• Mama P Waives Duty On Luton's Porsche

Government Waived $12m On Luxury Vehicles In June

Published: Wednesday | October 2, 2013 27 Comments

JAMAICA'S CASH-STRAPPED Government approved approximately $12 million in waivers to individuals and institutions for the importation of luxury vehicles during the month of June.

Among them was the University of Technology, which got a $6.4 million waiver on the importation of a 2013 Land Rover.

At the same time, the University Council of Jamaica received a $3.4 million waiver on the importation of a 2012 Mitsubishi Pajero.

A $2 million waiver was approved for national footballer Luton Shelton on the importation of a 2012 Porsche Panamera.

The information on the waivers appears on the Ministry of Finance's website.

During the month of June, the State gave up $211.9 million in revenue. The figure is down from the $244.5 in waivers given in May when the governing People's National Party benefited from more than $8.7 million in waivers.

The party benefited from waivers on both SCT and GCT on the transfer of four motor vehicles.

The transfer applies to a 2012 Toyota Rav4, a 2012 BMW X6, a 2009 Audi Q7, and a 2010 Audi Q7.

The Ministry of Finance also lists a Horace Dalley as having benefited from the waiver of GCT and SCT of a combined $727,411 on the transfer of a 2008 Mitsubishi Shogun.

Meanwhile, during the month of June, the State gave up $161.4 million in waivers to charitable organisations, another $30 million as a result of government contracts and legal obligation, $9.8 million to miscellaneous category, and another $11.6 million to non-cap.
    Who at UTECH drive a 2013 Range Rover?

Range Rovers/Land Rovers are essential tools in the running of a university, didn't you know that?

The PNP needed 2 Audi Q7s to help with the 2016 general election campaign.

There should be no duties waive on Land Rovers, Porshe or these expensive cars.

If you can't pay the duties, nuh buy them.

Madness! Where is the PSC or whatever they call themselves? Where is JFJ!?!

where is the OCG?

don't think the OCG can do nothing about this. the waiver is done by the Ministry of Finance based on the current rules. Who they see it fit to give.

Only Betty Ann Blaine worry about these things.

i was gonna say that it was meant to be tongue in cheek but man like bricktop and skeng woulda ... btw what happen to skengy? smaddy put a hit on him?

From Bricktop found out who he was, he has gone into hiding. I don't think he expected Bricktop to give him his own treatment.

Wharra?

Banana Republic

Which country have a shutdown again? Chat bout...

https://www.google.tt/search?q=US+sh...ficial&spell=1

U.S. could become banana republic

By Joseph F. Keefe
                      October 02, 2013 2:00 AM
                      I am a lifelong Democrat, but I write as a worried chief executive officer. My fear is that we are becoming a banana republic. The federal government has been forced into a partial shutdown because the Republican-controlled U.S. House of Representatives, which has been hijacked by tea-party extremists, refuses to fund a law that has already been passed, and threatens to default on the nation's debt for the first time in our history, because it doesn't like the law.
                      Yes, "Obamacare" — the Affordable Care Act — is the law of the land. It passed both houses of Congress, was signed into law by the president and was even upheld by the U.S. Supreme Court. Republican Mitt Romney promised to repeal it, if elected, even though it was modeled on his health care plan in Massachusetts, but he lost. Republican candidates across the country campaigned against it during the 2012 election, but Democrats maintained their majority in the U.S. Senate and actually received more total votes than Republicans did in U.S. House races as well, although Republicans maintained their gerrymandered majority. Since the election, the Republican House has voted 43 times to repeal the law, but it can't get a repeal passed in the Senate, nor would it ever get in past the president's veto.
                      So, move on from "Obamacare" to other pressing national business, you say? Not a chance. Better to throw a temper tantrum and hold the country hostage, knowing that you can always fool some of the people all of the time — particularly when such disingenuousness can be parlayed into a fund-raising bonanza for politicians selfish enough to put their short-term interests above the long-term interests of the nation.
                      Anyone misinformed enough to blame President Obama for not compromising with this radical minority perhaps does belong in the category of those who can be fooled all of the time. Because the failure to understand why the president is right and the Republican House is wrong has nothing to do with politics. It has to do with our Constitution and the very principles on which our nation was founded. It's disconcerting that so many tea party followers don't understand that.
                      Just put the shoe on the other foot for a moment: Imagine a Republican president, a Republican Senate and a Democratic-controlled House. Then, imagine Democrats demanding that funding for a certain weapons system be stripped from the budget or else they would shut down the government and default on the national debt. Or perhaps they might demand that the prohibition on Medicaid funding for abortions be repealed or else they will shut down and default on our nation's full faith and credit.
                      Well, this is different, Republicans say — polls show a majority of Americans oppose "Obamacare." A majority of Americans were also opposed to the Iraq War. Would it have been proper, under President George W. Bush, for Democrats controlling the House to insist on defunding the Iraq War — even though a budget funding the troops had already passed — and threaten to shut down the government and default on the nation's financial obligations on the pretext that a majority of the public supported their position?
                      Please. We have never seen anything like this before. This isn't a partisan issue. It's about preserving our system of government. Why can't the president "compromise?" Because it would establish an ugly precedent: Passing laws and passing a budget would no longer be enough. Now, if one party controlled one house of Congress, they could hold the other chamber, the president and the country hostage by threatening to shut down the government, default on the nation's full faith and credit and throw the global economy into a tailspin.
                      The president must stand his ground. There is no alternative. The consequences of a default on the U.S. debt would destabilize the entire financial system and the entire global economy. The U.S. dollar would no longer be the reserve currency. U.S. Treasuries would essentially become junk bonds. A global financial meltdown would likely ensue.
                      That's why financial firms like my own, and business leaders across the country, including the U.S. Chamber of Commerce (not exactly liberal Obama supporters), as well as Republican leaders like John McCain, are decrying this insanity. We cannot let the United States become a banana republic. Either tea party politicians prevail or the country prevails, one or the other. It has come down to that.
                      Joseph F. Keefe is president and chief executive officer of Pax World Management LLC, investment adviser to Pax World Funds (www.paxworld.com).

Madness! Where is the PSC or whatever they call themselves? Where is JFJ!?!
                        There is something in IMF agreement soon fix these type of loophole but I am not sure that it applies to individuals.

Stay on topic please.....

Your 'edified' comment was about 'Banana Republic'. I was merely responding to the thread. Very ON TOPIC.

Your thoughts on the waiving of duties on luxury vehicles?