally. He will describe his technique in an invited talk at the International Congress of Mathematicians, to be held Aug. 23-30 in Madrid, Spain.
                              Ghrist, who also is a researcher at the university's Coordinated Science Laboratory, takes a complex physical system -- such as robots moving around a factory floor -- and replaces it with an abstract space that has a specific geometric representation.
                              "To keep track of one robot, for example, we monitor its x and y coordinates in two-dimensional space," Ghrist said. "Each additional robot requires two more pieces of information, or dimensions. So keeping track of three robots requires six dimensions. The problem is, we can't visualize things that have six dimensions."
                              Mathematicians nevertheless have spent the last 100 years developing tools for figuring out what abstract spaces of many dimensions look like.
                              "We use algebra and calculus to break these abstract spaces into pieces, figure out what the pieces look like, then put them back together and get a global picture of what the physical system is really doing," Ghrist said.
                              Ghrist's mathematical technique works on highly complex systems, such as roving sensor networks for security systems. Consisting of large numbers of stationary and mobile sensors, the networks must remain free of dead zones and security breaches.
                              Keeping track of the location and status of each sensor would be extremely difficult, Ghrist said. "Using topological tools, however, we can more easily stitch together information from the sensors to find and fill any holes in the network and guarantee that the system is safe and secure."
                              While it may seem counterintuitive to initially translate such tasks into problems involving geometry, algebra or calculus, Ghrist said, that doing so ultimately produces a result that goes back to the physical system.
                              "That's what applied mathematics has to offer," Ghrist said. "As systems become increasingly complex, topological tools will become more and more relevant."